We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Car was vandalized in parking lot” 1 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14620 Aviation Boulevard, Hawthorne, CA 90250 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Henderson, NV
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Car was vandalized in parking lot”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our car was vandalized in their parking lot (emblem was taken from the front grill and the front grill may have been damaged in the process). Did not notice at first since we did not look at the front of the car. When we called to report it, we learned there is no security of any kind there - not even a surveillance camera that might've provided some evidence for the police. Staff person we spoke with didn't seem to care - not so much as an "I'm sorry that happened to you at our hotel" - nice. Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your experience at the SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. The property is equipped with video surveillance; however, all cameras are located inside the hotel. It is not common in the industry to have video surveillance coverage in the parking area. Additionally, the hotel does contract with an outside security company to patrol the entire property to include the parking areas. It’s unfortunate that they were not able to assist in your circumstance. Please let us know if we can be of assistance with filing a report with the police department or a claim with your insurance company for your vehicle. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    135
    71
    22
    18
See reviews for
116
69
24
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I came to this property as my normal hotel (Residence Inn - LAX/El Segundo) was way out of per diem. I can tell you that I was a little dubious of this property at first but I was pleasantly surprised that I was wrong. I had to catch an early flight into LAX and I stopped at the hotel around 10am figuring I could just use the WiFi in the lobby to get some work accomplished. When I stopped at the desk to let them know I was there I was told that my room was ready and that they had met my requests as a Marriott Rewards member! The woman at the front desk (Lesley?) was courteous, friendly, and professional. She gave me the run down on the property the times from breakfast and recognized that I am a rewards member. I've been to JW Marriott's that didn't do that.

The room was extremely clean if somewhat dated (the small table in my room was really rickety). I had a room on the fifth floor (530). The WiFi sign-on was easy the only drawback was that it was slow. There is a small kitchen area with a microwave, sink and fridge which is nice as I tend to not eat out too much. Proximity to the businesses I was visiting was excellent with no more than 10 min to my appointments and there is also shopping right across the street if you are missing something or for something to do in your off time.

Overall I would have to rate this property as one I would be happy to return to in the future when my travels take me back to the LA area. I can see why they got a Trip Adviser award.

Room Tip: Rooms on either side of the hotel are rather quiet. I've rad some reviews regarding the train de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for the positive review of the SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach. We are very happy that we exceeded your expectations on this visit and you found an acceptable alternative to the Residence Inn. We appreciate the positive comments that you shared about Lesley at the Front Desk. We will be sure to recognize her for her efforts. Please let us know if we can assist with future reservations. Thank you for your loyalty to the Marriott Brands and for acknowledging our TripAdvisor award. Our entire staff worked very hard to achieve this award and we are proud of this achievement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We got bumped from our flight at LAX, so we didn't get to the hotel till after midnight. The night clerk at the front desk was the nicest, and fastest person I've met. The room was clean and large, but only average in decor and comfort. We only had one problem. Since we were so late getting in, we didn't wake until 8:45, Immediately got dressed and went downstairs for our "free full breakfast" and everything was already put away. I feel jiped to pay nearly $200 for a room worth only $90, and not even get bkfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the property and the nice comments you shared regarding the Front Desk staff and the hotel. I apologize that you were not able to get down in time to enjoy the complimentary breakfast in the morning. We recently updated our menu and the feedback on the new breakfast items has been very positive from our guests. For reference, our breakfast hours are 6 am to 9 am Monday – Friday and 7 am to 10 am Saturday & Sunday. In most circumstances, our staff is able to be flexible and keep some of the food items out past the scheduled closing time as long as it does not slow the clean up process of the breakfast area. I apologize if this was not made available to you on this visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

After a 6 hour flight with a 4 year old boy the greeting and check in I was given by Justin Tardo was exactly what anyone would wish for. Room was fresh with all the amenities I could ask for, comfy beds, free wifi with easy sign in, fridge, microwave etc. Breakfast each morning was very good with a very friendly staff. Room clean up schedule worked perfectly for us. Pool time was fun as was the 24 hour access to the gym. All in all when business or pleasure bring me back to the Hawthorne area there is no doubt that I will be looking forward to staying at the SpringHill Suites. Thank you to all of the staff there who made our stay all the more pleasurable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of you experience at the SpringHill Suites. We are glad that you were completely satisfied with your experience and the service received from Justin and the staff. We will make sure your comments are shared in support of our service strategy at the hotel. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

When we first arrived they had no record of our reservation at all. Luckily I had a paper copy of our booking through Allegiant and they hurriedly inputted it in to their system. Good thing there were still rooms available!

The room itself was quite large and included a separate sitting area, desk and fridge/microwave. However, there was no door between the washroom sink area and the sleeping area, and our motion sensor light by the sink was malfunctioning and waking up my husband repeatedly during the night. After we complained they sent staff to fix it but the same thing happened again the second night. We complained again and asked for a refund for one night, which was refused because we had a third party booking. The Manager spoke to us and offered us Marriot points - when we got home we found out they were worth a single movie ticket admission! That's it. The rest of the staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly but the Manager didn't seem to care at all and his version of compensation clearly reflects that. We will never stay here again due to the poor customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laxhw, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of you experience at the SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. Since you booked your reservation through a 3rd party such as Allegiant, there is an additional step in the reservation process. The booking request goes directly to Allegiant and they must contact us to create the reservation based on the terms of their agreement with the hotel. Once they contact us with the request, we must build the reservation in our system. This can cause a slight delay for our staff to see the reservation in our system due to this extra step in the reservation process. I apologize if this was not completed prior to your arrival at the hotel. It’s unfortunate that we were not able to correct your issue with the bathroom motion sensor light after you first reported it to the Front Desk. An Engineer was dispatched to the room and he made an adjustment that appeared at the time to have fixed the issue. We do show that 7,500 Marriott Rewards points were awarded to your account for the inconvenience. At the time of your stay, this was equivalent to the amount of points needed for ½ of a room night stay at the property. While we do not recall an agreement for enough points for a full night reimbursement, we have added an additional 7,500 Marriott Rewards points today to increase the total to 15,000 points and enough for a full night credit for you inconvenience. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the years and not disappointed this time.

Rooms are clean and spacious and suit us for our needs. Less expensive than most LA hotels, with free WiFi, parking and breakfast. Easy access to the 405 and walking distance to shops and restaurants (safe are to walk about with crosswalks and sidewalks).

New washer and dyers help as there are now 2 of each so means less waiting for laundry.

Breakfast can be a free for all and we did skip it a few times as unfortunately some other guests do not have respect for anyone but themselves.

We did have to complain about noisy guests next to us a few times, but hotel staff were happy to help.

Check in was quick and so was check out we had no issues with housekeeping even when we left late a couple of days - our room was still serviced. We requested a high floor and we got one, in fact 5th floor, but we asked for the 6th which is the top to avoid any noise for above and this was no problem.

A big thanks to all staff for a lovely, relaxing stay. Especially Jason who remembered us from last time.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Had 3 nights stay here in August and was very comfortable.
Loved Manhattan beach and it being so near by car...
OK'ish breakfast - not a massive selection.
But overall rooms are nice and clean with all you need in them, fridges etc...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Address: 14620 Aviation Boulevard, Hawthorne, CA 90250 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne)
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites hotel in Hawthorne, California offers stylish, airy decor and thoughtful amenities set in an ideal location minutes from Manhattan Beach, Los Angeles and LAX Airport. The hotel near Manhattan Beach features a reimagined lobby with comfortable spaces, making it easy to hold impromptu meetings and connect with our free Wi-Fi. The Hawthorne, California hotel's spacious suites have also been enhanced to better meet your needs. New furniture, flat screen TVs, and bedding complement the suite's unexpected luxuries including a mini-fridge, wet bar and microwave. Airy beds with luxurious linens and piles of pillows make our hotel suites in Hawthorne feel like home. Enjoy our complimentary new, hot, and healthy breakfast with fresh choices for a customized start to your day. Choose from eggs with local salsa to oatmeal complete with a toppings bar for variety. Perfect family friendly hotel or great for wedding guest accommodations. Studio and one-bedroom suites will suit your needs. At SpringHill Suites, experience a refreshing economy all-suite hotel near Redondo Beach, CA and near El Segundo, CA with style and space, beautifully priced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Manhattan Beach - Hawthorne Hotel Hawthorne
Springhill Suites Hawthorne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.