We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in the Wine Country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Save
You added Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort to your Saves list
14891 Grove Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Healdsburg
GreenLeadersGold level
California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Heaven in the Wine Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

The Honor Mansion is the best of the best! My friend and I stayed at this beautiful resort inn and fell in love with all that it has to offer. From the wonderful staff who pampered us 100% of the time, to the amazing grounds, and even the smallest details in the room add to its charm. The Honor Mansion is heaven here on earth! We will return anytime and can't wait to book our next trip! Our room was elegantly decorated and made us feel like we were royalty. The Honor Mansion offered everything we wanted and more. Next time we will make sure to stay for longer, that way we can try all the different entrées offered for breakfast and the many cookies that they make. This inn offers all the luxury of a big city hotel, in a beautiful relaxing town that truly defines a vacation. I would highly recommend it for those seeking great hospitality, and a wonderful stay in the wine country.

  • Liked — service, food, location, room.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    22
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
436
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

Truly a wonderful experience! We were upgraded to the Squire's Cottage and found an Anniversary surprise awaiting us! The true surprise was the magnificent staff - so helpful, thoughtful and courteous. We enjoyed the room so much that we decided to forgo a dinner out in favor of an in-room picnic with the glow of the fireplace and the romantic CD left in the room in the background! Breakfast and the mimosas were outstanding. Our only regret was having just one night to enjoy the property (we did get a game of Bocce Ball in!) We can't wait to make this an annual trip!!

  • Liked — Everything - staff, food, grounds, the room, location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

We combined a business trip to San Francisco with a visit to the Russian River Valley vineyards and stayed, as we had before, at the Honor Mansion. The Honor Mansion may be one of the top ten places to stay in the United States: all the little details are right. If you can, stay in one of the rooms with a private outdoor hot tub. There is nothing like sipping a first cup of coffee (delivered to your room at 8am sharp) sitting in the hot tub, reading the newspaper (also delivered), after running an easy four miles on flat roads besides picturesque vineyards.

  • Liked — Outdoor patio; Steve's knowledge of wines
  • Disliked — Lack of plug outlet for laptop
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

Honor Mansion is everything you want it to be.
Steve and Cathi are exemplary innkeepers - the entire staff is friendly, helpful, and mindful of every little detail. Present and available but never obtrusive.
The Inn's location is perfect - extremely convenient to downtown Healdsburg and very close to all the roads you'll want to set out on to go wine tasting.
We stayed in two different suites (Pool and Garden), both were great and each had their own distinct charm and character.
The grounds are quite expansive and extremely well kept. We enjoyed playing bocce and croquet - even though the weather was more suitable for sitting in front of the fireplace in our room (we did that, too).

  • Liked — Lovely Rooms
  • Disliked — Toilets flush slowly and were a tad finicky
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, NJ
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

My wife and I have stayed in inns and hotels all over the world, none are better than the Honor Mansions dedication to the smallest details. We were EXTREMELY impressed with everything and the way that Steve and Cathi handle everything from the afternoon wine spread to the morning coffee brought to your room as a precursor to the great breakfast awaiting you in the main parlor. We went in an off-season just before Christmas, we would not even think about going back to wine country without staying here.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and detail
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, OH
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

We had such a lovely stay at the Honor Mansion. It is conveniently located to wine country, with beautiful grounds and lots to do. The staff made our visit - they anticipated our every need without being overbearing or overly obvious. We had lovely breakfasts outside by the koi pond every morning and enjoyable wine tastings in the family room every evening. We will definitely be going back as soon as possible!

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

We rebooked this Inn after a cancelled trip in July. The Inn is about 10 minutes walk from the Plaza in Healsburg and has great facilities. We were upgraded to the Pool Suite, which over looks the pool and has a private deck with a large outdoor hot tub. The grounds are beautifully kept and we took advantage of the putting green and the basketball hoop, but the sun went down before we could try the croquet lawn. Free wine and appetizers are offered each night and we elected for our breakfast to be served poolside to take advantage of the fabulous weather. The room was very comofrtable with a small sitting area and a fireplace. Overall we would highly recommend the Honor Mansion for a restful getaway or for a base to explore Healsburg and the surrounding wine areas. We took the bikes and cycled down Dry Creek Road visiting several wineries along the way.

  • Liked — Full of character without sacrificing modern conveniences
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Address: 14891 Grove Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Sonoma County's Wine Country, the Honor Mansion sits on four acres of landscaped resort grounds, offering tennis, bocce, croquet, PGA putting and an invigorating lap pool with spa pavilions and sun deck. Another deck surrounding a koi pond provides serenity. This landmark's pristine elegance is reflected by the Fowler's and their professional staff, who provide personal attention to every detail. Full gourmet breakfast buffet with complimentary mimosas each morning, and wine and appetizers each evening. The Inn is surrounded by wineries, golf courses and is within walking distance of the town square's outstanding restaurants and shopping. AAA 4 diamond rated, Michelin Guide recommended. Complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, as well as access to cookies, soda, water, coffee, tea, sherry and other treats available 24 hours a day. Full concierge service available. No resort fees, or any other hidden fees! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honor Mansion, a Wine Country Hotel Healdsburg
Honor Mansion Hotel
Honor Mansion Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.