We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cave tour was nice but not the wines.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Valley Vineyards

Alexander Valley Vineyards
8644 Highway 128, Healdsburg, CA
800-888-7209
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Alexander Valley Vineyards like an insider
Top Rated
$175*
and up
Wine Country Adventure: Bike and Kayak Wine Tour
Ranked #25 of 128 things to do in Healdsburg
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience our historic property and taste award winning wines at our family owned and estate winery located in Northern Sonoma County. Our tasting room is open daily from 10-5 for complimentary wine tastings. We offer complimentary cave and winery tours daily at 11am and 2pm. Seated Wine and Cheese Pairings are available by reservation (24 hour notice required) for $25 per person. Bring a picnic and enjoy the beautiful views of our 600 acre property. Since 1975 the Wetzel Family has produced handcrafted estate grown and bottled wines. We were voted Sonoma's Best Winery in 2011 in the San Francisco Baylist Competition.
florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Cave tour was nice but not the wines.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Took a tour of the Alexander Valley Vineyards and the free Cave tour and sampled the wines. We had to wait to see if others showed up (they didn't) before the tour. It was a slow t Imex obvious ouly. Our tour guide was nice and answered all the questions we had and showed us other aspects of the bottling and blending operation which was helpful. Their picnic area is on the porch with no view of anything.

The wines to us were not pleasant. If you have never seen casks in caves it might be worthwhile.

I would take a pass unless you want to see the caves as there are lots of options for vineyards.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phaase, National Marketing Director at Alexander Valley Vineyards, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your visit. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Our complimentary winery and cave tours require no reservation and our standard procedure is to start the tours at the designated 11am and 2pm times. While you did experience a wait, I am pleased that you enjoyed seeing our property and that our staff was able to answer your questions. For those that want to avoid waiting for other guests, we offer private tours and tasting opportunities for a fee.
January is a cold, wet month in Northern California, so our picnic area on the porch is generally the warmest and driest place to relax with a view of vineyards, tasting room, cave entrance, tanks and the daily operations of our cellar employees Monday thru Thursday.
All of the wines poured in the tasting room have received numerous accolades from Wine Advocate, Wine Spectator, Wine Enthusiast, Wine & Spirits and CA State Fair, so I am disappointed that our current selections did not appeal to you. We offer different wines in the tasting room regularly, so I hope you will stop back and taste another vintage in the future. We would welcome the opportunity to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    10
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Friendly, Fun and Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Loved the wine, the people were super super friendly and accomodating. This was in the middle of 8 wineries, so we were a little tipsy when we arrived. None of the staff got at all annoyed with our antics, and were happy to play along with us. We will go back for sure!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A little out of the way, but worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

A really lovely winery, with amazing zins. I'm glad we drove a bit to get here as the folks here were very knowledgeable and generous. I would definitely recommend and go back again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Top Contributor
630 reviews 630 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Zin City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Complimentary wine tasting for 4 tastes
$10 per glass for reserves
Good chardonnay
Have Sin Zin, Redemption Zin, Temptation Zin
Friendly wine host, but not really knowledgeable

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Stop and taste it is well worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Our stop was on the way from Sonoma to Napa and unplanned but we had "read somewhere" that we should stop. We are so glad that we did. Some of the best wines we tasted our entire time in Somom and Napa. We were at Jordan the day before and these wines were far less expensive and here is the awesome part...they were as good and in some cases better. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexander Valley Vineyards also viewed

Geyserville, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Alexander Valley Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Valley Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.