We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14620 Aviation Boulevard, Hawthorne, CA 90250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Hawthorne
Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were not at this hotel very long. Checked in later in the evening. Room was very spacious with a separate living room/kitchenette area that was nice. Best bathroom that we had on our whole trip. Sink was outside toilet area. Shower/toilet area was huge. Staff was friendly. Pool and hot tub were nice, hot tub was very hot. Breakfast area was very good size and a lot of options to suit everyone's hunger. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for the positive review of your experience at the SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach. We are glad that you were completely satisfied with the amenities at the property and the friendly staff. We look forward to serving you again on your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    135
    66
    15
    13
See reviews for
103
61
22
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you need a place to rest and clean one this will do. Justin was very nice at the front desk. I have worked 10 years in hospitality and to be quite honest the front desk needs a little boost of knowing how to make people feel welcome. Some of the girls that worked during the day and evening - lacked looking up when people would walk in and greet them. Their computer screen I guess or whatever they did was more important. Not that they didn't answer questions or nice - they just lacked that extra something to make you feel welcomed. And those that know real hospitality know what I mean. In any case, upon my arrival two elevators only one worked. So if you are on top floor - you had a nice wait especially when housekeeping was working. Few days later it was "fixed" ... I experienced some weird moments after it was supposedly good to go. So, I don't know if that was tweaked and taken care of later or after my departure. Breakfast was decent, they lack variety. It's the same thing pretty much Monday - Friday and weekends they do bring out a waffle maker. It is in a convenient location - you have many stores restaurants to choose from. So, you are thankfully not STUCK eating their breakfast daily. Only thing that was filthy were the windows at the top floors - it was full of muck dirt etc outside and hard to see out. Housekeeping staff were friendly. Overall it was an OK place to stay though. I wouldn't put it at the top of my places to stay if ever in the area - but if I had no other choices I would stay here.

Room Tip: Request lower floors in case of elevator issues. Call ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Rafaela,

Thank you for the detailed review of your experience and for recognizing Justin at the Front Desk. As a hospitality professional, we appreciate your feedback on the interaction with the staff. It’s extremely important that we always stop what we are doing and look up from our computer screens while assisting our guests. We will use your feedback as a training opportunity to further reinforce these standards with our entire staff. Please accept our apologies for the challenge with the elevator. We are glad to hear that the issue was addressed and the car was returned to service during your stay. We will continue to monitor to make sure it’s in good working condition. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We left an expensive electronic device in the room and didn't realize it until 48 hours later. When we called, they had "logged it", and fedex'd it back to us at home, another 48 hours later. We congratulate the management - you have a great, honest staff.

Room Tip: Next time I would ask for a high floor, to avoid early morning noise of breakfast traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Janet,

Thanks for taking the time to recognize the efforts of our staff to return your lost item. We are glad that the lost and found process worked as it was designed and you were reunited with your valuable electronic device. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Best regards,

Scott Hausknecht
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The hotel staff were very friendly and understandable. I arrived at the hotel few hours before the check-in time, and the staff was very friendly, and managed to get a room cleaned and made available to check-in within a hour of my arrival. The hotel was very clean and dont have anything to complain.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing the positive comments about your visit to the SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach. We are glad that we were able to accommodate your early check-in request and you found the staff friendly and the hotel clean. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on future stays. Thank you for choosing Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Location is convenient to LAX and to the surrounding Manhattan Beach area. Just minutes from bustling Sepulveda Blvd with its restaurants and shopping. Room was clean enough.

I asked for a high floor room facing north (away from the tracks) and away from the elevator. I got a room about two floors from the top and only three away from the elevator, even though there were a good dozen+ rooms further in. I did face north and didn't experience any street noise aside from the occasional car locking up with a short horn blast.

The hotel must have been about 50-60% capacity (based on parking lot fullness at 7 am), so again not sure why I couldn't get a room further from the elevator (and I'm Silver elite which isn't great but it's something). Also not sure why they had to pack in the guests all next to each other (all of the units next to me and across from me were filled) when the hotel clearly had more space. I heard very clearly the conversations, bodily noises, door slams, and most of the movements on the bed of the room adjacent to me. Poor construction and poor assigning of rooms, in my opinion.

As many have stated, the elevators are awfully awfully slow, so take the stairs at either end of the hall.

Maybe this was an off-week for the property, but it sure didn't attract the highest level of guests the weekend I stayed. There were middle-aged men already fully drunk at 5 in the afternoon, holding beers in the elevators telling very crude jokes, and the elevator reeked of alcohol throughout the evening. I know the hotel can't filter out these guests in advance, so it just shows you what kinds of guests frequent here. Also, a lot of rough looking guests overall, many drinking and smoking around the property. Definitely not my usual Marriott experience. Fork over the money and stay in one of the nicer hotels on Century Blvd closer to LAX, the clientele are classier.

Breakfast was well stocked at 8 am on a Saturday and the dining area was surprisingly full of guests - I guess mostly tourists up early to explore the city. The turkey sausage patty looked very disturbingly grey/brown/dried up look/texture so I avoided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of you experience at the SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach. We are glad that you found our location to be clean and convenient to LAX and the surrounding area. Please accept our apologies that we were not able to get your room in the exact location of your preference. We do our best to block these requests in advance based on availability. While the parking area may have not been full, this is not always a good indicator of the hotels occupancy as many of our guests do not drive to the property and we have more than enough parking to accommodate the entire hotel. It’s unfortunate that other guests in the hotel diminished from your overall experience. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future to address any issues that may be negatively impacting your overall satisfaction. Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott as a Silver Elite Member. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel room was a good room or suite as they call it. Good AC on the room area but hot in the living room area. Staff not that friendly but do their job. When it came to breakfast it was a complete nightmare. They have a very small breakfast area with lines getting to the reception area and a tiny cabinet to display the food. By the time you make it to the food the plates and bowls are empty. It took the employees over10 minutes to replenish the food and the line still growing. Then no place to eat your breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for the review of your experience at the SpringHill Suites. We appreciate the comments you shared as it helps us to make improvements to the services we provide. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced at breakfast. While we can’t control the times that everyone comes down to the breakfast area, we try to anticipate when our peak times will be according to the occupancy of the hotel. During these peak times, we make every attempt to keep the food replenished to help keep the lines to a minimum. In addition, we recognize that the seating available in the breakfast area is not enough to accommodate everyone during our peak times. We have trained our staff to use alternate areas like our meeting rooms and even outside by the pool area when this happens. We apologize if these options were not made available to you on this visit. Thank you again for sharing your experience and helping us to make improvements. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our overall stay was pleasant. Here are the pros/cons in my opinion...
Pro:
Location
Room size
Cleanliness
Amenities

Cons:
Elevator
Breakfast Mob

The location is great, not too far from the beach, great shopping and restaurants. The room size was good, it gives you a that little extra space to help you not feel so cramped. The housekeeping was well maintained, and the amenities were beneficial.
However, the elevators were VERY slow. There were always people waiting in line downstairs (main floor) to go up. Also, the breakfast selection were pretty good, but the amount of people down there was overwhelming. I know the hotel can not control how many people come down to eat, but perhaps they can redesign the breakfast area to make it more accessible, when it is busy.

I would consider staying here when I visit again, if the price is right. We got a pretty good deal.

Room Tip: You don't need to stay on a high floor, there is nothing much to see around the property. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for the review of the property. We are glad that the pros outweighed the cons during your stay and you felt like the hotel was a good value for your experience. We are always looking for ways to better service the guest demand for elevators and breakfast especially during busy times. We will continue to look at options for redesign when these opportunities are available. Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne

Address: 14620 Aviation Boulevard, Hawthorne, CA 90250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne Hotel Hawthorne
Springhill Suites Hawthorne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.