We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FIND LATE AT NIGHT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L & M Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L & M Motel
Save
You added L & M Motel to your Saves list
70 Healdsburg Avenue, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Healdsburg, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT FIND LATE AT NIGHT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

After traveling all day by luck we found this place. The owner was extremely helpful, friendly and anxious to ensure that our stay was comfortable. The room was very clean with "home like" comfort. We walked to town, enjoyed the grounds and had a breakfast with homemade scones. We own a restaurant and know how difficult it can be at times to please people. This place is doing it right!

We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    39
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
66
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Excellent place to stay...walking distance to the plaza, restaurants and wine tasting rooms. The room w/ a kitchenette was very comfortable and clean. And the family that owns/runs the place are as friendly as anyone could want.

We'll be back here for sure...

Room Tip: Stay away from room5 next September because we'll be there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

On Sunday of a 3-day weekend we stopped to see if they had a room. We travel with a dog and didn't expect to find anything. We expected to drive home. They had had a cancellation so we could get a room for 1 night and they welcomed our dog. Kim, the owner/manager was so gracious that we stayed and talked for several minutes. This is not the Ritz but it is spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfast scones were outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

"Camping indoors" is one way to describe L&M. The rooms are small and clean, with fresh flowers on the table and bathroom ledge, with a small fridge too. The only thing crazy was that they said the "soap dispenser" was a 3-in-1, soap, shampoo, and conditioner...I think not, bring your own shampoo!! But the grounds are very pretty and well kept, with lots of sitting areas, and an indoor pool with a nice hot hot spa tub for warming those achy spots. Dogs roam around this pet friendly motel, and continental breakfast includes Kim's special family blueberry scones--ummm ummm. The coffee is hot and fresh, and the staff is friendly and welcoming. And it's walking distance to town, so stumble back after those great wine tastings in the square. You want to stay plush? Many choices in the $300-$500 range...but clean and affordable ($140 King), this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Some rooms are more private than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Late night drive with a need for a room. We stopped and got a room here at the L & M Motel. The room was well maintained, spacious, clean and had a comfortable bed. We had a king bed w/fridge in room (wine glasses too) and a full tub-shower combo. Bathroom had organic soap, and shampoo. Nice closet and storage space for clothing. It's not upscale, but definitely well appointed for a motel and has uniqueness and appeal to it.

Bed had a beautiful quilt and the linens were crisp, comfortable and clean. You know how sometimes you get that dirty motel feeling? Well, this place makes you feel safe, refreshed and clean while staying here.

Property is clean, nice grounds w/ flowers. We only slept here for the night and left at breakfast, but the grounds are warm and inviting if you would want to stay here as a base while wine tasting, I would recommend.

The breakfast scones OH MY delicious.

No iron in room. I didn't ask front desk if they had one to borrow and that would be my only complaint.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Healdsburg is expensive so it was nice to find a cute motel within walking distance of downtown. It looks like a place that could have slipped into seedy neglect but has been rescued by the owners. It was clean, neat, comfy and had beautiful flowers around the grounds. The owners were accomodating and had a nice little breakfast bar with yoghurt, bananas, coffee, juice and outstanding blueberry scones. They have the only indoor pool in Healdsburg but we didn't use it. There are also lawn games and lawn chairs.

Room Tip: All the rooms had parking right at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a (hot) Saturday night in June, 2012. The manager at the front desk was super-friendly and helpful. We had a king bed room. Bed was huge and comfortable, room was clean and cheerful. There was a mini-fridge- no microwave or coffeemaker. Small bathroom with stall shower, sink outside the bathroom. Even though you're near Hwy. 101, you don't hear any traffic noise. Rooms are nice and quiet. Air conditioner works quickly and well. We used the indoor pool and jacuzzi late at night- fun!

Thought we'd miss the coffee maker, but the manager had fresh, good coffee in the front office for free, along with hard-boiled eggs, fruit, and home-made scones, all included in the price of the room.

Downtown is very near by, but the closest restaurant within walking distance is a hamburger joint about a half-block away. Really good burgers and shakes!

Would definitely stay here again, and have recommended it to others. Funky, comfortable, fun, friendly, and inexpensive compared to anyplace in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healdsburg
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dry Creek Inn
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Mars, Relais & Chateaux
0.4 mi away
H2 Hotel
H2 Hotel
#4 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Healdsburg
Hotel Healdsburg
#6 of 9 in Healdsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
0.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Windsor - Sonoma Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L & M Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L & M Motel

Address: 70 Healdsburg Avenue, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Healdsburg
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
l And m Motel
l & m Hotel Healdsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L & M Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.