We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new years bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
14891 Grove Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Healdsburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Mountain View, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“new years bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We are just home from a wonderful two night stay in honor mansion. Once we arrived we felt at home as all the staff were so nice and welcoming. Complimentary wine & nibbles from 5-6 was a great start to our evening!The amenities on site are great,we ended up getting up early today to finish the tennis we started yesterday,and even got to practise our golf on the putting green..
We stayed in the main house and woke up on new years day to the lovely smell of breakfast cooking,I had read the good reviews about breakfast and was not disappointed,french toast was the best ever!The bed was so comfy, def what we needed after a long day cycling and wine tasting, and there are loads of other treats throughout the house to enhance your stay.
Hopefully we will get back here in the future if not I recommend anyone going to healdsburg to stay here!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for the Honor Mansion. Our staff so appreciates the time and effort taken to mention all the things you enjoyed while staying with us. We are grateful that you chose to stay with us. We certainly hope to see you again in the future and in the mean time thanks for the referrals.

Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    578
    20
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
408
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We have stayed at the Honor Mansion twice now, and can't wait to go back. This place is fantastic and caters to your every whim!! The grounds are spectacular and the breakfasts are over the top gourmet style -- this is extremely Victorian and charming, every detail is obviously agonized over. Steve and Kathy are personable, and informed about the area and the wineries and helped us plan an amazing agenda. The bedding is wonderful, the pool is beautiful. As you can tell I cannot say enough good things about this place. I challenge any other B/B to come close to this place!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for the Honor Mansion. Our staff truly enjoys reading the comments and finding new ways to do their job. We were so glad that you chose to stay with us as we are aware that there are many choices in the area. We do hope to see you again in the future. Many thanks again.

Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

My stay at the Honor Mansion in Healdsburg was beyond belief. We got a chance to peek at the rooms, and they are all just beautiful, everyone is different, I had a large claw foot tub to soak in and a fireplace to cuddle up by. The bed and bedding were absolutely pure luxury. The staff is so pleasant and helpful and the attention to detail is outstanding. We had a wonderful breakfast and they catered to our special diets. The grounds are beautiful and serene and everything is absolutely spotless inside and out. Can't wait to check in out in the summer!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
We are so grateful that you enjoyed your stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. Our staff always enjoys reading these reviews and appreciates the feedback as well as the compliments.
It is truly how we learn, grow and improve. Thank you for choosing us and we will certainly look forward to your return!

Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I recently spent a wonderful weekend at the Honor Mansion in Healdsburg, CA. The service was superb, accomodations were top of the line. Bedding was the best I've ever slept on. And the breakfast!!! Eggs bene soufle with fruits, breads, muffins, delicious coffee, a roaring fireplace, soft music and wonderful service. I woke up in the mansion to the smell of all of this wonderful food. I just followed my nose down stairs, got a cup of coffee in the parlor and snuggled up on the couch in front of the fire. Awesome.
Thank you to our hosts, Cathi and Steve Fowler.

Room Tip: The Dogwood room was do die for. Loved it. Huge bathtub for soaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. You girls were a delight. It is always fun to see guests enjoy the property and get from it exactly what they had hoped for. Hope you have a wonderful New Year and we will look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Once again, we arrived in the late evening, after the innkeepers and staff had gone home. Our keys and instructions awaited us, just as promised, along with delicious homemade cookies, as we previewed our favorite breakfast room. We traveled to Vineyard Suite IV and were greeted with soft lighting, music, fresh appetizers of cheeses, hummus, assorted crackers, relishes and chilled white wine. Can you say we felt relaxed and welcome? Yes, absolutely, and then some. This was our sixth visit to the Honor Mansion. Soon, we were fast asleep in their luxurious, fresh white linens and the most comfortable king-size bed. We were up early, being from the East Coast, anxious for the coffee with milk and iced biscotti that await you at your door every morning of your stay. We walked to breakfast past the beautiful grounds surrounded with dewy roses. The breakfast, which started with a selection of flavored sparkling mimosa, followed with fresh fruit with grapes from the innkeepers' vineyard, pork sausage, mouth watering scones and more, was delicious. The friendly staff welcomed us, and made sure to bring fresh coffee and water with lemon. We told them how we felt welcome from the moment we arrived. This was just the beginning of our five-day stay. Everyday was lovely at the Honor Mansion. We followed Steve's recommendations for restaurants and select wineries. They were perfect for us; our shared conversation with an impressive, classic winemaker on a deck overlooking the vineyards, will long be remembered.
Thank you, Cathi and Steve along with your caring staff . . . see you soon . . . the iced biscotti arrived at my door on my birthday!

Room Tip: We love the Vineyard Suites and have stayed in three of the four Vineyard Suites. The rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Wow, thank you so much for this great review. You guys were darling and it is always a pleasure to host you. The staff truly enjoyed seeing you both again. We are always so grateful when we have done our job and it sounds like with hit the mark with you. Glad you loved the Biscotti! We will truly look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

...so we wound up staying an extra night.

We had such a wonderful experience at The Honor Mansion and the Healdsburg area! It was easily one of the best vacations I've ever had. We booked three nights at The Honor Mansion (in addition to two nights in San Francisco) as a last minute replacement for a Paris trip that got cancelled due to work plans. We totally lucked out with absolutely gorgeous weather (sunny and in the low 60s in December) and I'm so glad I trusted the reviews here on Trip Advisor.

This was our first trip to wine country and the Inn is in the perfect location. With Steve's help, we mapped out itineraries for our time there. The first day we toured the Dry Creek Valley and then returned back to our room to enjoy a couples massage. The second day we toured the Russian River Valley and then kept going to the coast to watch the sunset. We were supposed to go back to San Francisco the next day, but we didn't want to leave. So I asked Amanda if we could stay for one more night, and even offered to move to the smallest room in the Inn, since they had been kind enough to upgrade us to a Vineyard Suite when we arrived (since they weren't full). She offered to let us stay in our Vineyard Suite for just $10 more than the smallest room would have cost us. On our last day there, we decided to drive down to the town of Sonoma. We ran into Cathy after breakfast and she gave us some helpful hints on routes and vineyards, and off we went.

Overall, it was beautiful, it was relaxing and I envy anyone who is heading there anytime soon. Steve, Cathi, Amanda, Hannah and Dani were all awesome. We loved the coffee basket in the morning before breakfast. Since they weren't full, they actually brought our breakfast to our room every morning so we enjoyed breakfast in our robes next to our fireplace. They have thought of pretty much everything. There are umbrellas, a lantern, toiletries, glasses, robes, complimentary wine and anything else you need in your room. There are also amazing amenities outside that we didn't have a chance to take advantage of -- bocci ball, croquet, a pool, a tennis court, a putting green and a basketball court.

I'd recommend the Honor Mansion to anyone who asks, and I'd tell them to take advantage of off-season specials. No crowds and you could luck out with the weather. And even if you have bad weather, the wine still tastes the same (or you could just use it as an excuse to curl up in your room or in a hot bubble bath).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely review. As I have said many, many times, we understand how much of your precious time and effort it takes to write a review and we are humbled by reviews such as this one. All of us enjoyed meeting you both and helping you find your way through our beautiful area. We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves enough to want to come back and we will definitely look forward to your return. Have a wonderful and blessed holiday season!

Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

this place will blow you away
it is cleaner than any hotel ive ever stayed at
ANYTHING YOU WISH the staff will go above and beyond for you
DOGWOOD ROOM was amazing- not the most expensive their but I would book its onethousand times over
AMAZING!
Only thing I would change is longer appitizer time window
GREAT Breakfasts!

Fav Winery was Porter Creek!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review. We truly appreciate your efforts as we think that taking your valuable time to write us a review is definitely “above and beyond” on your part.
We discussed the length of the appetizer and wine hour with the staff and we all feel that at this point we need to keep it from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. to be serving responsibly.
Many thanks for all of your kind words and we do hope to see you again!

Have a wonderful Holiday Season!

Warm regards,
Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Address: 14891 Grove Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Sonoma County's Wine Country, the Honor Mansion sits on four acres of landscaped resort grounds, offering tennis, bocce, croquet, PGA putting and an invigorating lap pool with spa pavilions and sun deck. Another deck surrounding a koi pond provides serenity. This landmark's pristine elegance is reflected by the Fowler's and their professional staff, who provide personal attention to every detail. Full gourmet breakfast buffet with complimentary mimosas each morning, and wine and appetizers each evening. The Inn is surrounded by wineries, golf courses and is within walking distance of the town square's outstanding restaurants and shopping. AAA 4 diamond rated, Michelin Guide recommended. Complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, as well as access to cookies, soda, water, coffee, tea, sherry and other treats available 24 hours a day. Full concierge service available. No resort fees, or any other hidden fees! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honor Mansion, a Wine Country Hotel Healdsburg
Honor Mansion Hotel
Honor Mansion Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort to your Saves list