We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience with such luxury and homely feeling...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Save Saved
You added Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort to your Saves list
14891 Grove Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Healdsburg
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience with such luxury and homely feeling...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at Honor Mansion for our first anniversary. This is a little resort with tennis court, pool, massage facilities, lawn plays like croquet, etc. The staff is amazingly kind, warm and professional. The rooms are offering all kinds of luxury and comfort in this century old mansion. Such a romantic feeling with the total soul of the house and many warmly touches of decoration, service and all little details Fowler family is providing. I agree that this mansion is a jewel in wine country and I highly recommend.

Room Tip: I recommend Room Wisteria for couples. It has its nice little front porch and back patio. The whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
We can’t thank you enough for your kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the fact that you would take the time to write a review is much appreciated. Our staff truly works very hard to ensure that every guest will receive excellence service and we are grateful that you chose to stay with us. We will certainly look forward to your return and until we do, enjoy your travels.

Warm regards,
Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    591
    20
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
419
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

Stop thinking and just book ... You won't regret it!

Honor Mansion somehow combines all the intimacies of a great bed & breakfast inn with the outstanding service you'd expect at a Four Seasons. Add in more amenities than I can name along with extreme luxury and you start to get the picture.

Thanks to everyone at Honor Mansion for an amazing retreat. We'll see you again

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
What could we possibly say besides Thank you? We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us and we will look forward to your return. It was a pleasure to host you.

Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

On arrival you are offered a choice of two wines before registering and then being given a tour of the property. This takes sometime as the large gardens include a croquet lawn, putting green, tennis court and more. The level of service is amazing in what is a very up market B and B. Whilst breakfast is provided, all other meals, other than the free drinks and snacks provided in the afternoon, have to be taken in local restaurants. The staff are of course very helpful in their recommendations and will make a reservation for you.
This is so different from staying in a hotel chain and far more enjoyable. If you are in the area then do not miss it.

Room Tip: My wife and I stayed in the Camellia room which is in the front of the main house and was an excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you first of all for returning so many times to stay with us. We are humbled and grateful for your kind words in this review. We understand that there are many choices in our area and we are thrilled that you continue to choose the Honor Mansion. Great to see you again!

Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, TN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I have stayed at the Honor Mansion many times over the past 10 years and will continue to do so every chance I get. This gem continues to excel in service and actvities. The day starts with coffee service to your room, followed by an outstanding breakfast which changes daily. Steve(the owner) mingles with the guests during breakfast, anwering questions and offering suggestions on daily activities. He has an outstanding knowledge of wine country touring. In my retirement years, I have spent a lot of time touring luxury INNS throughout the country and can assure you that this continues to be among the best.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you first of all for returning so many times to stay with us. We are humbled and grateful for your kind words in this review. We understand that there are many choices in our area and we are thrilled that you continue to choose the Honor Mansion. Great to see you again!

Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We could not have picked a better place to stay for our weekend in wine country. The service is amazing! Lots of little touches that make it both nice and comfortable - included beverages, bottle of wine, evening appetizers, outstanding breakfast, and a picnic basket and blanket to use, just to name a few. Our bedroom in the main house was so nice and comfortable that my gf wants to recreated it at home. The grounds are gorgeously kept and lots of activities - tennis, basketball, bocce, putting, croquet, swimming - we didn't leave near enough time to enjoy them all. The B&B is conveniently located in Healdsburg, which is close to many great wineries. Our two favorites were Dry Creek Vineyards and Silver Oak. The hotel had a brochure with a free tasting for Dry Creek and a coupon for a free tasting at Silver Oak (along with several others). The Dry Creek General Store down the road was excellent for our picnic lunch. And...if you pass through Sonoma, try Girl and the Fig...awesome lunch!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thanks so much for taking your time to write us a review. We truly appreciate you spending your special weekend with us and we are thankful that you enjoyed your stay. We will definitely look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We spent a weekend in April 2012 at Honor Mansion. It was a pleasure: lovely place, welcoming and helpful staff. Steve spent 15 minutes with us at breakfast talking about where to drive, what wineries to visit, etc. It has my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 1, which is detached from the main house. Although another suite is adjacent, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we truly hope that you will choose us again and until then. . .

Safe Travels.

Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

A friend recommended this to us for a long weekend get-away to Sonoma. We really enjoyed our experience. We stayed in the Tower Suite, which as others mentioned is VERY steep so not for those with limited mobility. The only downsides were that the bathroom was kind of small and if you are a light sleeper, you can occasionally hear others walking by outside and/or staff in the room adjacent where they must store things. I used ear plugs after the first night. However, my husband is a sound sleeper and it never bothered him.

On to all the good things. The food was great. Breakfast was delicious every day. Starting your day with a mimosa was great fun. We only made the happy hour one afternoon but it was also perfect with a good local winery featured and lovely cheese, fruit, and other snacks. I also particularly loved having the coffee and homemade biscotti delivered to our door. It was the perfect way to start a relaxing day. We drank ours in front of the fireplace and watching a little tv. Enjoying not having to take care of kids first thing in the morning! Steve was helpful with recommendations on local wineries to visit.

The grounds here are really nice. Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate with us, it was rainy and cool. But I would have loved to have breakfast out by the koi pond if we could have. We also walked around a bit and looked at the croquet field, tennis courts, etc. The weather also meant we couldn't really enjoy our little private patio and outdoor tub, but I think we would have loved it if we could have.

We got to see one of the cottages and it was even nicer than I expected. It was quite large with a big bathroom and the person that showed it to us said it was one of the smaller bathrooms. I wish I could have seen more of the rooms but it was full.

All in all, they have lots of thoughtful touches and for relaxation and some couple time. It's a great choice!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for the Honor Mansion. We realize that it takes precious time to do so and we truly appreciate it.

We sincerely apologize that you were disturbed during your stay in the Tower Suite. We do make every effort to keep noise to a minimum and we are very sorry that we somehow failed during your stay and we have spoken with the staff in hopes that this won’t happen again.

Thank you for all the positive remarks. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope that you will try us again perhaps when the weather might be better.
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Address: 14891 Grove Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Sonoma County's Wine Country, the Honor Mansion sits on four acres of landscaped resort grounds, offering tennis, bocce, croquet, PGA putting and an invigorating lap pool with spa pavilions and sun deck. Another deck surrounding a koi pond provides serenity. This landmark's pristine elegance is reflected by the Fowler's and their professional staff, who provide personal attention to every detail. Full gourmet breakfast buffet with complimentary mimosas each morning, and wine and appetizers each evening. The Inn is surrounded by wineries, golf courses and is within walking distance of the town square's outstanding restaurants and shopping. AAA 4 diamond rated, Michelin Guide recommended. Complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, as well as access to cookies, soda, water, coffee, tea, sherry and other treats available 24 hours a day. Full concierge service available. No resort fees, or any other hidden fees! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honor Mansion, a Wine Country Hotel Healdsburg
Honor Mansion Hotel
Honor Mansion Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.