We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a hotel by its paint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorne Plaza Inn

Save Saved
You added Hawthorne Plaza Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorne Plaza Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   12043 Hawthorne Blvd, Hawthorne, CA 90250   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hawthorne B&B and Inns
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't judge a hotel by its paint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The outside of the hotel isn't in the best of conditions. It's in a neighborhood that's not exactly a tourist attraction but the hotel is definitely a gem. The rooms are clean and the staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. We checked in after midnight and they were still there to check us in. They also moved one of their cars so we could have a place to park. The towels are small and the shower head is pretty low, but it's clean and comes with a microwave, fridge, and wifi included. Within walking distance of several fast food places, small restaurants, and an Albertsons. A great deal and much cheaper than trying to stay near LAX.

Room Tip: Try for a second floor room. We could occasionally hear people walking around above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
7
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groveland, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The room itself was fine. Your typical low cost motel type experience. Beds were clean, private bathroom, mini fridge with microwave was a plus. Tv available. One pet peeve was the shower head was so far down that I had to bend a little to wash my hair, and I'm only 5'7". Stayed here for a long weekend, price was good. Can't rate the service really because we denied service... Wasn't comfortable with anyone going into our room.... Very sketchy area. Wouldn't go out walking alone.... But to stay in for a few nights if you're traveling during the day to LA or the beaches nearby it isn't too bad.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The only good thing about this Motel was it was clean with the exception of the mini frig and it had alot of places to eat and shop near by and the neighborhood was not bad ; The staff was rude and not helpful had requested that a light bulb be replace and was told that I would have to come down to the office and get it and replace it myself, asked for extra towels and was ignored ( thank god I happen to pack my own ). I also did not like the fact that the Office was basically outside( you had to ring a bell at an outside counter). You get what you pay for would not stay here ever again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Got this hotel for cheap off priceline. I honestly thought when i first got there like what a bad neighborhood but after my first day it's not so bad.Staff was nice. our toilet wouldn't flush n we notified the staff right away n when we came back they had fixed it. Although we found hair in the fridge which i found disgusting but it's perfect to just get ur rest n get ready....

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before flying from lax. First thing i noticed was that it was not in a particularly great neigborhood. The "we are not responsible for damages and vehicle break ins" did not make me feel any better about the location....but after staying the night i do think its a relatively safe neighborhood. That being said, its not like you wanna go to the neighborhood restaurant (not that i saw any). Free parking and the super cheap price definitely make it a worthwhile option. However, if you wouldn't stay at a motel 6, i doubt you would want to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, Wyoming
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very clean room and in good repair. Microfridge, carpeting looks new. Nice fluffy but firm pillows. This was a great deal for the LA area. As a woman traveling alone I felt safe, even after dark. This is perfect for travelers looking for a simple room as I only want a safe, clean place to sleep at a reasonable price. Don't look here it you want lots of amenities. This is not that hotel, but for value travelers, I highly recommend!! The only bad thing is that the sound-proofing is not very good. Had a room right by the stairs and could hear people walking and down them, could hear a couple arguing in, I think, the room next door, but not sure. This, however is why I travel with ear plugs. Folks at the window were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
230 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

i stayed here for 5 days. i was concerned when i drove into the lot- the motel is very small and nondescript and is not impressive-looking from the outside. so i expected to see a rundown room but was surprised by how nice the room was. it was very large and clean with a microwave and fridge and a flat screen tv with 80 cable channels.the matching cherry wood furniture was nice as was the matching curtains and wallpaper. the bathroom was not as clean and not as new. the bed and pillows were great.
godd cheap shopping in the area- gas station, grocery store, 99 cent store, laundromat all within 2 blocks.
very good price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawthorne Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Plaza Inn

Address: 12043 Hawthorne Blvd, Hawthorne, CA 90250
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hawthorne Plaza Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hawthorne Plaza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Plaza Hotel Hawthorne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorne Plaza Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.