We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11500 Acacia Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
92 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel does not look it, but it's a diamond in the rough. The area some say is "bad" but it's not very bad at all and is pretty decent, just don't be dumb.

The staff was excellent at the hotel and the only complaint I have is the design of the hotel, but that's about it. The rooms are excellent, bed is super comfy and they have decent wifi speeds (when working, it died on me when I checked in). I asked about the wifi, and they already had a call into their support. By the time I returned from getting food (about 10 minutes), everything was up and running.

The parking is in a neighboring garage, which is nice and secure and shared with another local hotel. The hotel also uses the new RFID keys, so no sliding the room key and hoping it's coded. Just a swap near the door and the lock unlocks. I WILL return to this hotel on my next visit to SoCal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    263
    54
    13
    9
See reviews for
179
161
54
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just tried to make a reservation and requested Hotel and Parking program. After getting confirmation, I told the reservation agent that I will be flying out the next day and returning the following week. I wanted to find out what the charge was for 1 extra day of parking. I was told that the Park and Fly program has been cancelled. Apparently she thought I was talking about parking for the night of stay. Parking is $15/day. Reservation was immediately cancelled.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIELAXHB, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we do not have park and fly package in our hotel any more due to high occupancy. But, you can use our parking structure for a minimal parking fee. Please remember that we have complimentary parking for all guests.
Thank you for your consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at this hotel, it's very close to the airport and car rental! The room was super clean and free parking in the garage was very convenient! Room has a kitchenette with microwave, fridge, stove, coffee maker but unfortunately no silverware or dishes, except for plastic and foam cups. Some reviews say the area is sketchy, but I didn't feel that it was at all. There's a lot of people in LA, so there are lots of people walking in the area, but there's nothing sketchy about that! I had seen security around the area of the hotel, but the hotel itself is quiet! I didn't get up early enough to try breakfast, but it was also included! Hotel staff were nice and welcoming! I would def stay here again if I'm in the area!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIELAXHB, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your nice review. There is nothing better than reading all these excellent reviews about our hotel.
We are looking forward for your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Room was a good size and clean. Elevator bumped as it arrived on ground floor and carpet in elevator area/hallway looked somewhat worn, but other than that, my stay was great. Breakfast was crowded but then again it's near LAX so that didn't surprise me. I would stay again...pretty nice place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIELAXHB, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear of your satisfaction. Your feedback about the elevator will be forwarded to our maintenance team. We are looking forward for your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Good place to stay for layover waiting for plane. Big rooms and quiet and. Clean. 10 min from car rental return. Reasonably priced.area around a little sketchy but there is a secure garage lot for your car . There a few hotels in the immediate area is ok

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have a great night in this hotel. It close to the airport, room is huge. Event the place around the hotel was not secure but the hotel was very safe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Missed my flight out of LAX so based on reviews decided to stay at this hotel.
The shuttle picked me up and after a short ride we got to the hotel.
The room was big and clean. The bathroom is big and was also clean. The bed was comfortable.
My tv remote did not work properly, but it was replaced and everything was fine after that.
The location, ( closed to the airport), the breakfast in the morning, tthe service, the overall cleanliness and the price, make this hotel a top pick for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport

Address: 11500 Acacia Avenue, Hawthorne, CA 90250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hawthorne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hawthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Cockatoo Near LAX Airport is four miles from Los Angeles International Airport and offers free airport shuttle service. This Hawthorne, CA hotel provides easy access to major freeways like the 405 and 105, and is minutes from a number of local points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Hotel Hawthorne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.