We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel had a character .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Save Saved
You added Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14400 Hindry Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off 3 Nights!
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Hawthorne
GreenLeadersGold level
Oakville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Hotel had a character .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights on a business trip , good location and the staff is very friendly.

Cons. No airport shuttle service.

Overall the hotel is a great place to stay highly recommend if budget suits
Avg rates are in the higher side.

Kenneth

Room Tip: Use the top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    125
    36
    15
    10
See reviews for
170
141
16
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Segundo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We are a global sourcing advisory firm and have all of our visitors/consultants stay at the Manhattan Beach location. The level of service, beauty of the hotel and professionalism is always consistent and has been beyond our expectations.

We are never disappointed! Vicky and the Ayres team are amazing!

Thank you,

Avasant Team

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Beautiful lobby and rooms, very quiet and free parking; what's not to like. The free parking is important, especially being 5 minutes from LAX airport. The only negative was the shower head water pressure-to weak for us. Breakfast was excellent and included for free. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We selected a courtyard room to eliminate any outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Ayres at Manhattan Beach was excellent for our two night stay. Beautiful lobby, restaurant and room accomodations and beyond the call of duty (of most of the) staff. We couldn't have had a more enjoyable stay. Clean and quiet - so quiet we almost forgot to get up in time for the wonderful complimentary breakfast that included everything we needed to start our day (except for herbal/decaf tea). Felt like pampered royalty and will look forward to coming back to Ayres in the future! The downside of this location was the rate being too high - it's a great place inside but it's in a very seedy area that I wouldn't feel comfortable walking around in after dark. Also, not close enough to any real nice restaurants that you could walk to. There is several fast food places nearby though. Front desk staff was 95% fantastic, restaurant/breakfast staff not all that friendly or helpful. Didn't know if we were going to be served or if it was serve ourselves at tables covered with paper "table cloths" that weren't replaced when guests left.

Room Tip: Rooms surrounding the courtyard are quieter and more romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The reviews are right great staff friendly and helpful. Nice large rooms with a mini fridge. Close to the highway but little to no noise. Supermarket close by. Costco across the street. Only negatives i can think of is the small tv but who caress, breakfast is eggs bacon cereal and fruit nothing fancy and if you want anything else you have to pay but pretty average breakfast for a Rees one at a hotel. Lots of airline folks here

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very clean and cosy. Manhattan Beach is only a few minutes away. The hotel is conveniently close to the freeway. Plenty of shops and restaurants just across the street. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast was a big plus (although I'm not quite sure if it is included with all packages). Ample parking, free of charge. They provide a complimentary shuttle within three miles of the hotel, which can be useful, although we didn't get to take advantage of it. The room was very well equipped: microwave, fridge, coffee maker, a nice flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi... Pretty much everything you need. The patio is very nice, and the pool (albeit tiny) was a nice addition to our stay, along with the jacuzzi. Overall, a very pleasant and completely trouble-free experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe two queen room on the 3rd floor, which more than sufficed for our family of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Hotel is in a strange location (facing 405, across the street from Costco and a bunch of big box stores). I plunked extra for a courtyard-facing room to avoid looking out over industrial wasteland (or worse, the highway). Pool was too small to be servicable (and was in the courtyard, so everyone could look at you).

This is a good business hotel. Every floor has coin-op laundry in the vending area. Breakfast was included every day in our room rate. Free wi-fi. Free parking. Microwaves in every room, and an empty mini-fridge that you can stock yourself (great for families with nursing children).

But it's listed as a 4* here, and it's a very good 2.5* hotel in my book because:

The bath fixtures were mostly plastic. The bathroom was a strange size. The toiletries were meh (hate the shampoo-conditioner combos). The real kicker was that the AC unit was a through the wall (under the window) unit, which is really noisy and doesn't really have great temperature control. If it was hot, I would have been seriously annoyed, but we visited in the winter, so the room never got above 75 when we turned off the AC for the night.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the courtyard-facing rooms. Otherwise, you will face either a gas station, the freewa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Address: 14400 Hindry Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX. Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers,microwaves, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, microwaves, and hairdryers. Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Manhattan Beach, CA has to offer. Dine at the acclaimed Matisse Restaurant, located in the hotel, which offers American cuisine infused with rich European flavors while taking in the luxurious ambiance of the hotel, including an incredible split staircase. Go out and experience the beach life while riding the South Bay Bicycle Trail starting nearby at Manhattan Beach, trailing all along the coast to beach cities like Venice Beach and Santa Monica. And you'll be glad to know that Los Angeles International Airport is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Milestone Internet Marketing, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel Hawthorne Manhattan Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.