We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L & M Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Healdsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L & M Motel
Save Saved
You added L & M Motel to your Saves list
70 Healdsburg Avenue, Healdsburg, CA 95448   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Healdsburg
Lafayette, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

On Sunday of a 3-day weekend we stopped to see if they had a room. We travel with a dog and didn't expect to find anything. We expected to drive home. They had had a cancellation so we could get a room for 1 night and they welcomed our dog. Kim, the owner/manager was so gracious that we stayed and talked for several minutes. This is not the Ritz but it is spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfast scones were outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    34
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
57
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

"Camping indoors" is one way to describe L&M. The rooms are small and clean, with fresh flowers on the table and bathroom ledge, with a small fridge too. The only thing crazy was that they said the "soap dispenser" was a 3-in-1, soap, shampoo, and conditioner...I think not, bring your own shampoo!! But the grounds are very pretty and well kept, with lots of sitting areas, and an indoor pool with a nice hot hot spa tub for warming those achy spots. Dogs roam around this pet friendly motel, and continental breakfast includes Kim's special family blueberry scones--ummm ummm. The coffee is hot and fresh, and the staff is friendly and welcoming. And it's walking distance to town, so stumble back after those great wine tastings in the square. You want to stay plush? Many choices in the $300-$500 range...but clean and affordable ($140 King), this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Some rooms are more private than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Late night drive with a need for a room. We stopped and got a room here at the L & M Motel. The room was well maintained, spacious, clean and had a comfortable bed. We had a king bed w/fridge in room (wine glasses too) and a full tub-shower combo. Bathroom had organic soap, and shampoo. Nice closet and storage space for clothing. It's not upscale, but definitely well appointed for a motel and has uniqueness and appeal to it.

Bed had a beautiful quilt and the linens were crisp, comfortable and clean. You know how sometimes you get that dirty motel feeling? Well, this place makes you feel safe, refreshed and clean while staying here.

Property is clean, nice grounds w/ flowers. We only slept here for the night and left at breakfast, but the grounds are warm and inviting if you would want to stay here as a base while wine tasting, I would recommend.

The breakfast scones OH MY delicious.

No iron in room. I didn't ask front desk if they had one to borrow and that would be my only complaint.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Healdsburg is expensive so it was nice to find a cute motel within walking distance of downtown. It looks like a place that could have slipped into seedy neglect but has been rescued by the owners. It was clean, neat, comfy and had beautiful flowers around the grounds. The owners were accomodating and had a nice little breakfast bar with yoghurt, bananas, coffee, juice and outstanding blueberry scones. They have the only indoor pool in Healdsburg but we didn't use it. There are also lawn games and lawn chairs.

Room Tip: All the rooms had parking right at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a (hot) Saturday night in June, 2012. The manager at the front desk was super-friendly and helpful. We had a king bed room. Bed was huge and comfortable, room was clean and cheerful. There was a mini-fridge- no microwave or coffeemaker. Small bathroom with stall shower, sink outside the bathroom. Even though you're near Hwy. 101, you don't hear any traffic noise. Rooms are nice and quiet. Air conditioner works quickly and well. We used the indoor pool and jacuzzi late at night- fun!

Thought we'd miss the coffee maker, but the manager had fresh, good coffee in the front office for free, along with hard-boiled eggs, fruit, and home-made scones, all included in the price of the room.

Downtown is very near by, but the closest restaurant within walking distance is a hamburger joint about a half-block away. Really good burgers and shakes!

Would definitely stay here again, and have recommended it to others. Funky, comfortable, fun, friendly, and inexpensive compared to anyplace in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Wonderful service, clean room and dog friendly, what more could you ask for???

Room Tip: If you have a larger sized dog, get the king room, your dog will thank you. Bed was super comfy! Wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were on a 2 day bicycle "credit card" ride. So this was our stop half way on the 100 + mile loop from Stewart's Point down Hwy 1 to the Russian River and then to Healdsburg. This was our overnight stop, before we headed back on Skagg's Springs road back to Stewart's Point. A great cycling loop to be sure with lots of climbing. This was perfect for us. We could easily walk to town to go out and eat. And the next morning their continential breakfast was beyond our expectations. Homemade blueberry scones hot out of the oven and warm hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, and great coffee! We had no need to go anywhere else. Loved the people, the grounds, and the place. Not like the fancy expensive downtown places but totally fine. Who spends that much time in their rooms anyway. The town is a wonderful place to see & explore.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L & M Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L & M Motel

Address: 70 Healdsburg Avenue, Healdsburg, CA 95448
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Healdsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Healdsburg
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
l And m Motel
l & m Hotel Healdsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L & M Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.