We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Elegant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Save Saved
You added Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14400 Hindry Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off 3 Nights!
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Hawthorne
GreenLeadersGold level
Tehachapi, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Super Elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The whole family loved this place because it came with two large beds and it has a partition between the beds. Its not across the room, but it is bed length so my husband and I felt a tiny bit of privacy which is nice. The room was spacious and clean. I like that part a lot. I would stay here again that is for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    387
    126
    36
    15
    10
See reviews for
170
141
16
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I just love everything about this hotel. Now that I've discovered it, I wouldn't stay anywhere else while in Southern Cal. This European style hotel is comfortable in so many ways, including the friendly and courteous staff, the comfortable guest room with pillow top bed and a wonderful full complimentary buffet breakfast. And to top it off the location can’t be beat – just off the 405 it's 5 minutes from LAX, Manhattan Beach and a ton of restaurants and shops. It really and truly is a home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A very comfortable stay at the Ayres. The staff are fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble. Lots of great restuarants just along the road. Very quiet rooms and lots of space. Try Paul Martins / PF Changs and Flemings along the road. 15 mins from LAX and $20 in taxi.

Room Tip: ask for the best available on check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had our Holiday Party nearby, so we choose this property. So glad we did… Accommodations were Excellent.
Full breakfast in the morning with homemade waffles & pancakes, bacon , sausage, eggs etc...
Thank you for your attention to detail

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

After a hard day dealing with traffic around LA, just pop off the 405 and you are home at your castle! This place lives up to its reputation. I am especially sensitive to noise and couldn't believe how quiet the room was; I didn't even have to run the air handling to muffle the sound. Convenient to shopping, quiet, immaculately clean, frig and coffee maker, convenient to the 405, friendly staff, great food, OK breakfast, you don't have to pay for parking and the wi-fi was free. What more could you ask for! It's a solid 5 in my book and I travel a lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Paula_in_Cincy -

It was such a pleasure welcoming you as our guest. Thank you for your positive review and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Solid fives are what we strive for, so it's always wonderful to hear we have made a guest's stay so remarkable. Hopefully next time you will have the opportunity to try Matisse, our on-site restaurant. We are grateful for your review and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It was as described, nondescript from the outside and beautiful on the inside. The staff were nice, friendly and professional. The taxi from the airport cost $20 plus tip, there is no shuttle.
I paid for a room with courtyard access but was given room 229 which is the room possibly the furthest from the courtyard, nice room but not what I paid for. I did ask to be moved and although the receptionist I dealt with was nice, there was not a room with courtyard available. I was not offered a refund, but we were given 1 complementary drink in the restaurant.
I put a lot of effort into picking out accommodation and like to get what I pay for.
The area was as described, not bad with some shopping and Starbucks across the street.
The restaurant was nice and we did eat there. Michael with the nice voice looked after us well
Hope this helps

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear WorldTravellerUs -

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel and for choosing us for your visit. While I am pleased you found the decor inviting and staff helpful, I do apologize if the room type requested was not available. Though not guaranteed, we do our utmost to ensure each guest is given the desired room type. Every once in a while, our occupancy does not allow for this and I am sorry if this was the case when you visited. We hope this experience has not soured you on our hotel and that we will be able to welcome you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Loved this hotel! Has a cool Mediterranean feel to it. Very classy lobby. The staff is extremely friendly, and very knowledgeable of the surrounding area. The rooms are large with a seating area. The bathrooms are generous in size. Good breakfast included.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear multigman -

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. Thank you so much for choosing us for your visit and for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers. I am thrilled you found every aspect of the hotel comfortable and hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Address: 14400 Hindry Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX. Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers,microwaves, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, microwaves, and hairdryers. Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Manhattan Beach, CA has to offer. Dine at the acclaimed Matisse Restaurant, located in the hotel, which offers American cuisine infused with rich European flavors while taking in the luxurious ambiance of the hotel, including an incredible split staircase. Go out and experience the beach life while riding the South Bay Bicycle Trail starting nearby at Manhattan Beach, trailing all along the coast to beach cities like Venice Beach and Santa Monica. And you'll be glad to know that Los Angeles International Airport is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Milestone Internet Marketing, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel Hawthorne Manhattan Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.