We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L & M Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L & M Motel
70 Healdsburg Avenue, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Healdsburg
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Fantastic Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This review is long over due. Our family of four stumbled upon the L&M Motel having totally failed to plan for our vacation in Healdsburg. What luck. The room was clean, the swimming pool and hot tub were rustic and cozy and the hotel had an old school charm that today is very tough to find! The owner provided amazing tips on the local wine/vineyard and dining scene and served freshly baked scones, fruit coffee and juice every morning. We plan on returning to the L&M Motel on our next visit to Healdsburg!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    33
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
55
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We understandably wanted to be withing walking distance of Healdsburg's many wine-tasting venues but were shocked at the $240 - $450 per night prices at hotels around the main square. Thanks to the Chamber of Commerce and other Trip Advisor reviews, we tried the L&M Motel, located a comfortable 1/2 mile walk from town center (there is also a public bus but we like to walk). Originally owned by her grandparents, the current owner took over 5 years ago and has been upgrading the property ever since. It is an old stylesingle story motel lodge where you park right in front of your room. The owner has remodeled approximately half of the 19 rooms and we were delighted with the pleasant palate of colors, scrupulous cleanliness, small kitchenette, very comfortable bed and bedding, flat screen TV, Wifi. Fresh flowers were in the room from the lovely gardens surrounding the motel, tended by the owner and her mother. Breakfast is available in the office: coffee, tea, juice, oatmeal, and delicious mixed berry scones. There is a pool but we didn't use it. For $90 per night, we were delighted.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We came upon L&M by accident a few years ago and just fell in love with the place. The owners work hard to keep the place up and make your stay a good one. It is now a destination for us. We go to stay at L&M while enjoying the area's fantastic antique stores. Beautiful rooms, marshmallow roasting area, gardens, pool area and the best scones in Nor-Cal. If you like old school, the owners have kept this older motor court up wonderfully. Just makes us happy to wake up there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel/motel for an extended weekend while attending a wedding in Healdsburg. Very clean, quiet, with nice shaded outdoor seating. Breakfast offerings were simple, but delicious. And, the price was right. I would go back...

Room Tip: Our room (#5) had a nice kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

What trumps everything at the L&M is their fantastic service. The location is about 10min walk to town and requires walking along fairly busy streets. Rooms are modestly small and WiFi is slow. However if you spend the majority if your day exploring, then these are minor drawbacks. Access to fantastic cycling routes is easy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is the place we usually stay when in Healdsburg. Owners Kim (Mom) and Wanda (dtr) really put their hearts into this place. When we were leaving, they were working on building some raised garden beds, putting on an arbor, and stringing lights in the trees. There are brightly painted tables and chairs on the lawn, and around a small firepit. Nice to sit and have your coffee and scones in the morning, and enjoy some of your wine and food purchases in the evening. Rooms are fairly small, super clean, and include a fridge to chill your white wine. High thread-count sheets are oh so nice. But you shouldn't be hanging in your room except to sleep.Get out there and enjoy wine country and the grounds of the L&M!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

PROS: Really cute, cozy motel right off the freeway, very close (walking distance) to downtown Healdsburg so the location is perfect. Very nice staff, free homemade mixed berry scones, hard boiled eggs, coffee, tea and juice available every morning. Beds- SO COMFY! Honestly I could have slept in them forever. Room is clean, well-appointed, really cute. Easy, free parking.

CONS: WiFi is spotty, slow, and if you ask the front desk for help they just really don't have any idea what to do. "I don't really use a computer," was the response I got, which is a bit mind boggling in this day and age! Since I was here on business, it was imperative I have a decent WiFi connection. Cable TV also goes in and out, with a "we sense a disruption in service" screen showing up every 2-5 minutes, depending on the time of day. NO water pressure in the shower- one day it was so-so; another it was literally a trickle, making shampooing a challenge.

I'd stay here again but hope they work on the water pressure (only in the shower- sink was fine) issue, cable and WiFi. The unpredictability of those things is a bit worrisome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L & M Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L & M Motel

Address: 70 Healdsburg Avenue, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Healdsburg
Also Known As:
l And m Motel
l & m Hotel Healdsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L & M Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added L & M Motel to your Saves list