We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ayres Hotel ROCKS... Very Nice Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Save Saved
You added Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14400 Hindry Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off 3 Nights!
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Hawthorne
GreenLeadersGold level
San Juan Capistrano, California, United States
2 reviews
“Ayres Hotel ROCKS... Very Nice Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had our Holiday Party nearby, so we choose this property. So glad we did… Accommodations were Excellent.
Full breakfast in the morning with homemade waffles & pancakes, bacon , sausage, eggs etc...
Thank you for your attention to detail

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    125
    36
    15
    10
See reviews for
168
141
16
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

After a hard day dealing with traffic around LA, just pop off the 405 and you are home at your castle! This place lives up to its reputation. I am especially sensitive to noise and couldn't believe how quiet the room was; I didn't even have to run the air handling to muffle the sound. Convenient to shopping, quiet, immaculately clean, frig and coffee maker, convenient to the 405, friendly staff, great food, OK breakfast, you don't have to pay for parking and the wi-fi was free. What more could you ask for! It's a solid 5 in my book and I travel a lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Paula_in_Cincy -

It was such a pleasure welcoming you as our guest. Thank you for your positive review and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Solid fives are what we strive for, so it's always wonderful to hear we have made a guest's stay so remarkable. Hopefully next time you will have the opportunity to try Matisse, our on-site restaurant. We are grateful for your review and hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It was as described, nondescript from the outside and beautiful on the inside. The staff were nice, friendly and professional. The taxi from the airport cost $20 plus tip, there is no shuttle.
I paid for a room with courtyard access but was given room 229 which is the room possibly the furthest from the courtyard, nice room but not what I paid for. I did ask to be moved and although the receptionist I dealt with was nice, there was not a room with courtyard available. I was not offered a refund, but we were given 1 complementary drink in the restaurant.
I put a lot of effort into picking out accommodation and like to get what I pay for.
The area was as described, not bad with some shopping and Starbucks across the street.
The restaurant was nice and we did eat there. Michael with the nice voice looked after us well
Hope this helps

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear WorldTravellerUs -

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel and for choosing us for your visit. While I am pleased you found the decor inviting and staff helpful, I do apologize if the room type requested was not available. Though not guaranteed, we do our utmost to ensure each guest is given the desired room type. Every once in a while, our occupancy does not allow for this and I am sorry if this was the case when you visited. We hope this experience has not soured you on our hotel and that we will be able to welcome you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Loved this hotel! Has a cool Mediterranean feel to it. Very classy lobby. The staff is extremely friendly, and very knowledgeable of the surrounding area. The rooms are large with a seating area. The bathrooms are generous in size. Good breakfast included.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear multigman -

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. Thank you so much for choosing us for your visit and for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers. I am thrilled you found every aspect of the hotel comfortable and hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I have paid as much as $500 to stay in a hotel like this, excellent value and exactly as described, the restaurant is excellent and I highly recommend the hotel. The rooms are very well appointed and spacious

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear benplat -

Thank you so much for your review and for choosing our hotel for your stay. To know we are on par with much pricier hotels is such a compliment and we are grateful for the comparison. How wonderful to learn you were able to dine at Matisse as well! We appreciate your recommendation and hope your travels bring you to the area again very soon.

Sincerely,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

What makes this hotel great is it's staff. They are very friendly, helpful and make you feel welcome and at home. I stay here often and I am always impressed with the amenities and friendly service provided every time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear AutoNation1 -

What really makes this hotel great are our guests! Thank you so much for your continues patronage and for your very kind words. We are always honored to have you as our guest and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Dave Lagarce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel is like staying at a renaissance manor. It is beautifully designed and decorated. The staff is very courteous and welcoming. The hotel restaurant menu is moderately priced with great choices. The hotel is conveniently located right off the 405 freeway which was great for my commute to work. I was here on business but it would also be a nice place for a romantic get-a-way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Address: 14400 Hindry Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX. Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers,microwaves, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, microwaves, and hairdryers. Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Manhattan Beach, CA has to offer. Dine at the acclaimed Matisse Restaurant, located in the hotel, which offers American cuisine infused with rich European flavors while taking in the luxurious ambiance of the hotel, including an incredible split staircase. Go out and experience the beach life while riding the South Bay Bicycle Trail starting nearby at Manhattan Beach, trailing all along the coast to beach cities like Venice Beach and Santa Monica. And you'll be glad to know that Los Angeles International Airport is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel Hawthorne Manhattan Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.