We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for a wedding reception...now we discovered this gem of a chain!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne to your Saves list
Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14400 Hindry Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off 3 Nights!
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
GreenLeadersGold level
san francisco, ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stayed here for a wedding reception...now we discovered this gem of a chain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

My family stayed here for 3 nights to attend my sister's wedding (their reception was held at this hotel). I have not heard of Ayres hotel before but the pictures gave promise. We were quite happy with our stay! We had the room with the King bed (which we shared with our 3 yo) and it was spacious (it had a living area). The bathroom (which I am particular about) was clean and to my satisfaction. Others have complained about courtyard noise (pool area) and it was not a problem for us (we were directly adjacent to the pool, 3rd floor).

We had some room key problems but the staff were really helpful and courteous.

The Matisse restaurant served the breakfasts and we were delighted by the selection! They are also a great place to eat (the rehearsal dinner was held there, and all was yummy!). The chocolate souffle was superb (perfect for the chocolate lover!)

The hotel is very tastefully decorated (hence a lot of wedding photos were taken here). We went to Disneyland for a day after the wedding to make it worth the long drive for my little girl and it was a good place to retire to at the end of 2 exhausting days.

Great value! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    135
    38
    15
    10
See reviews for
177
146
17
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We loved our overnight stay. The hotel is very warming and inviting and they are great with kids. Nice friendly staff and a great breakfast. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I spent our one year wedding anniversary at Ayres. Although we only stayed one night in the hotel, we were upgraded to a courtyard view room (no charge), without even asking. The front desk staff was very friendly, greeting us every time we came into the front doors. Although the hotel is in a busy area and is rather small, it was close to shops, gas stations, Costco, and several restaurants. We actually ate dinner at a nearby restaurant (Flemings) which was also nice. Overall, our experience in this hotel was very positive (clean rooms, well decorated, European feel, complimentary buffet breakfast, free wifi, free cable, spacious bathroom, spacious tub, and even included a sofa and coffee table, mini-fridge, and vanity area). My husband and I definitely recommend this hotel!

PS There is a pool and jacuzzi in the courtyard but it was too cold for swimming this time of year.

Room Tip: Rooms within the courtyard are probably quieter as they don't face the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We spent 5 nights in this hotel. Although it looks old, it is quite up-to-date. Rooms are large, nicely decorated and have microwave and refrigerator. The food is excellent! We have no negative comments.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the atrium. Less outside noise, at least during our visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This hotel is about a 10 min drive from LAX, and is absolutely gorgeous inside. The architecture and furnishings will make you feel like you're a guest at someone's 19th century mansion. The actual rooms are very comfortable, as well. The hotel is neighbored by several stores and restaurants (Costco, Staples, Bed Bath Beyond, Chipotle, McDonald's, etc.), and there's a train station a couple of miles away (walking distance).

Though the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, my only complaint is that some of the staff could not answer basic tourist questions (how far is LA, where's the train station, how do I get to a certain place, etc.). Also, the hotel is about a 30 min drive from downtown LA, so if you don't have a car you will be spending a lot of money on transportation.

Overall, it was a really nice stay and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room away from the highway. Although the windows are sound proof, you can still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford,CT
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights as part of a Rose Parade tour. Beds were comfy and the hotel is very quiet. The lobby and staircase are beautiful. Ian was always pleasant. The room even comes with a microwave and a small refrigerator and free internet. I highly recommend this hotel. BTW, Luigi's, which is practically next door, was very good and excellent service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I travel a half dozen times each year for both business and pleasure around the world and this is going to be my first ever review on Trip Advisor. I am not a picky traveler, but at the same time it is not easy to prompt me to write a positive review.

We stayed for 1 night during our last night from a week long Disney family vacation. This is the first time we stayed at a Ayres property and was extremely impressed from check in to check out. Our decision to stay here was to be close to LAX for our next day flight back home. While other hotels closer to LAX charge up to $23/ day for parking, Ayres offers free parking, free breakfast and free in room wifi. That is everything we needed! Upon check in, we were all impressed with the warm welcoming lobby with fireplace next to couches where one can really relax at. The nicely decorated Christmas tree and the overall decoration makes one feel very warm and welcomed. The hotel staff greets you every time you walk into the hotel which makes you feel welcomed but at the same time feeling safe. The hotel is situated across the street from McDonalds (opens 24hr) ,Carl's Jr. (24hr on Th, Fri,Sat), and there is Costco where we got some smoothies for our kids and inexpensive gas for the rental car for next day return. We also found out that getting to the rental car return was just straight down from the hotel without having to get on any freeways and worry about getting stuck in traffic. It took exactly 12 minutes to get from the hotel to the rental car return. It is also a short drive to the Manhattan Beach from the Hotel. Breakfast comes with 3 hot items, eggs, sausage and hot cakes besides the normal continental breakfast items. They also have fresh fruits. There are many hotels that offer free breakfast without hot food, so if anyone is complaining of lack of hot food selection, you need to stay at the Four Seasons. Also, I must also point out that the guest rooms are designed with a great deal of thoughts with desk area for laptops, extra outlets for cell phone charges, and separate area for making coffee with a full size refrigerator and microwave. The divider between our 2 queen beds was unique and provided the needed privacy while our kids find it amusing to open the vertical blind up and peek through it in the morning.

Room Tip: Double queen rooms have a divider between beds that provides some privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne

Address: 14400 Hindry Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and elegance of a European-inspired boutique hotel await you at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX. Whether you’re here for a short business visit or a long, relaxing retreat, you’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach/LAX are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers,microwaves, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, microwaves, and hairdryers. Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach welcomes travelers to all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions Manhattan Beach, CA has to offer. Dine at the acclaimed Matisse Restaurant, located in the hotel, which offers American cuisine infused with rich European flavors while taking in the luxurious ambiance of the hotel, including an incredible split staircase. Go out and experience the beach life while riding the South Bay Bicycle Trail starting nearby at Manhattan Beach, trailing all along the coast to beach cities like Venice Beach and Santa Monica. And you'll be glad to know that Los Angeles International Airport is just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel Hawthorne Manhattan Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Hotel Manhattan Beach / Hawthorne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.