We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Save
You added Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort to your Saves list
14891 Grove Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Healdsburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Andover, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2005

My husband and I spent two nights in the Garden Suite at Honor Mansion. Our suite was gorgeous; comfy bed, gas fireplace, outdoor jacuzzi, several private indoor and outdoor sitting areas and good size bathroom with double sinks. The grounds of the inn are beautiful and we enjoyed a wonderful couples massage poolside on our first afternoon there. But what really makes this place special are all the little details. Hot beverages of your choice and paper delivered to your door each morning, a stocked fridge of cold drinks by the pool, complimentary bottle of wine, 24 hour access to a cappucino machine and homemade cookies, wine and appetizers in the afternoon, and the delicious breakfasts. They go beyond the usual bathroom amenities; ours had a huge container of body lotion, eye makeup remover towlettes, lip balm, bath salts, lens cleaner and two sets of robes.
Steve directed us to the Oakville Grocery our first afternoon there. We enjoyed a lunch of cheeses, olives, bread and a glass of wine while sitting on the patio in Headlsburg square, which is full of unqiue restaurants and shops. The inn provides recommendations and descriptions of several restaurants in the square and we enjoyed two good dinners there.
I can't imagine a better place to stay when visiting wine country.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    22
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
436
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2005

We just returned to Boston after spending 3 nights at the beautiful and elegant Honor Mansion. We were so sad to leave the Honor Mansion for so many reasons:

the never-ending pampering;
the luxurious accommodations;
sophisticated comfort;
gourmet 3 course breakfast and fine wine; and
the most friendliest, warm and sincere staff

The HM is magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before. Kelly guided us with ideas for wine touring and she was spot on with her suggestions. Every afternoon we enjoyed the tasty appetizers and wine hour outside on the patio while feeding the koi fish. We played tennis and treated ourselves to a massage in the cabanas located poolside. Our stay at the inn was not only relaxing, but utterly memorable.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2005

We were absolutely impressed with the Honor Mansion-our hosts for 3 wonderful nights. Behind those Grove Street doors, a smiling staff, fabulous service, spectacular breakfasts, wonderful afternoon wine with hors d'oeuvres & beautiful grounds (4+ acres) await you.

At the time of booking, there were only 2 rooms available for our dates & our budget. We chose the Camellia room which is located on the 2nd floor at the front of the main house. We were celebrating a special occasion & arrived to a wonderful suprise in our room (we will keep it a suprise since we don't want to spoil it for others). The room is beautifully appointed, very comfortable (we loved the ceiling fan!) & with all of the amenities-they really go above & beyond (for example, lens wipes for camera...now that's a first!). The shower is separate from the bathroom & both are on the small side but this worked fine for us. The HM does express warning of decreased shower pressure during certain hours (while laundering) however we did experience some pressure issues during "off-hours." Living in an old house ourselves, this is part of the old house charm. There is also a computer conveniently located outside the 2nd floor front rooms-we couldn't help be tempted by checking e-mail & hope we weren't too loud for our neighbors ever.

We came to the area to taste the wines of the valleys and found it really hard to leave the property. The HM puts the "Breakfast" in B&B-those breakfasts were absolutely scrumptious-those delectable 3 courses carried us through until dinner! We are still dreaming about the caramel apple french toast-WOW! They also serve fresh OJ & nice organic teas-this started the mornings out just right!

Once we did break away & with some great tips from Kelly, we had a fun time tasting & picnicking (we recommend Armida for the picnic although Passalaqua is nice too). We just received one of our cases of wine from Michel-Schlumberger today. We recommend a visit here.

In between tasting & eating, we enjoyed feeding the koi (definitely let them eat from your hand-it will make you giggle), our first game of bocce & a swim in the pool. Kelly arranged for us to have a couple's massage poolside and what a treat! It was wonderful to have the heat from the sun & the cool afternoon breezes working with the therapists. Don't miss out!

We were given a tour of some of the other rooms in the main house & also the suites. All are beautiful. If the buget is available-go for the suite. Otherwise, if the choice is available, we would recommend the rooms in the rear of the house, as the residential street tended to be a bit noisy in the early morning. But, if you find yourself having to choose between a front room or no availability-definitely don't miss out & go with one of the front rooms.

Thanks to the staff & a special thanks to Kelly who was always available for us, always smiling, so very pleasant & truly accommodating. She made our stay at the HM a memorable one. We hope to visit again & stay in their gorgeous suites. They are heavenly!

Monica Yost & Troy Schoenmeier

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2005

beautiful grounds, wonderfully attentive staff, great breakfasts, and romantic rooms. easy walk to town square for excellent restaurant choices ( the staff was very helpful with recommendations and reservations).
we will come back, great place to relax and enjoy outdoor massages.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2005

The best way to describe my experience with the Honor Mansion is this: it is a SURE THING for a vacation!

My wife and I came out there for our 10th Anniversary and had a wonderful time and although the room price is high - you get your monies worth and then some. The room (the Pool Suite) was fantastic and just as it was stated on the website. The attention to detail was right on target. The location was less than a mile to the town of Healdsburg (a great town) and Steve always gave great recommendations about places to see. Oh, and you will really enjoy breakfasts……

I can't say enough about our time there and would recommend Honor Mansion highly to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2005

Recently my wife and I spent three days at the Honor Mansion. We saw their website and was impressed with that presentation - but, when we arrived - I said to my wife "once in awhile you dream of a special place" - and the Honor Mansion is just that dream! The staff is excellent - the grounds are well-groomed -the amenities were over and above - place is, at the risk of being redundant, a dream come true! My wife and I celebrate our 40th Anniversary this month and this was a place to remember!

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2005

We stayed here for 2 nights in the beginning of July for our 1 year wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Garden Suite. What a gorgeous room! Wet bar, outdoor hot tub, private entrance and private parking just for us. This B&B was as good as a first class hotel. They didn't miss a beat with anything. The grounds were magnificant and the breakfast was out of this world. Everyone treated us well and were very helpful.
Sonoma valley was beautiful and it was hard to leave and go to Napa. Sonoma wineries were unique, beautiful and delicious!
I would definetly come back here. The town of Healdsburg was also awesome!! Cyrus restaurant was phenonmenal!!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Address: 14891 Grove Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Sonoma County's Wine Country, the Honor Mansion sits on four acres of landscaped resort grounds, offering tennis, bocce, croquet, PGA putting and an invigorating lap pool with spa pavilions and sun deck. Another deck surrounding a koi pond provides serenity. This landmark's pristine elegance is reflected by the Fowler's and their professional staff, who provide personal attention to every detail. Full gourmet breakfast buffet with complimentary mimosas each morning, and wine and appetizers each evening. The Inn is surrounded by wineries, golf courses and is within walking distance of the town square's outstanding restaurants and shopping. AAA 4 diamond rated, Michelin Guide recommended. Complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, as well as access to cookies, soda, water, coffee, tea, sherry and other treats available 24 hours a day. Full concierge service available. No resort fees, or any other hidden fees! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honor Mansion, a Wine Country Hotel Healdsburg
Honor Mansion Hotel
Honor Mansion Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.