We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Pretentious...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gary Farrell Winery

Gary Farrell Winery
10701 Westside Road, Healdsburg, CA 95448
+1 707-473-2909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 123 Activities in Healdsburg
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 30-year pioneer of the Russian River Valley, Gary Farrell Winery offers elegant Pinot Noirs and Chardonnays that epitomize the best of the region. Perched on a hillside with panoramic views of the forested valley below, the tasting room offers a welcoming, off the beaten track retreat. Open 10:30-4:30 daily, customizable experiences, including VIP Tours and Tastings are available by appointment.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A Little Pretentious...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Great reputation for good wines, beautiful views from lodge-like tasting room on the upper hill, however the staff is a little too righteous to make it fun. Would opt for other wineries nearby that are just a good without the big name.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy B, Manager at Gary Farrell Winery, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Wanderllust,
Thank you for investing the time to share feedback on your experience. I never like to hear that we have disappointed a guest , however it is important for me to know where we can improve our guest experience. If you could please share any specific details of your visit so I may share with my team. I would be greatly appreciated.
As thanks for your time, I would like to personally invite you and a friend to come back to the winery to enjoy one of our Signature Terrace Tasting and experience the true Gary Farrell Winery experience.
I look forward to having you join us on your next trip to the Russian River Valley.
Be well,
Andy

Andy Barker
Tasting Room Manager
Gary Farrell Winery
707-473-2906
Andy@garyfarrellwinery.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    20
    13
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Fun Friday afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

While enjoying a fun "Girls Weekend", we stopped here for a little wine tasting. Our wine pouring host was very engaging; we stayed for quite awhile - enjoying delicious wine and good conversation. Loved the view too!

Visited January 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“A lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Known simply as "Gary" in our household, this Russian River winery may possibly have the consistently best wines I've ever had. The property itself is lovely, snugged into the hillside above Westside Road, the enormous bank of picture windows affording sweeping vistas of the valley. There's a relaxed elegance about the tasting room, the employees are extremely knowledgeable and the wines absolutely stellar.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing wine we joined the club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Amazing wine. We joined the club. We had a great visit with a great hostess. The wine continues to flow at our home in Miami.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So much potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The tasting room and terrace are very nice and the wine is excellent. They just don't appear to know how to do a tasting/treat customers. The pours were not even a mouthful - couldn't tell if we would like the wine or not, honestly maybe a teaspoon at that. The staff was new (been there 2 weeks) and consequently, not terribly knowledgeable. His attention was immediately distracted by a boisterous young tasting group that entered while we were there and then and at other times as well. We didn't feel terribly welcome or valued. He told us the young group that had a reservation and was escorted outside for a terrace tasting didn't all show up but that they would have to pay for the number of people they reserved - why did we need to know that? We did buy a bottle of their wine and it was delicious.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy B, Manager at Gary Farrell Winery, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you for your feedback as we take constructive criticism to heart and always strive to do our very best in all areas of our business - from the wines (which we are glad you enjoyed) to our hospitality and beyond.

We wish you had let us know about your experience back in June when you visited, as it is difficult to ascertain what may have happened, and correct it, 7 months later. We did have some new staff around that time as the busy season was kicking off, so we apologize if you did not receive the depth of knowledge and experience you were expecting.

We hope you will give us another chance in the future and we appreciate your continued interest in our wines.

Sincerely,
Stephanie Friedman, Direct Sales Manager
& Andy Barker, Tasting Room Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gary Farrell Winery also viewed

Healdsburg, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Forestville, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to Gary Farrell Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gary Farrell Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.