We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Healdsburg!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Save
You added Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort to your Saves list
14891 Grove Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best B&B in Healdsburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The staff was very welcoming, there were so many wonderful amenities (including fabulous breakfasts, afternoon wine and appetizers, and a complimentary bottle of wine in the room), and the rooms were beautiful and comfortable...we will definitely want to return whenever we visit Healdsburg. We have stayed at other places in town during previous visits, but this is the best!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
We are so grateful that you have written us a wonderful review! We really appreciate your kind words about our welcoming staff, because we do make an effort to always serve our guests with the best hospitality and we are so glad we made you feel comfortable during your stay!
We are happy your enjoyed everything about your time with us, and we do hope you return sometime soon!
Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi, and the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    23
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
453
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Honor Mansion for our 10-year anniversary in August 2012. Wow - this place was amazing! Definitely the finest B&B / small hotel I've ever stayed at in the U.S. We stayed in the Wisteria Room and I can assure you, no detail was left untouched. When we arrived, there was wine, fresh flowers, cheese plate, and champagne in our room (the later two were a reasonable charge). The room itself was gorgeous, we had two private patios, and the grounds beautiful as well. The property itself features a pool, tennis court, bocce courts, basketball court, croquet, etc. Tons of stuff to do. They do the little things - even so much as a refrigerator with cold water and soda for free.

Breakfast was fantastic - particularly the eggs benedict and mimosas! The staff went the extra mile to ensure all your needs were met. We bought approximately 2 cases of wine from the various vineyards and Honor Mansion contracts with a local firm for shipping. All we had to do is complete a form, leave the wine in the room, and everything was taken care of.

It is a 10 minute walk to downtown Healdsburg and 2-3 miles from many of the vineyards of Dry Creek.

In conclusion, I have nothing but praise and it was a wonderful long weekend trip! I will not stay anywhere else in Sonoma!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your detailed and glowing review of our resort inn!
For you to say that we are the finest b&b/small hotel in the U.S. is so humbling, and we truly appreciate such kind words.
We love to go the extra mile, as you put it, to make our guests feel pampered and taken care of! We are so pleased you felt that way during your stay.
Thank you again for taking the time to compliment us so kindly.
We look forward to hosting you again next time you’re in the area!
Warm Regards,
Steve, Cathi & the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, az
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the honor mansion after spending time in Europe. It reminded me of the five star hotels we stayed Italy. The rooms are beautiful with a real attention to detail. The grounds are maintained to perfection. The staff and owners work hard to exceed your expectation. Make sure to enjoy the afternoon wine and appetizers.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We do work hard to please our guests and we are so happy that our efforts made a difference in your stay. We know attention to detail matters to our guests and we are pleased to have been able to serve you with five-star quality!
Warm Regards,
Steve & Cathi and the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Honor Mansion based on a referral from some friends and it exceeded our expectations. The service was simply outstanding with every comfort accomodated. We stayed in the Garden Suite for our 25th wedding anniversary and loved the privacy with it's own driveway and secluded private porch. And we could step right out into the lovely pool area. Coffee was delivered to our gate each morning and a bottle of wine and a poppyseed cake were awaiting our arrival. The breakfasts were wonderful and we especially enjoyed being able to dine outside surrounded by trees and the koi pond. A couple of different wineries hosted a happy hour when we were there. The winery and restaurant recommendations made by Steve and Cathi were also first rate. We'll definitely be back. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Hello Tanis & Don!
We appreciate your lovely review very much! We are delighted that your 25th wedding anniversary was made special during your stay with us, and we so look forward to your next stay. Do please tell your friends who referred you to stay here, “Thank you!” from us, as word of mouth from trusted friends really is the best way to let people know about what we offer our guests. We are honored that we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay, and so happy to have met you and served you well!
Warm Regards,
Steve & Cathi and the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just came back from our first vacation to CA wine country. My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Honor Mansion. Beautiful grounds, activities, wine tasting, spa services, friendly and helpful staff, and cordial owners made this vacation a memorable time. They even contacted us a couple of weeks before we arrived to help book our winery visits, restaurants, and spa services to ensure we didn't miss out on anything we wanted to experience. Never experienced anything like that. Thank you Steve. One of the best B&Bs that you will ever find.

Frank & Valerie

Room Tip: Check out each room on their web site and pick your first and second choices before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Frank & Valerie,

Thank you so much for writing this wonderful review about your stay with us! We are flattered by your comments about every aspect of your stay, and we are so glad we served you well. We believe that guest service is the most important part of hospitality and makes a stay so much more special, which you found to also be true during your stay with us.

We are happy to have made your stay one you will remember!

Warm Regards,
Steve & Cathi and the Honor Mansion Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Let me begin by saying that I have stayed all over the world for my job, and have had the opportunity to experience some extremely highly rated hotels (Ritz, Four Seasons, etc). For those of you who have also experienced these luxury hotel chains, you know that the expectation has been set for top notch service, food, and amenities. Well let me tell you about a hidden gem in Healdsburg called the Honor Mansion...

The Honor Mansion is a beautiful, completely refurbished Victorian style bed and breakfast that is run by Steve and Cathi Fowler. Steve and Cathi are not only the consumate professionals, but are also two of the friendliest people you could ever meet. Steve's knowledge of the local area, including the numerous restaurants and wineries is unparalleled, and Cathi's breakfasts are nothing short of amazing! My wife has Celiac disease (allergy to Gluten), so often times she is not able to eat the majority of food that is offered in restaurants and hotels/B&B's). That however, was not the case during our excuisite stay at the Honor Mansion. As it turns out, Steve also has Ciliac Disease, and Cathi has mastered the art of Gluten Free cooking and baking, making some of the best GF pasteries I've ever tasted.

After breakfast, Steve, map in hand, would come over to our table and go over his favorite wineries and restaurants in the Sonoma (Healdsburg) area, and we were never disappointed.

The graciousness of our hosts, combined with the spectacular accomodations, make this trip to Sonoma and the Honor Mansion a vacation that we'll remember for the rest of our lives!

Room Tip: We stayed in Vineyard Suite #3 and it was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! We really appreciate the effort you took to compliment our property and staff, and compare us so graciously to those hotels of such high standards. We love knowing that our guests feel treated like royalty while also enjoying a personal interaction with our owners and innkeepers in our suggestions for enjoying the beautiful Sonoma County.
It is so important to make safe and delicious gluten-free food for those with gluten allergies or Celiac disease, and we are glad to share our recipes for gluten-free gourmet food with you!

Hopefully your future world travels brings you back to Healdsburg sometime in the future!
Cheers,

Steve & Cathi and the Honor Mansion staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I (like everyone else probably) agonize over planning my hotel stays when I go away, and our trip to Sonoma/Napa was not any different. I have been to the area several times and never found a place that wow'd me...nor do I usually write reviews about them! I can happily say that Honor Mansion exceeded all of my expectations and more!!! My fiance and I had gotten engaged a few days prior and Honor Mansion had surprised us with a nice note and lemon poppy seed cake in our room at check in, along with a nice bottle of wine. We had stayed in the Angel Oak room which was whimsically decorated without being tacky. The deck off of the room overlooking the pool and grounds was fantastic to unwind at night under the stars with the complimentary sherry provided or in the morning sipping our coffee/tea and eating the pre-breakfast biscotti's! I never felt like I had to "tip toe" around the house unlike some B and B's I have stayed at. The grounds were beautiful and well kept, and everything had a nice relaxing feel to it. The staff were extremely friendly and kind. Breakfast each morning was plentiful, and a great base for a day of wine tasting..including the two free mimosa's per person. As for the walk to town, yes, it is a walk...probably 15 min (with heels on mind you) although after all the eating and drinking you do the 15 min walk is well needed! On the way back it is a bit dark, but they do provide you with flash lights if needed. I never felt unsafe walking once and I am a bit of a wuss. However, if you must drive to town it probably is less then two minutes tops...so either way you can't go wrong. There are so many little extra's that Honor Mansion provides like bottled water/soda around the pool, afternoon snacks and appetizers as well as wine and so much more. We were so sad to leave even though we were going on to Yountville, my favorite place-I knew the service and detail was going to be nowhere near as good as Honor Mansion!!!! We most definately will stay there again on our next trip to Sonoma without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed, glowing review! We take great pride in our attention to detail and we are so happy when guests appreciate all those little details that help make your stay unforgettable. Many aspects of the Honor Mansion serve to distinguish us from B&Bs and we are glad that you felt comfortable during your stay with us. We love being a part of guests’ special occasions, and making celebrating your engagement everything you hoped for.

We are so honored that we have “wow’d” you and we look forward to hosting you again sometime soon! Until then,

Steve & Cathi and the Honor Mansion staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Address: 14891 Grove Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Sonoma County's Wine Country, the Honor Mansion sits on four acres of landscaped resort grounds, offering tennis, bocce, croquet, PGA putting and an invigorating lap pool with spa pavilions and sun deck. Another deck surrounding a koi pond provides serenity. This landmark's pristine elegance is reflected by the Fowler's and their professional staff, who provide personal attention to every detail. Full gourmet breakfast buffet with complimentary mimosas each morning, and wine and appetizers each evening. The Inn is surrounded by wineries, golf courses and is within walking distance of the town square's outstanding restaurants and shopping. AAA 4 diamond rated, Michelin Guide recommended. Complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, as well as access to cookies, soda, water, coffee, tea, sherry and other treats available 24 hours a day. Full concierge service available. No resort fees, or any other hidden fees! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honor Mansion, a Wine Country Hotel Healdsburg
Honor Mansion Hotel
Honor Mansion Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.