We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A French Chateau in LA LA Land” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne to your Saves list
Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14400 Hindry Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off 3 Nights!
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
GreenLeadersGold level
Whidbey Island, WA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A French Chateau in LA LA Land”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This delightful hotel is like a French Chateau with lovely rooms and excellent customer service. The rooms are large and have beautiful furnishings with imported fabrics. The hotel has an excellent restaurant and a wonderful breakfast buffet that comes with the rooms. There is a pool and whirlpool and meeting rooms. There is easy access to the 405 and nearby malls and stores. Parking is ample and free and it's close to Manhatten Beach and LAX.

Room Tip: The second floor is easy to access and a rooms to the West have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    139
    39
    15
    10
See reviews for
182
152
18
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Not wanting to drive back home from a New Year's Eve party, my husband and I spent Dec. 31 to Jan 1 at this sweet, little hotel. The staff is quite lovely. Given that we were leaving on New Year's Day after a party, I asked for a 1pm check-out and it was no problem. The room was nicely decorated in an old-world European style. The bed was big and soft. The linens were very comfortable. The drapes were a bit hard to close and the hotel should think of changing to a pull cord at the side next to the wall instead of the pull rods attached to the ends of the curtains.

The ceilings were extremely high, making the room feel bigger than it was. There was a slight problem that the people above us. They were apparently hiding an elephant in their room and it was making a pounding noise when it walked. Also, we overlooked the courtyard, but being on the ground floor, there wasn't a view. Next time, I will request a higher floor.

The hotel was still decked out for Christmas, and it looked very pretty with a well decorated tree, ponsettias, and lights around the grounds.

There is a warm and inviting sitting area in the lobby next to a fireplace. The courtyard houses a pool and jacuzzi, as well as a nice sitting area (for when Los Angeles is a bit warmer).

The hotel should really get 3.5 stars as it is above average but "very" good is going a little far. And here's why----

1. We recieved a complimentary breakfast with our reservation which was very nice. The restaurant's food is above average--this was one of the few times the eggs from a buffet were not soggy, HOWEVER, it was New Year's Day and breakfast was being served from 6am to 9:30am. We just came from a late party, and others may have as well. To have to get up at 8:30 am on New Year's Day to make breakfast was now a chore and not a perk. They should consider extending the hours for breakfast on a day after a holiday. This hotel serves many airline crews and I understand people have to leave early--so just extend the breakfast hours, or allow guests on a special morning to opt for room service and add only a small service charge so the breakfast is still included in the room price and not extra.

2. The tub/toilet is in a separate room from the sink. Yet, the sink is where the toiletries were located. So, what happens after you stumble out of bed too early in the morning on New Year's Day in order to make your complimentary breakfast? You go into the shower and you don't think to take anything with you. There was more than enough room in the bathroom to put a little table with soap, shampoo, etc., on it, OR just put them on the lip of the tub--which is where the floor mat was located.

It's the little details that make a hotel really go from 3 to more stars.

All in all, it was a nice stay, at a good price. I would recommend this hotel to friends from out-of-town, and I would stay there again if I had an early flight out of LAX as it is very close.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Veronica -

It was a pleasure welcoming you over the recent holiday. Thank you so much for taking a chance on us and giving us the opportunity to show you that a stay with us can be comfortable. I am so pleased that you found the Christmas decor inviting and your room generally acceptable aside from the curtain "rods" which are used in place of cords for maintenance reasons. I also appreciate your comments for improvements to our amenities and will review these with the appropriate members of our team.

We appreciate your review and look forward to your next visit.

Safe travels,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unsnobbish Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a 1 day lay-over in LosAngeles on our way home from Fiji. We chose this hotel based primarily on the fantastic reviews that it had received from my fellow TripAdvisor Reviewers. This hotel will not disappoint! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They have raised the bar for us as far as hotel service goes. The decor is amazing. It feels like you have arrived in an entirely different country... in an entirely different time. Breathtaking! The rooms are beautiful, well appointed and totally immaculate. We took advantage of the outdoor, heated (80 degrees) pool and hot tub as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a hotel that is very close to LAX; very close to Manhattan and Hermosa Beach; and very close to making you feel like you have arrived at an opulent and historic hotel in Europe. Spend a few extra dollars and treat yourself to an amazing experience. This is definitely a "must-do" on your travel bucket list.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear thewayrealpeopleare -

Wow! What a very kind review. Thank you so much for choosing us for your layover and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are absolutely humbled by your choice of words and thrilled you found your stay so exceptional. I am especially pleased that you found the decor so inviting as the Ayres family spent a great deal of time to make sure the ambiance of the hotel was absolutely perfect. We are so grateful for your recommendation and hope your travels bring you to the area again soon.

Sincerely,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We loved the room and the decor of the hotel. It was so beautiful. The staff were always so friendly and helpful. The restaurant was delicious and the man that waited on us was so extremely attentive and had a wonderful sense of humor while maintaining professionalism. I would totally stay here again as well as recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: Book through hotels.com for cheaper rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The whole family loved this place because it came with two large beds and it has a partition between the beds. Its not across the room, but it is bed length so my husband and I felt a tiny bit of privacy which is nice. The room was spacious and clean. I like that part a lot. I would stay here again that is for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I just love everything about this hotel. Now that I've discovered it, I wouldn't stay anywhere else while in Southern Cal. This European style hotel is comfortable in so many ways, including the friendly and courteous staff, the comfortable guest room with pillow top bed and a wonderful full complimentary buffet breakfast. And to top it off the location can’t be beat – just off the 405 it's 5 minutes from LAX, Manhattan Beach and a ton of restaurants and shops. It really and truly is a home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A very comfortable stay at the Ayres. The staff are fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble. Lots of great restuarants just along the road. Very quiet rooms and lots of space. Try Paul Martins / PF Changs and Flemings along the road. 15 mins from LAX and $20 in taxi.

Room Tip: ask for the best available on check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Address: 14400 Hindry Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX. Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers,microwaves, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, microwaves, and hairdryers. Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Manhattan Beach, CA has to offer. Dine at the acclaimed Matisse Restaurant, located in the hotel, which offers American cuisine infused with rich European flavors while taking in the luxurious ambiance of the hotel, including an incredible split staircase. Go out and experience the beach life while riding the South Bay Bicycle Trail starting nearby at Manhattan Beach, trailing all along the coast to beach cities like Venice Beach and Santa Monica. And you'll be glad to know that Los Angeles International Airport is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel Hawthorne Manhattan Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.