We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and clean, not best area for food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11500 Acacia Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Mukono, Uganda
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good and clean, not best area for food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at the hotel after an international flight - the rooms were very large and modern with comfortable beds and updated furniture and bath facilities. Service staff were kind and helpful, they allowed us to store some bags in their office. The shuttle drivers were timely and helpful too. But it is a bit farther from the airport than other hotels, and you have to walk a couple blocks to get to fast food, with very limited choices. It's a good value though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIELAXHB, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear DougF
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We relish the opportunity to provide our guests with comfortable guestrooms and accommodating service, so it means a great deal that you found these aspects of your stay so exceptional. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    215
    43
    10
    6
See reviews for
151
135
44
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at this property twice between October 30 and November 13, 2012. The Inn is located at the end of a dead end street with almost no lighting. Signage for the property is mimimal, entry is not attractive, reception is uninviting. Access to rooms is through a heavy security door (not easy to manage with luggage) and a walk around a dark, grating-protected pool. In the room I found unironed sheets so it wasn't possible to tell if they were fresh or previously used. Wall controls for the air conditioner, which was on full tilt, didn't work, so I had to resort to unplugging the device from the wall. Bedside phone didn't work and reception was unresponsive to request for assistance. All occupants except myself appeared to be part of Asian, European, or Latino groups. Included breakfast was fine and shuttles to LAX were prompt. Area is a bit dodgy so I would have appreciated desk help on where to find restuarant, etc, since there is no food source on the property except complimentary breakfast, and the only vending machines at the property dispensed soft drinks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIELAXHB, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Nancy698,
Thank you for staying with us and leaving our property a review. We value you as our guest and we are deeply sorry about the issues you experienced at check in. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show you what we have done at a latter time.
Once again, many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Recently we needed a stopover hotel near LAX for the first and last night of a trip we were taking. This is the one we chose as we have generally been happy with stops at Comfort Inns and this one had a shuttle to and from the airport.
We had to call the hotel on arrival at LAX to request a shuttle . This was no problem. The shuttle arrived promptly and the trip to the hotel was smooth.
Then the issues arose.
The shuttle driver advised us that although there were fast food places nearby it wasn't safe after dark in the streets around the hotel -- MC D was just across the street and we were arriving at 10pm having not eaten iin hours. When we got to the room it seemed fine and clean but within about half an hour of settling down to sleep I became il -- nausea, couldn't breathe.
Next morning I skipped the free breakfast as I was still feeling unwell but others said it was quite good and had variety.
Two weeks later ( Oct 31 Halloween ) we checked in again at the end of our trip during which time I'd felt perfectly fine. Again, a different shuttle driver , talked about how the hotel is just in an area where it is on the cusp of being safe/unsafe at night. We settled in early afternoon after a long flight and we needed sleep. Again after about 30 minutes I was ill again. Around 6 we needed food and the furthest I could walk was the MC D across the street. There was a lady in the carpark of Mc D who was negotiating business that had nothing to do with Halloween. In the restaurant we were approached at our table by a wildeyed and dischevelled character and we felt uncomfortable and left.
Next morning we returned to LAX and I started feeling OK.
Having described my symptoms to a local Dr here the suggestion was that perhaps I'd had a bad reaction to the chemicals used to spray a bed/room for bedbugs.
I don't know but for sure between that and the safety issues we will choose another place next time

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIELAXHB, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear stellajim,
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Security of our guests is very important for us and we are trying to create a safe experience for all of them. Comfort Inn Cockatoo is located near 2 other hotels and there are plenty of staff and other guests present at all times. Please remember there are many food choices such as McDonnalds, El Pollo Loco, Ruby's, KFC and taco bell are in the walking distance.
Your comments are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Hawthorne is struggling. Lots of cheque cashing venues, car yards , quasi industrial.
The Comfort Inn was reasonably clean , nice secure parking, very polite and helpful staff.
Would stay here again.
Comfortable bed.
Complimentary newspaper.
Quite quiet
Only cost $65' a great bargain.

Room Tip: 311 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was my second stay, after my first I knew I would be returning.

This property is super nice, clean and the staff is what one would see at a 4-Star Hilton. Super friendly, answers any questions and always ready to help. The rooms are very nice and so is the location. Close to the 105 and Inglewood Park. LAX is maybe a 10 minute drive from the hotel and there are a few fast food locations close.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpena, MI
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were totally surprised how nice and clean this hotel was. Then, when we went into our room were were impressed with how clean and spacious and modern the room was. We spent one night before our cruise and then one night after the cruise and we did not dread going back to it. After the cruise we did not have a car and we had to walk to a restaurant and we were not bothered at all. I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again if I had to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was amazed with the very spacious, clean and modern room this hotel has. This is not the cheapest place in the LAX area, but if you want a comfortable hotel with full amenities in the room, you found the right place! The rooms have full size fridge, kitchen sink, stove, bathtub, digital ar-condition controller, lots of tv channels, LCD TV, iron, iron board, etc. This hotel is in a very quiet area and also has a private parking lot building with a passcode to get in! I felt very safe in this hotel. I really RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIELAXHB, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear MakotoNet, Thanks for choosing our hotel for your accommodation near LAX. We really appreciate your nice review. In addition to spacious and clean rooms please remember to use our complimentary 24 hour shuttle free Wi-Fi and outdoor heated pool.
We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport

Address: 11500 Acacia Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Cockatoo Near LAX Airport is four miles from Los Angeles International Airport and offers free airport shuttle service. This Hawthorne, CA hotel provides easy access to major freeways like the 405 and 105, and is minutes from a number of local points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Hotel Hawthorne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;