We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Filet Mignon in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matisse Restaurant

Matisse Restaurant
14400 Hindry Ave, Hawthorne, CA 90250
+1 310-536-0807
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 115 Restaurants in Hawthorne
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Matisse Restaurant in Manhattan Beach offers delicious American cuisine infused with rich European flavor. Breakfast, lunch or dinner. The diverse menus will fill your day with freshness, tickle your palate and satisfy your fine tastes with quality.The culinary talents of Corporate Executive Chef Sherie DiBernardo coupled with the Culinary Group's management expertise have made Matisse a premier restaurant in Los Angeles.Gourmet, The Magazine of Good Living rates it as "one of the best restaurants of Southern California" and compliments us on a menu that "offers an excellent selection".Lavish events such as weddings and corporate functions, as well as small socials held at Matisse leave a lasting impression on your guests. Our catering services for events add a touch of class to any special occasions.Matisse Restaurant Manhattan Beach offers you:Fine dining: Treat yourself, family members, associates or special guest to fine wines, exquisite culinary creations in an elegant and friendly atmosphere.Exceptional catering: Events catered by our renowned chefs and dedicated staff draw praise no matter what venue or how big or small your guest list. Variety and artistic presentations satisfy even the most discerning palate.Memorable weddings: Delicious food, themed settings and detailed attention give shape to your dream wedding and create picture-perfect memories.Impressive corporate events: Conferences and client meetings held on our premises never fail to impress. The right ambiance and royal treatment are absolute deal clinchers.
1 review
“Best Filet Mignon in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I checked in the Ayres hotel Sunday night (5/18/14) and decided to try the Matisse restaurant for dinner. I ordered the house salad and the herb and garlic encrusted filet. The bread was served warm with butter and olive oil. The salad was a mix of baby greens with sliced grapes, mandarin slices, candied pecans and crumbled bleu cheese with a white balsamic dressing. The filet was cooked to a perfect medium rare and very tender. Risotto, carrots and brocollini were included with the entree. I have ordered filets from other restaurants in the area but this was the best. You won't regret ordering this dish.

The servers were very attentive and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    13
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dinner at Matisse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We had a long layover between flights and wanted to take my daughter and her husband out to dinner at an excellent restaurant near LAX. We have had excellent success using TripAdvisor and chose the Matisse Restaurant. We had appetizers, dinner, deserts for $250 for the four of use not including tip and wine. All agreed that it was excellent. Not only was the food cooked to perfection but the presentation was outstanding. Service also was excellent, neither too fast nor too slow. The atmosphere set in wood paneled dining room with pleasant old world paintings was romantic and the tapestry above the hotel desk from the 1600's was a joy to behold. It is located in the Ayers hotel but has a separate entrance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dinner with fine food and good friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

A party of four couples on April 10th shared a wonderful gourmet dinner hosted by the Restaurant's owner. The service, atmosphere, wine and food was wonderful. A great setting for friends to share an evening. We highly recommend Matisse Restaurant and plan to go their again when we are in the area. Ruby - Thank You!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice for a Special Cousins Get-Together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our group of six met at Matisse Restaurant for dinner to celebrate a first meeting of cousins. One cousin traveled a long distance, with her husband and sister-in-law, for the get-together. Michael was excellent at making us feel like royalty, from the moment he greeted us to explaining the menu, giving me a wine tasting so I could choose between an okay one and a superb smooth one, taking our orders, and posing us for photos we requested he take. The setting was lovely. The food was delicious and beautifully served. Even the basket of breads and crackers with a choice of three accompaniments (butter, oil, and a tapenade) were great. Everyone liked what they ordered. Matisse is open for lunch so we will return to check it out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
“Matisse Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We visited Matisse recently with some friends and had an outstanding experience. Everything from the excellent food and wine, to the courteous and knowledgeable service (Michael was our server) was beyond wonderful. We've been here before and will certainly come back. The visual delight of the Ayres Hotel's collection of fine paintings and sculpture add to the whole ambiance. Ruby, who runs the restaurant, is always professional and elegant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matisse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Matisse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matisse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.