We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Save
You added Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort to your Saves list
14891 Grove Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

...so we wound up staying an extra night.

We had such a wonderful experience at The Honor Mansion and the Healdsburg area! It was easily one of the best vacations I've ever had. We booked three nights at The Honor Mansion (in addition to two nights in San Francisco) as a last minute replacement for a Paris trip that got cancelled due to work plans. We totally lucked out with absolutely gorgeous weather (sunny and in the low 60s in December) and I'm so glad I trusted the reviews here on Trip Advisor.

This was our first trip to wine country and the Inn is in the perfect location. With Steve's help, we mapped out itineraries for our time there. The first day we toured the Dry Creek Valley and then returned back to our room to enjoy a couples massage. The second day we toured the Russian River Valley and then kept going to the coast to watch the sunset. We were supposed to go back to San Francisco the next day, but we didn't want to leave. So I asked Amanda if we could stay for one more night, and even offered to move to the smallest room in the Inn, since they had been kind enough to upgrade us to a Vineyard Suite when we arrived (since they weren't full). She offered to let us stay in our Vineyard Suite for just $10 more than the smallest room would have cost us. On our last day there, we decided to drive down to the town of Sonoma. We ran into Cathy after breakfast and she gave us some helpful hints on routes and vineyards, and off we went.

Overall, it was beautiful, it was relaxing and I envy anyone who is heading there anytime soon. Steve, Cathi, Amanda, Hannah and Dani were all awesome. We loved the coffee basket in the morning before breakfast. Since they weren't full, they actually brought our breakfast to our room every morning so we enjoyed breakfast in our robes next to our fireplace. They have thought of pretty much everything. There are umbrellas, a lantern, toiletries, glasses, robes, complimentary wine and anything else you need in your room. There are also amazing amenities outside that we didn't have a chance to take advantage of -- bocci ball, croquet, a pool, a tennis court, a putting green and a basketball court.

I'd recommend the Honor Mansion to anyone who asks, and I'd tell them to take advantage of off-season specials. No crowds and you could luck out with the weather. And even if you have bad weather, the wine still tastes the same (or you could just use it as an excuse to curl up in your room or in a hot bubble bath).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely review. As I have said many, many times, we understand how much of your precious time and effort it takes to write a review and we are humbled by reviews such as this one. All of us enjoyed meeting you both and helping you find your way through our beautiful area. We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves enough to want to come back and we will definitely look forward to your return. Have a wonderful and blessed holiday season!

Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    23
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
451
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

this place will blow you away
it is cleaner than any hotel ive ever stayed at
ANYTHING YOU WISH the staff will go above and beyond for you
DOGWOOD ROOM was amazing- not the most expensive their but I would book its onethousand times over
AMAZING!
Only thing I would change is longer appitizer time window
GREAT Breakfasts!

Fav Winery was Porter Creek!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review. We truly appreciate your efforts as we think that taking your valuable time to write us a review is definitely “above and beyond” on your part.
We discussed the length of the appetizer and wine hour with the staff and we all feel that at this point we need to keep it from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. to be serving responsibly.
Many thanks for all of your kind words and we do hope to see you again!

Have a wonderful Holiday Season!

Warm regards,
Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here in late October and couldn't have been more pleased with our experience. The location is great - less than 5 minutes to the square. The staff is out of this world! One thing to note, if you are a Celiac or have a gluten intolerance, this is the place for you. My husband was accommodated at every turn - including fresh baked GF chocolate chip cookies (which were OUTRAGEOUSLY good). The room was lovely and spacious, with out own private patio. We absolutely plan on staying here again soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you were “pleased with your experience” at Honor Mansion. It was great to meet you both and we wish you the best with your new life together! Have a wonderful Holiday Season.
Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I kicked off our honeymoon at the Honor Mansion and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. We stayed in Vineyard Suite 1. The attention to detail was over the top and made us never want to leave the room. The daily coffee basket was something I have never seen done before, and was the perfect way to start the morning. Breakfast was incredible and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It was all of the luxury of a bed and breakfast with the privacy of a vacation home. Our only regret is that we stayed for only two nights.

Room Tip: The vineyard suites had individual parking spots and lots of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thanks so much for you lovely review, we appreciate you taking the time. We were “honored” to host you for your honeymoon and are glad you had such a good time. Perhaps we will see you in the future celebrating an anniversary? Have a wonderful Holiday Season!
Warm regards,

Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed at Vineyard IV suite this past weekend and had a marvelous experience!! The room was impeccable with tons of special little touches. There is an outdoor spa bathtub that calls your name every night. The staff is amazing and tremendously helpful in planning your stay. Highly recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Loved the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We are so pleased that you had a “marvelous experience”. We do hope you will return soon! Have a wonderful Holiday Season.

Warm regards,
Steve, Cathi & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I brought my fiancé to the Honor Mansion to celebrate our engagement in November after having such a wonderful time on our first stay in June. On both occasions, Steve and Cathi and the whole staff went above and beyond to make our time special.

The house has great character. The grounds are immaculate (yay for Bocce!) The rooms are unique, beautiful and romantic. Everything is done the right way.

Breakfast is always top notch, and Steve's daily guidance helped us find great small wineries we would have surely missed otherwise (Zichichi for Zin, Hawkes for Cab-both great.)

Can't recommend Steve and Honor Mansion enough!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for the Honor Mansion. We are thrilled that your engagement went well. It was fun to host you and we wish you all the best with your future. Hopefully we will see you again sometime!
Warm regards,
Steve, Cathi and the Honor Mansion staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We recently spent 3 nights at Honor Mansion and it was fabulous. The room was well-appointed and the bathroom, though small, was perfectly adequate. Everything was very clean and comfortable (not worn, like some B&Bs), the staff was amazing, the breakfasts and snacks were fabulous, etc. I could go on and on but everyone else has already said it! Book here...you won't regret it. And Steve, thanks so much for the winery recommendations and for booking our driver. You made the two days we had to spend there everything we could have hoped for and we would have been lost without your help!

Room Tip: I'd be surprised if there's a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodieldy, Owner at Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I truly appreciate you taking the precious time to write a review for the Honor Mansion. I’m glad that my suggestions were helpful. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we do hope to see you again soon!
Warm regards,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort

Address: 14891 Grove Street, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Sonoma County's Wine Country, the Honor Mansion sits on four acres of landscaped resort grounds, offering tennis, bocce, croquet, PGA putting and an invigorating lap pool with spa pavilions and sun deck. Another deck surrounding a koi pond provides serenity. This landmark's pristine elegance is reflected by the Fowler's and their professional staff, who provide personal attention to every detail. Full gourmet breakfast buffet with complimentary mimosas each morning, and wine and appetizers each evening. The Inn is surrounded by wineries, golf courses and is within walking distance of the town square's outstanding restaurants and shopping. AAA 4 diamond rated, Michelin Guide recommended. Complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival, as well as access to cookies, soda, water, coffee, tea, sherry and other treats available 24 hours a day. Full concierge service available. No resort fees, or any other hidden fees! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honor Mansion, a Wine Country Hotel Healdsburg
Honor Mansion Hotel
Honor Mansion Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.