We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abandoned our reservation after one night” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn of Hayward

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Inn of Hayward to your Saves list
Budget Inn of Hayward
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   21598 Foothill Blvd, Hayward, CA 94541   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hayward B&B and Inns
Grand Forks, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Abandoned our reservation after one night”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We prepaid for this hotel for 2 nights. The room was so poor we ended up abandoning our prepaid room on the second night and moving on. We prepaid this hotel before leaving home so we would have a room for our first 2 nights. Big mistake. The rooms aren't clean, the room smelled very stale and unclean. Even the bedding and pillows smelled stale and with smoke in spite of having a non-smoking room. It is always a hint when you see 2 signs in the lobby warning you that there is no refund after payment! If you do want to try out this hotel, check your room first. Don't prepay as we did. Front desk was friendly and polite but the hotel needs major work on cleaning and refurbishing. For the price there are so many more pleasant places to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    9
    7
    18
See reviews for
8
7
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

we needed a place to sleep whilst driving through, we were lucky to have experienced a quiet, safe, relatively clean place. Yes the bathroom could have been cleaner, towels were stained but washed. It was a short 3min drive to mission ave and the general downtown area A street etc where you can find a few restaurants, italian, japanese, mexican etc, a small shopping area. The bed was relatively comfortable, it had a digital TV. For the one night needed it did the job. I would not recommend this for an extended stay though. they do offer a complimentary breakfast of toast, cereal and bagels with some spreads. tea coffee and juice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This place is so bad that I did not want to take my socks off even in the bathroom. The towels were dirty, paint splatter everywhere, horrible bed and bedding, and staff with an attitude who bluntly lie. You are better off sleeping in your car.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

overall the Inn was comfortable to stay, reasonable priced. One big problem was dust mites...I read reviews and plenty ppl were saying they were getting bitten by bed bugs...I know how to detect and search for bed bugs and found none..

The problem is not Bed Bugs..they're Dust Mites...most cant be seen from the naked eye and are microscopic. I found and fully grown one crawling on my shoulder and immediately knew they were dust mites..

Maybe an ok place to stay for 1 night but make you take an iron or blow dryer (put it on hot), steam iron the bed or blow dry that sucker...and only sleep with the bed sheet....we took off the comforter and the mid liner and just used the bed sheet...

Room Tip: Maybe ok to stay one night only..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed for one night and it did its job. We arrived late at night and stayed for a bit extra on the second night as we were leaving early morning. Prices are like Western prices. Their were no problems were the noise from being in such a busy area and the rooms were nice and comfy and our's smelled of smoke well it's because we booked smoking room so it was understandable  Staff were helpful (especially the women working in the day). If you organize a driver though for a tour make sure they speak English as ours could barely speak few words and so found it tough to know where we wanted to visit. It took him an hour to work out we wanted to go to a mall for some shopping and food the tour of sf are great. Best way is to go through the flyers the hotel has in the lobby there was and sf tour booklet which helped us afterwards for some night seeing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

first i woul dike to say is that this hotel is not as bad as i though it be and it took me about 10-20 minuates to get a room since they were cleaning chekcin time is at 3:00 but was their 10 minautes earlier. the room i got was new and it was really nice.... i dont know how to explain what was nice but was nice. Will come back and stay here again... ther rooms are big and large also a big change i seen many reviews so i wanted to try this place so yea and they charge me a great amount so i was happy

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this Budget inn for one night while driving accross california state. Among all the hotels on our road trip, this was one of the best. We had made reservations online and arrived at the hotel around, shortly after dark. What we immediately noticed was that lobby and breakfast area looked comfortable with chairs and sofas and were nicely lit - other people seemed to feel the same and were sitting there reading magazines. The breakfast area is open and offers complimentary coffee and tea. The front desk clerk was very friendly and already had our express checkin prepared. What we weren't prepared for was her last comment that still sticks in our head: "breakfast at 8" - she was serious, I don't know if it was a special day or if it was because of a university reunion happening that weekend, but they were seriously serving fresh breakfast later that morning, together with fresh coffee. Never seen anything like it. When we got off the third floor the overall impression continued - thick, clean carpets that absorbed all noise. The room was in very good shape, nice thick bed covers, quality looking furniture, TV, comfortable chair, nice deigned furnitre we immediately felt comfortable. Instead of the regular cicled-shaped bathrooms this one had a special touch to it, it was more like a retancle. There were lots of fancy design on carpet, again nice lighting, we really enjoyed it. There are a few restaurants nearby, one is next door, but we decided to drive somewhere else. Locationwise the Budget Inn Motel Hotel is located directly central of the Bay area also close to the airport. making it easy to find. I don't know about the noise levels in the rooms facing the road, we were facing the parking lot and had a very quiet night. The next morning we enjoyed a really good breakfast. Selection was great, an employee was constantly checking if everything was still stocked all the way up to the end of breakfast hours (open until 10AM even during weekdays), the area was sufficiently large so that we found a table (others had returned to the comfortable sofas). Staying here was a very pleasant experience, the staff was great, the property is great, the standard is very high, probably one of the best Budget Inn Motel Hotel I have ever been to. We will gladly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Inn of Hayward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn of Hayward

Address: 21598 Foothill Blvd, Hayward, CA 94541
Location: United States > California > Hayward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hayward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn of Hayward 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Budget Inn of Hayward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn of Hayward, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.