We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
14891 Grove Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Healdsburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in Vineyard Suite 1, what a beautiful room. Fabulous decor and attention to detail. The staff we so welcoming and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt truly pampered. The cleaning was impeccable. It was our wedding anniversary and on arrival in our room found a delicious lemon and poppyseed cake in a beautiful glass dome with a complimentary bottle of wine. Having a outside whirlpool bath was a treat, very private and romantic. In a morning you have a basket of fresh hot beverages of your choice delivered outside your door with home-made biscotti. Breakfast was delicious with a menu of mimosa cocktails, great way to start your day! Cathi and Steve are the perfect hosts, in fact everyone we met who worked there had passion and attention to detail. Steve will help you plan your day around wine country and recommend restaurants in the area. We so felt relaxed and comfortable. We also found time to squeeze in some tennis and basketball in the stunning grounds of Honor mansion. If you want a truly special stay in wine country, then book Honor mansion, you will not be disappointed at all! We will be back!

Room Tip: The Vineyard suites are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for writing this lovely review! We are so glad that you felt our service was excellent, our cleanliness was impeccable, and our grounds and food were delightful.

We are so happy to make your stay one to remember. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    576
    20
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
408
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stow
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were a little surprised after reading the favorable reviews on Trip Advisor. We found the grounds to be well-maintained, with the croquet, mini-golf and bocce courts as described. We had a cottage suite with a private terrace w/fountain and hot tub. However, the hot tub jets did not work. When reported, we were promised it would be taken care of right away, but 2 days later and it was still not fixed. The amenities in the room were nice (from TV to gas fireplace to toiletries), and the cleaning staff did a very nice job cleaning our room each morning. The breakfast service was very good, as well as 5 pm drinks with fruit and cheese by the koi pond. The owners were very friendly and accommodating, always providing us with maps and directions to wherever we wanted to go. There was one main problem and one secondary problem with our stay. You can have all the amenities in the world, but you must get the basics right if you claim to be a distinctive inn. Our $490/night room had a stale, water-damage smell (or musty antique furniture smell) which hit you the moment you entered. We were too tired to ask if all the rooms smelled like this, or if it was just ours. Second, several staff promises to make dinner reservations or arrange tours were not followed through. Finally, we were very surprised that this inn, while in a lovely neighborhood, was right off Highway 101. You could hear the traffic day and night, which prevented us from opening the windows. Just not entirely what we expected. If the room odor and service follow-through were improved, this could be a place we would return.

Room Tip: Ask about room smell before accepting a room. Let them know if you want a room with lots of sunligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review of your stay. We appreciate your lovely compliments about the resort grounds and our service.

We do apologize about your soaking tub jet not working properly. We unfortunately experienced a miss-communication within our staff and the maintenance person did not realize the jets in your suite needed attention. This was an oversight that we deeply regret.

Regarding the smell in the room, we have never smelled a stale scent in any of our rooms and we hope that our guests would bring any smells to our attention so that we can look into and rectify the situation.

Another miss-communication occurred regarding your dinner reservations and although we had made them when you requested them, we did not communicate that information with all staff members so the person you encountered was unaware that the reservation had indeed been made.

We do sincerely apologize that we dropped the ball on too many small things during your stay and we hope that you will give the Honor Mansion another chance to make your stay wonderful.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions. Thank you again.

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Wow! Steve and Cathi Fowler have created a true home away from home. Everything was wonderful. The lodging, the grounds, the fantastic gourmet breakfasts (with Mimosas), always available water/sodas and snacks, afternoon cookies, evening hors d'doeuvres with local boutique wines, every member of the staff...and Steve's local knowledge of great wineries and hidden gem lunch spots...all made this a memorable anniversary trip and a must-return venue for us. It was our anniversary trip and first visit to California wine country, so we splurged and spent more than we normally do on lodging, but we have absolutely no regrets. We stayed in the Garden Suite. It was a wonderful, private haven with a great outdoor hot tub and private garden. I'll state it "point blank" -- stay at Honor Mansion when in Healdsburg, and you will NOT be disappointed. Thanks again, Steve and Cathi!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We so appreciate your warm compliments. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and to thank us so graciously. We love pampering our guests and providing a comforting oasis away from home while you are relaxing on vacation.

We are so happy we were able to help you celebrate your anniversary and make a special time even more special. Thank you again for your review! It was absolutely our pleasure to serve you.

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed in a Vineyard Suite for just a few nights at the Honor Mansion (wish it were more). The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed with lovely and interesting furniture pieces. Our suite had a private terrace with hot tub which we didn't use, given the cool weather but I could see using it in the warmer months. The day starts with coffee or tea delivered outside your door in insulated containers which you arrange the day before. Our breakfasts were delicious with a hot entree served every day along with a very nice selection of fruit and baked goods. For us it was particularly special because we are both gluten free and enjoyed enormously the freshly baked gluten free scones. There are so many great touches about the place -- the luxurious sheets, a bottle of wine left in the room for our arrival, daily wine served in the late afternoon with tasty snacks and friendly service from the staff and owners. We used free passes to a very good local gym just a 5-6 minute walk.

Downtown Healdsburg is a lovely town, a longish walk or very short drive from the Honor Mansion. Our welcome package included lists of recommended restaurants, vineyards and other things to do. It was a great base from which to explore the area. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your fabulous review! We are honored that you loved our location for your Wine Country vacation.

We are quite experienced with gluten free cooking, and we are so happy to share our gourmet accommodations with our guests! We are very much looking forward to hosting you folks again soon.

Until then,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have stayed at this Inn in each of my visits to California Wine Country and have never been disappointed. The property is maintained in pristine condition and the owners and staff interact with guests to accommodate any need. I would never hesitate in giving this property my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: The Vineyard Suites are outstanding and I specifically like Suite III
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We want to thank you deeply for writing this review and for choosing to stay with us each time you visit Wine Country.

We are so glad you have enjoyed your stay at our resort inn and that you have found our grounds and service impeccable every time.

Thank you so much for your recommendations, and we look forward to hosting you folks again soon!

Until then,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I've stayed here three times. The grounds are quite lovely and the service is extremely attentive. If you wish to splurge on a suite then I recommend the property.

The first time we stayed in the Tower suite and loved it minus a minor ant problem. The second time we splurged on a Vineyard suite, which was very nice. The third time we opted for the Camellia room and would not recommend it. I was pretty disappointed by the "European style bath". I have stayed in many a european apartment and, while I have frequently experienced the split toilet/shower I have never experienced the shower opening directly into the room. Quite literally, you step directly into the shower from the bedroom, and out of the shower onto the carpet in the bedroom in front of the closet. We also experienced some disruptive noise, which the staff corrected, but only after a night of disrupted sleep.

Generally, the attention to detail at the Honor Mansion is beyond anything I've experienced elsewhere. I will likely return, but only when I am prepared to splurge on a suite.

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite. The Camellia room is not recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write us a review. We are so appreciative that you have chosen the Honor Mansion several times now and that you have enjoyed our service, grounds, and attention to detail every time you have stayed here.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy the European style bath we have in the Camellia Room, but we want to point out that out of our five Mansion Rooms, only two have the European style bath. The other three Mansion Rooms have large bathrooms, which guests can see on our website.
In 1883, the beautiful Mansion was built without plumbing. When we purchased the property in 1994 to transform it into an inn, we added the European style baths to ensure that every room in the historic Mansion had a private bathroom. We did not want to compromise on the open space in the room, but we do understand the need for privacy which is why our two rooms that do have the European style bath have the added amenity of the privacy screen.

We apologize that you had an issue with noise, and we are glad that our attentive staff was able to fix the situation in the morning. Again, we would like to thank you for your kind words about our attention to detail and our service.

We appreciate your review and thank you again for choosing the Honor Mansion!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Outstanding service, outstanding grounds, outstanding room, outstanding food (which included cheese/fruit plate & wine)
Special thanks to Lupita who made sure everything was perfect.
Would not consider another property in Healdsburg after our stay here.

Room Tip: If any of the suites are available - go for it. Private, secure, doorstep parking; beautiful enclose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your outstanding review! We are so glad you enjoyed our service, resort grounds, room amenities, and food.

We look forward to hosting you folks again during your next trip to Healdsburg!

Until then,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Address: 14891 Grove Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Sonoma County's Wine Country, the Honor Mansion sits on four acres of landscaped resort grounds, offering tennis, bocce, croquet, PGA putting and an invigorating lap pool with spa pavilions and sun deck. Another deck surrounding a koi pond provides serenity. This landmark's pristine elegance is reflected by the Fowler's and their professional staff, who provide personal attention to every detail. Full gourmet breakfast buffet with complimentary mimosas each morning, and wine and appetizers each evening. The Inn is surrounded by wineries, golf courses and is within walking distance of the town square's outstanding restaurants and shopping. AAA 4 diamond rated, Michelin Guide recommended. Complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, as well as access to cookies, soda, water, coffee, tea, sherry and other treats available 24 hours a day. Full concierge service available. No resort fees, or any other hidden fees! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honor Mansion, a Wine Country Hotel Healdsburg
Honor Mansion Hotel
Honor Mansion Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort to your Saves list