We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grate value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11500 Acacia Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Piscataway, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“grate value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

This is a great place to stay. I travel a lot for my job; been to many hotels. This hotel, I'd say, has a 2-3 star quality, with an extremely reasonable price. Clean. Relatively new. Quite. Free breakfast.. In addition to the usual stuff, like coffee maker, free internet etc. it has full size refrigerator, microwave and stove. Only complain is parking: its garage is about half a block away. But it's not a major inconvenience. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    236
    45
    11
    8
See reviews for
163
144
49
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wodonga, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

It all began with the complimentary shuttle from LAX - prompt and friendly driver had us to the hotel in minutes. Efficient, helpful staff behind the desk upon arrival. The rooms were quite large and spotlessly clean and best of all QUIET, no traffic noise at all, nor from neighbouring rooms. Large flat screen TV and free wireless internet in the room (invaluable). Nice complimentary breakfast. Very good location. Close to the airport (but very little aircraft noise). Short walk to the railway station (green line) which connects to the blue line and will quickly take you into central LA or down to Long Beach (very nice - Queen Mary etc etc). Close to restaurants (great one within walking distance called "Homestyle Buffet" which provides an all you can eat feast). Some have stated that the surrounds are dubious. I found no problem at all walking around the area after dark.
I really can't think of anything I wasn't happy about with this hotel. We stayed at about 30 different hotels in various locations in the USA (Australian tourists) and found that this one was the best and about half the cost of many of the others.
We stayed for a couple of nights upon arrival in LA and were so impressed, we returned for a further 4 nights prior to flying back to Australia.
Highly recommended if you're staying in LA.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Near the airport..near major highways...large room...ideal clean place with great breakfast included....small kitchenette..microwave...free parking..definately "great value" for the money.
need a car to get around..about 20 min away from the glamour..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We are frequent travellers. Recently stayed at the Comfort Inn for one week and it was excellent. Very clean, quiet and comfortable rooms. Wireless internet worked like a charm. Gated private parking next door. Very decent continental breakfast included. Surroundig area somewhat shady in the evenening.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

I stayed here on my way home from canada,only one nite.next time back I willbe staying for a week....Shuttle only 10 mins to lax...rooms very clean staff all very nice and helpful. i did stay at the Hilton in Boston and I will rate this motel 5 star against the hilton 3.....do your self a favour,this is the place to stay in l.a..Ive passed this info to many friends who will be soon on their way,now that our dollar is on top.........

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I booked a group of French exchange students here upon arrival to LAX, before LA sightseeing the next day. One of the students even asked for the name of the hotel so that her parents could stay there on their visit. The group rates were great, but actually not much less than the normal nightly rates. The hotel isn't in the best area (most hotels near LAX aren't), but the shuttle service was wonderful. The shuttle came very quickly and they brought 2 vans to accommodate the group. Unfortunately tour buses do not fit down the street that the hotel was on, so the group had to walk to the main street to meet the bus in the morning. The staff was very helpful; the group wanted to eat their In N Out together, so they let us use the breakfast room even though it was closed. I wasn't a big fan of the breakfast, but the group didn't seem to mind it. Parking is a little bit inconvenient as it is not at the hotel itself, but in a structure a couple buildings over, with a code to use. The staff was very friendly in helping us to find our way around when we had to make an emergency Walgreens visit late at night. I'll be back with another group next summer!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Normally you get what you pay for but this time we got so much more than expected. We just needed a quick nights sleep and picked this hotel because of the free shuttle service from the airport and the low price.

All the staff went above and beyond to accomodate every guest. They helped with directions including printing maps to help us get around.

The room looked like a new hotel and was huge. It was very obvious they take pride and care with this hotel. Even the hallway carpets were clean. We didn't use the pool but it was very well maintained also.

We went to breakfast figuring we would just grab something until we could get an actual breakfast but again were very pleasantly surprised. The had scambled eggs, toast, waffles, bagels, danish, fruit, juices and coffee. There was an attendant to assist and to keep things always clean. And when they say breakfast until 9:30, they mean they have breakfast at least that long and they don't run out before. They even make up brown bags of juice, danish and breakfast bar for those needing to checkout before breakfast is served.

We were so impressed that we stayed a second night on our return trip through the area. And if you are staying for several days, there is a full size refridgerator, a microwave and a countertop stove. Any needed supplies, just call the front desk.

GREAT JOB Comfort Inn Hawthorne!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport

Address: 11500 Acacia Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Cockatoo Near LAX Airport is four miles from Los Angeles International Airport and offers free airport shuttle service. This Hawthorne, CA hotel provides easy access to major freeways like the 405 and 105, and is minutes from a number of local points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Hotel Hawthorne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.