We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne to your Saves list
Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14400 Hindry Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% Off 3 Nights!
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very nice common areas and the staff here are excellent. The rooms are average at this star level and my room was a pretty far walk from the elevators. I wasn't a fan of the decor, but to each his own. The bed and linens were great and I had a good nights sleep. The cleanliness of the rooms were okay overall. The coffee table had quite a bit of stains on it which was a turn off. The location is right off the 405, so there is a lot of highway noise, but the loudness of the air conditioner drowned all that out. I don't mind the white noise, but if you don't like noisy in room air then good luck here. There's a McDonalds, Costco, gas stations and Carls Jr. across the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    147
    42
    15
    11
See reviews for
187
165
22
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HIghlands Ranch
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is beautifully furnished and decorated. The staff went out of their way to be helpful.

For people who are sensitive to smells, this hotel is probably not a good choice for you. The bedding and towels did not smell clean. I won't go into detail, but it wasn't just a musty smell. This affected our sleep, and showering wasn't a good experience. We told the management, and they apologized but did not offer a refund. Maybe they will make changes because of our complaint. We hope so for other people who visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear 587historylover,

Thank you for your review and we genuinely apologize that your stay was not more remarkable. Our team always strives to provide the cleanest possible accommodations to every guest. As what you describe is not up to our very rigorous cleanliness standards, we would have been more than happy to move you to a more suitable room. We do apologize if this was not an option and a more satisfactory resolution was not found. Our housekeeping team has been alerted to the problem and is doing its very best to ensure this does not happen again. Again, I sincerely apologize for this issue, and I hope you will still consider staying with us again in the future.

Thank you,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel! We stayed here a few months ago and did not hesitate to make a second reservation. The staff is attentive and professional. The rooms are well appointed and beautifully maintained. The beds are very comfortable and linens very nice. Public areas are spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated with period antiques and art. Parking is easily accessible and free. When we come to Los Angeles, this is a perfect location from which to access the city and leave the chaos behind at the end of the day. We will definitely come back soon.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms offer access to the beautiful courtyard. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Robert D.,

We were so very honored to have you as our guest recently. Thank you very much for the kindly worded 5 star review. It is nice to know that you thought your accommodations were well appointed and beautifully maintained, it is truly what we strive for. Thank you for the compliments on the service, parking accessibility, cleanliness, and decor; they are greatly appreciated. We do hope to see you another time in the near future, thank you again.

Sincerely,
Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I wish to than the staff of the hotel for going beyond in their efforts to make our Women' Retreat weekend a most enjoyable stay! I especially want to mention Christina Montoya, and the names of the staff who tokes so diligently in the dining and breakfast area. I especially want to thank Nestor, Gilberto, Fabian and Jose Lavida. Our weekend was one of lasting memories and we appreciate your hotel and all of your employees!! We traveled from Las Vegas where we have fine hotels only to ind another "fine" hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It was my birthday weekend and I wanted to get away from my local surroundings; so off to Manhattan Beach. The hotel was gorgeous, almost like stepping back in time. The room was spacious and the king size bed was very comfortable. The decor was extremely beautiful and breathtaking. Also, the staff was friendly and helpful. I can't wait until I have a few days off so I can return again. I look forward to visiting other Ayres Hotels throughout southern California. As far as the breakfast it was good; I just wish they had an omelet bar and pancakes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We liked the finish of the hotel - nice paintings and elegance. The bed was great - we are very particular on bed quality as both have back issues . Bed was nice and firm and nice sheets.
Only issue we had was that the free included breakfast advertised online had been discontinued Oct1st. We were offered a 20% off coupon instead. Breakfast at the hotel was really good - great service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Andrew S.,

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest this October. We are grateful for the kind review and truly appreciate your compliments of the decor of our hotel. It is nice to see that you particularly enjoyed your Ayres Dream Sleeper Mattress. Our sincerest apologies that there was a communication issue with the promised complimentary breakfast, but we are glad to see that you enjoyed it regardless. We do hope you will come visit again soon and thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Right from the start of walking in the door you are in awe of this hotel. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly. The décor is outstanding and fresh. Our room was huge with a divided sitting area and clean with a fridge and microware. We have travelled 7 weeks around USA staying in various hotels and this would have to be one of the best. It was a plus to have an in house restaurant with great food at reasonable prices with excellent bar staff. The only disappointment is the hotel is not close enough to the fantastic Manhattan Beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Sharon M.,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your recent experience at our hotel. We were so pleased to welcome you all the way from Australia! Thank you very much for your compliments on our service and accommodations, they are greatly appreciated. We are especially glad that you enjoyed our on site restaurant. We are sorry that our location was not of your expectations but do hope that our shuttle to the Manhattan Beach pier would make up for it. We do hope that when you are in the USA again that you will chose us for your destination! Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Address: 14400 Hindry Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX. Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers,microwaves, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, microwaves, and hairdryers. Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Manhattan Beach, CA has to offer. Dine at the acclaimed Matisse Restaurant, located in the hotel, which offers American cuisine infused with rich European flavors while taking in the luxurious ambiance of the hotel, including an incredible split staircase. Go out and experience the beach life while riding the South Bay Bicycle Trail starting nearby at Manhattan Beach, trailing all along the coast to beach cities like Venice Beach and Santa Monica. And you'll be glad to know that Los Angeles International Airport is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel Hawthorne Manhattan Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.