We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Family-owned gem at an exceptional price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L & M Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L & M Motel
Save
You added L & M Motel to your Saves list
70 Healdsburg Avenue, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Healdsburg
NYC
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A Family-owned gem at an exceptional price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We understandably wanted to be withing walking distance of Healdsburg's many wine-tasting venues but were shocked at the $240 - $450 per night prices at hotels around the main square. Thanks to the Chamber of Commerce and other Trip Advisor reviews, we tried the L&M Motel, located a comfortable 1/2 mile walk from town center (there is also a public bus but we like to walk). Originally owned by her grandparents, the current owner took over 5 years ago and has been upgrading the property ever since. It is an old stylesingle story motel lodge where you park right in front of your room. The owner has remodeled approximately half of the 19 rooms and we were delighted with the pleasant palate of colors, scrupulous cleanliness, small kitchenette, very comfortable bed and bedding, flat screen TV, Wifi. Fresh flowers were in the room from the lovely gardens surrounding the motel, tended by the owner and her mother. Breakfast is available in the office: coffee, tea, juice, oatmeal, and delicious mixed berry scones. There is a pool but we didn't use it. For $90 per night, we were delighted.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    34
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
61
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Citrus Heights, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We came upon L&M by accident a few years ago and just fell in love with the place. The owners work hard to keep the place up and make your stay a good one. It is now a destination for us. We go to stay at L&M while enjoying the area's fantastic antique stores. Beautiful rooms, marshmallow roasting area, gardens, pool area and the best scones in Nor-Cal. If you like old school, the owners have kept this older motor court up wonderfully. Just makes us happy to wake up there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel/motel for an extended weekend while attending a wedding in Healdsburg. Very clean, quiet, with nice shaded outdoor seating. Breakfast offerings were simple, but delicious. And, the price was right. I would go back...

Room Tip: Our room (#5) had a nice kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

What trumps everything at the L&M is their fantastic service. The location is about 10min walk to town and requires walking along fairly busy streets. Rooms are modestly small and WiFi is slow. However if you spend the majority if your day exploring, then these are minor drawbacks. Access to fantastic cycling routes is easy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is the place we usually stay when in Healdsburg. Owners Kim (Mom) and Wanda (dtr) really put their hearts into this place. When we were leaving, they were working on building some raised garden beds, putting on an arbor, and stringing lights in the trees. There are brightly painted tables and chairs on the lawn, and around a small firepit. Nice to sit and have your coffee and scones in the morning, and enjoy some of your wine and food purchases in the evening. Rooms are fairly small, super clean, and include a fridge to chill your white wine. High thread-count sheets are oh so nice. But you shouldn't be hanging in your room except to sleep.Get out there and enjoy wine country and the grounds of the L&M!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

PROS: Really cute, cozy motel right off the freeway, very close (walking distance) to downtown Healdsburg so the location is perfect. Very nice staff, free homemade mixed berry scones, hard boiled eggs, coffee, tea and juice available every morning. Beds- SO COMFY! Honestly I could have slept in them forever. Room is clean, well-appointed, really cute. Easy, free parking.

CONS: WiFi is spotty, slow, and if you ask the front desk for help they just really don't have any idea what to do. "I don't really use a computer," was the response I got, which is a bit mind boggling in this day and age! Since I was here on business, it was imperative I have a decent WiFi connection. Cable TV also goes in and out, with a "we sense a disruption in service" screen showing up every 2-5 minutes, depending on the time of day. NO water pressure in the shower- one day it was so-so; another it was literally a trickle, making shampooing a challenge.

I'd stay here again but hope they work on the water pressure (only in the shower- sink was fine) issue, cable and WiFi. The unpredictability of those things is a bit worrisome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Right off the freeway and a 10 minute walk to the main town square. The rooms have comfortable beds, nice linens and everything is clean and completely updated. Also a nice touch to have coffee, bananas, boiled eggs and delicious homemade scones in the morning! Thanks for the extra touch of fresh flowers in our room. I'd like to come back with a group of friends and enjoy smores around the firepit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L & M Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L & M Motel

Address: 70 Healdsburg Avenue, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Healdsburg
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
l & m Hotel Healdsburg
l And m Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L & M Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.