We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my wildly inflated expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Save
You added Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort to your Saves list
14891 Grove Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Exceeded my wildly inflated expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

It's always great when you have really high expectations of a place and they manage to exceed those. That's how I feel about Honor Mansion.

The exceeding of expectations started well in advance with the comprehensive pack we were sent when we booked. This helped me select a range of winery tours, activities and restaurants - which the good folks at Honor Mansion then diligently went ahead and booked for us in advance.

It's difficult choosing a room in advance - which is what you have to do here - but I selected the Wisteria room and found that absolutely perfect. Situated on the ground floor and side/back of the 'mansion' it has it's own outdoor patio area which joins the front lawn but is secluded and private, as well as another outside seating area at the back (which we didn't use), a large main bedroom with 4-poster bed and sofa, and big well-equipped bathroom.

I knew all about the famed wine and cheese sessions each evening, and these were a real treat. We discovered a really well prepared spread of cheeses and snacks, a great selection of wines (which are topical and changed daily), and a lovely spot outside at the Koi pond to just relax - and drink of course...The other renowned aspect of this place is the 'one price for everything' setup, which means you never have to pay for wifi, water, sodas, or even a late night sherry!

I ended up cancelling most of my restaurant reservations because it was just too tempting to enjoy the happy hours and then relax on our patio with a picnic from Big John's market (my favourite deli in town). The very cool things we did do though were a picnic at Arista, the Chalk Hill culinary tour, the wine and cheese pairing at Lancaster, and the private Rockpile tour with Mauritson's - all of these are unique and special experiences.

it goes without saying that Steve is an engaging host - we saw quite a bit of him, and his team are all excellent. Do yourself a favour and experience this place for yourself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We are truly so honored to have you compliment us this highly. This review is certainly another reminder of why we do what we do.

Our guests are always our number one priority, and we absolutely love exceeding expectations and making your stay truly amazing. We are so glad you loved every aspect of your stay, from the before-arrival concierge help to the wine and appetizer hour every evening.

Thank you again for writing this spectacular review and recommending us so enthusiastically; we appreciate your kindness.

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    23
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
453
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Honor Mansion is well located in Healdsburg walking distance to the town with its restaurants, shops, and wine tasting outlets. If walking at night, take a flashlight (available at hotel). Grove Street has no street lights and the sidewalk is uneven.

Rooms were clean and the bed firm and very comfortable, Wifi worked very well.

Service was excellent. Employees were really helpful with recommendations, directions, and reservations. Make dinner reservations early; the good restaurants in town are often fully booked by dinner time.

Breakfast at the hotel is included but limited and not impressive compared to other high quality B&Bs.

They have wine tastings from local wineries often from 5-6 at night which were a great way to lead into dinner.

Healdsburg is well located to access wineries in Dry Creek, Alexander Valley, and Russian River Valley.

Only concern is the hotel is more expensive than alternatives. If you can afford the extra cost, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are all different, so ask when making a reservation. I do not believe any rooms are "bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a detailed review. We appreciate your compliments on our service, since we truly believe that excellent service is what defines hospitality

. We agree that Healdsburg is a wonderful town, especially since it's located in the middle of the three valleys like you mentioned, which makes it the perfect place to stay for a fantastic wine country vacation.

Thank you again for choosing the Honor Mansion.

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

As far as I can tell, this is the only place I would ever consider to stay at when coming to visit the Sonoma wine country. We were here with a group of eight, and Steve, (and concierges Amanda and Emily) went out of their way to help us have a great time. My wife and I are repeat customers and will be for a long time! Thanks Honor Mansion.

Room Tip: We have stayed twice in the Wisteria Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you all felt looked after during your long stay at the Honor Mansion.

We so look forward to hosting you folks next time you are in the area, and show you even more of the beautiful Sonoma Wine Country we love to share with our guests.

Thank you again for choosing us and for complimenting us so highly.

Until next time,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We've stayed at the Honor Mansion before, and will always stay there when we visit California wine country. We stayed in the Vineyard Suites and one of the people in our party who stayed in another Vineyard suite said,"Why do we want to go anywhere. Let's just stay on the property all week." The staff goes out of their way to make sure every request is satisfied. Nataly and Emily organized everything for us without any hassle. They arranged to have our wine shipped back home, so we didn't have to lift a finger. It's not cheap, but when you visit wine country you don't want any hassles, and our stays at Honor Mansion have always been trouble free. One more thing. Steve (the owner) is known in the area, so when he directs you somewhere, the other proprietors seem a little more interested in your business.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for this glowing review! We are so delighted that you returned to the Honor Mansion for another vacation with friends.

All of our innkeeping staff makes every effort to ensure your stay is relaxing and hassle free, and we are glad that you feel this way about staying with us.

Thank you for choosing our property again and for recommending us so highly. We look forward to hosting you next time you folks are in California!

Until then,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire dales
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed three nights and that was not enough. Healdsburg is much nicer that the bigger wine towns. It's not so commercial and ticks all of my boxes.
We were well looked after at the mansion. Great room. We met lovely people there, time for a chat! Time for a swim, golf putting, bocce ? and croquet. They made good suggestions as to where to eat and wineries to visit. It was a perfect place for us.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are so glad that you loved Healdsburg as much as we do!

Many of our guests say that they wish they had taken advantage of the resort grounds more than they did, so we are pleased that you spent time enjoying the sunshine out on the game grounds.

There are so many great places to eat and drink, and we are especially happy that you folks liked our suggestions. Thank you again for choosing the Honor Mansion!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed over the Labor Day weekend. Conveniently located within a 5 min drive to downtown Healdsburg (or about 20 min walk which we chose not to do after dinner because the street was dark with no street lights). The property is classically beautiful and clean.

We stayed in one of the rooms that was beautifully decorated and was promptly cleaned every morning after we returned from breakfast. The King-sized bed appeared to be a foam mattress and was quite comfortable. The sink and toilet were separated from the shower. The shower was only OK as the shower head was small and sprayed very unevenly.

There was a complimentary bottle of white wine in each room. Unlike a regular hotel, since it was a central house A/C, we could not control the room temperature other than adjusting the ceiling vent opening or opening the window. There was a big ceiling fan which definitely helped.

We stayed 4 nights and the hot breakfast changed each day consisting of a buffet of 2-3 items to choose from. The cold items were the same every day and included scone, fruits, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, toast, English muffins, cereal, among others. Overall, it's not your big 4-5 star hotel or cruise ship breakfast buffets with lots of items to try, but small, cozy and very good by B&B standards. The daily cookies are to die for!!!

We like to watch TV before going to sleep at night but the TV was not easy to figure out since there were 2 remotes that had to be coordinated to work together. In our case, one remote was used to turn on the TV and had to be set to Channel 3 and also controlled the volume. The other remote is used to turn the channel. The instructions left in the room wasn't helpful and all staff leaves at 7pm but there's an emergency phone. In any case, this is not a big deal.

Steve, the owner of the B&B, was very helpful and recommended a few wineries to visit which ended up being great recommendations. Thank you again, Steve! Overall, our stay there was excellent, service (before 7pm) was impeccable and we would consider staying at Honor Mansion again if/when we're back in Healdsburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We want to thank you so much for writing such a detailed review of the stay you loved! Since we are located on a quiet, residential street with no streetlights, we do supply a lantern and a flashlight in the room if guests want to take advantage of the conveniently close walk to town, but as you folks found, the drive is also very short to downtown Healdsburg.

We apologize that the TV instructions didn't help you sufficiently, and we have looked into the instructions and rectified them. Thank you for bringing that to our attention though!

We truly appreciate your compliments about our service and breakfasts, and we are so glad you folks enjoyed your stay.

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

we stayed there recently with friends and it was absolutely wonderful. Staff was exceptional and property was beautiful. Loved that they turned the bed down for afternoon naps. And delivered fresh coffee and biscotti every morning to our doorstep. Food was very good and the service was amazing. also loved the jetted bathtub on the screened in porch. fantastic experience. enjoyed wine and appetizers nightly by the koi pond- loved it! rooms came equipped with everything, including a flashlight for nighttime walks to town.

Room Tip: bed was SO comfortable in the Garden Suite. Hope to stay in the Tower Suite next time- looks very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this review! We so appreciate your comments and we are honored that you loved so many aspects of your stay, especially the little details from the jacuzzi tub to the turndown service. We are very happy that we served you folks well.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at the Honor Mansion!

Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Address: 14891 Grove Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Sonoma County's Wine Country, the Honor Mansion sits on four acres of landscaped resort grounds, offering tennis, bocce, croquet, PGA putting and an invigorating lap pool with spa pavilions and sun deck. Another deck surrounding a koi pond provides serenity. This landmark's pristine elegance is reflected by the Fowler's and their professional staff, who provide personal attention to every detail. Full gourmet breakfast buffet with complimentary mimosas each morning, and wine and appetizers each evening. The Inn is surrounded by wineries, golf courses and is within walking distance of the town square's outstanding restaurants and shopping. AAA 4 diamond rated, Michelin Guide recommended. Complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, as well as access to cookies, soda, water, coffee, tea, sherry and other treats available 24 hours a day. Full concierge service available. No resort fees, or any other hidden fees! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honor Mansion, a Wine Country Hotel Healdsburg
Honor Mansion Hotel
Honor Mansion Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.