We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it made our holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11500 Acacia Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“it made our holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

after spending a week in a basic motel we arrived to the cockatoo. receptionist was very polite, helpful. the double room situated on the 2nd floor was great!!! walked into a very spacious room, kitchenette, with flatscreen tv, coffee maker, fridge freezer. there was a cupboard with space to store 2 suitcases, chest of drawers. were vere so greatful that the room was perfect. clean, spacious, quiet, & relaxing. the bed was very comfortable.there was a multi storey car park only accesable through a coded gate.breakfast time did get very busy so i would suggest gong early or be prepared to wait. we stayed here for 1 week & would defnatly stay again. not far from the airport - free shuttle & near major highways

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    232
    45
    11
    8
See reviews for
161
142
48
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at this hotel and it was the best decision we made. The hotel is not far from the airport and the staff are very good and co-operative. The breakfast is sumptous and fantastic with hot and cold items. The rooms are very clean and big with stove, micro and fridge. Free coffe 24 hours. Parking is free even though it is not attached tot he hotel - the security is on the round at all times - We loved the proximity of this hotel - they have shuttle bus from and to the airport every half hour. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for the price it is a fantastic deal to be found in LA. I would give it a 4 star

Room Tip: All the rooms are facing towards the swimming pool - each room has a balcony with deck chairs - any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear farhana101, We appreciate you allowing us the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel. How wonderful to know that you found service and location convenient for you stay and that our complimentary amenities provided such an exceptional value. Thank you for your review and please consider us the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel. Stayed for four nights. Short distance from the airport and very easy to find. Location isn't the BEST but with the secure parking & attentive staff we felt really safe. The room was very spacious and clean and housekeeping was always right on time. Breakfast was amazing! So much do choose from, hot & cold. There were plenty of restaurants in walking distance and shopping just blocks away. All in all we had a great stay at an unbeatable price and will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Aburris87,
I cannot begin to thank you enough for the kind and generous things you said about your stay and the hotel. Its a good feeling when we are able to satisfy our guests and make their stay enjoyable. Recommending us to friends and family is one of the best compliments we can receive and on behalf of my staff and I, Thank you!!! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our family of 4 adults arriving and departing at different times from LAX stayed here during a recent trip. A little tricky to find, and interesting that you need to walk around the outside pool area to get from the lobby to your inside hallway room, but the hotel itself is in a safe area with secure parking. The room was large with a full size refrigerator and a microwave. Everything nice and clean. It was fairly chilly during our stay, and when we saw others swimming, we thought they must be crazy, but then we felt the water and it was like a giant hot-tub, so we gave it a try, and oh my, it felt great after a long day! Breakfast was basic with a waffler. There is a shuttle to the airport, and there is a guest laundry that is only $1 to wash and $1 to dry. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Judy C,
Thank you for your review. I am very happy that you found the time to enjoy our heated pool. We value your comments and are thankful you took the time to express your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2012

Rooms - Good price, spacious room, full size refrigerator, microwave and even cooking stove (though no cooking utensils provided), decent breakfast provided. Self-service coin operated laundry also available. There are 2 washing machines and 2 dryers. No detergent provided but can be bought from the front desk.

Location - very near LAX but it's in a very quiet street. We didn't feel safe enough to explore the neighbourhood at night.

Front desk staff - the ladies were friendly but the guys looked grouchy and not very helpful.

Negative experience - When checking in, we told the front desk guy we would want to pay cash at the end of the stay. He said he'd still need to authorize the credit card, which we agreed for him to do so. Upon checking out, we found out he in fact had charged the rooms to the credit card and the lady staff then told us actually they do not accept cash payment. So in terms of service, this was a let down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHC-GR, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear WWIlly ,
Thank you for taking the time and writing this review. We are trying our best to make your stay desirable and memorable. Your comments are very important for us and we will definitely use them to improve our service.
Thank you for choosing Comfort Inn Cockatoo in Hawthorne,and we are looking forward for your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukono, Uganda
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at the hotel after an international flight - the rooms were very large and modern with comfortable beds and updated furniture and bath facilities. Service staff were kind and helpful, they allowed us to store some bags in their office. The shuttle drivers were timely and helpful too. But it is a bit farther from the airport than other hotels, and you have to walk a couple blocks to get to fast food, with very limited choices. It's a good value though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIELAXHB, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear DougF
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We relish the opportunity to provide our guests with comfortable guestrooms and accommodating service, so it means a great deal that you found these aspects of your stay so exceptional. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at this property twice between October 30 and November 13, 2012. The Inn is located at the end of a dead end street with almost no lighting. Signage for the property is mimimal, entry is not attractive, reception is uninviting. Access to rooms is through a heavy security door (not easy to manage with luggage) and a walk around a dark, grating-protected pool. In the room I found unironed sheets so it wasn't possible to tell if they were fresh or previously used. Wall controls for the air conditioner, which was on full tilt, didn't work, so I had to resort to unplugging the device from the wall. Bedside phone didn't work and reception was unresponsive to request for assistance. All occupants except myself appeared to be part of Asian, European, or Latino groups. Included breakfast was fine and shuttles to LAX were prompt. Area is a bit dodgy so I would have appreciated desk help on where to find restuarant, etc, since there is no food source on the property except complimentary breakfast, and the only vending machines at the property dispensed soft drinks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIELAXHB, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Nancy698,
Thank you for staying with us and leaving our property a review. We value you as our guest and we are deeply sorry about the issues you experienced at check in. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show you what we have done at a latter time.
Once again, many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport

Address: 11500 Acacia Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Cockatoo Near LAX Airport is four miles from Los Angeles International Airport and offers free airport shuttle service. This Hawthorne, CA hotel provides easy access to major freeways like the 405 and 105, and is minutes from a number of local points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Hotel Hawthorne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.