We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sequoia Inn to your Saves list
Sequoia Inn
1655 Mall Dr., Hanford, CA 93230   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Special Price
$10 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hanford
Morgan Hill, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is the second time we stayed at this hotel for a baseball showcase tournament, and were impressed once again. This hotel is across the street from the Mall and is convenient to everything. The staff is polite, the rooms are clean and the hotel is quiet. Two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
14
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I were returning from a long road trip and were just too tired to drive, so we decided to stay at Sequoia Inn, and I'm glad we did. The rate was very reasonable and the front desk staff was courteous and efficient. I was really tired, so I valued how quickly the staff got us all set and checked in. The elevator is very slow and had a funky smell, but it seemed safe and was still better than lugging bags up the stairs. Our room was excellent--spacious, clean, comfortable, and with everything in good working order. The bed was particularly comfortable (although for two people, it needed another pillow) and we had a good night's rest.

The hotel is close to a shopping mall, the highway, and lots of places to eat. We didn't use the pool, but it was out front and small but looked well maintained. They also offer free breakfast. We slept in and didn't get to take advantage of that, but it does make it an even better value for the money. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We chose this hotel for it's proximity to our event and the price. The room was clean, we heard very little noise, the bed and pillows were comfortable, the air conditioning worked great--we were very satisfied. It's not a 5 star hotel, nor does it pretend to be. They have a nice continental breakfast.

The only think we missed was wi-fi in our hotel room, although it was available in the lobby/breakfast area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

When I made the reservation I was certain to explain that we needed a King bed and a sofa sleeper for two children. They quoted $89 per night. Expensive for Hanford but perhaps worth it. First problem was when we checked in I asked about the sofa sleeper just to be sure. They said there was no sofa bed in the room and would I like a room with two queens. I said no I wanted what I had reserved, a king with a sofa sleeper for two. They then suggested the executive suite with a king in one room and a sofa in the other. I said that would be great and how much did that cost. They said $119 per night (with the AAA discount). So we bit the bullet and went up to our room. Unfortunately, the second problem was it wasn't a sofa sleeper for two, it was a single. So we still didn't have beds for four. So we called down to the desk and they offered to send up a roll-away, for an additional $6 per night. Now we were up to $126 per night or $70 more than I thought we were going to pay for our two-night stay. Oh well, what choice did we have?
The good news - the room was clean, the beds were comfortable. Pillows were good. They need a hook in the bathroom. There should be a law that all hotel bathrooms come with a hook for hanging garments. The only alternatives are the floor or the toilet - ewww.
The breakfast was ok. Not great but not bad. Front desk staff was hard to find. Often they were away from the desk in a back office.
Two common complaints about Hanford - the train wakes you up all night and the water smells. I didn't experience either of these issues at the Sequoia. Room was relatively quiet and the water didn't smell.
If we ever have to return to Hanford we will probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Train tracks are on the east side. Rooms on the west are quieter. Make sure you have enough beds for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SequoiaInnManager, General Manager at Sequoia Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Sequoia Inn during your recent visit to Hanford!

I do apologize for the issues you were faced during your stay with us. Please note we do not have a King room with a sofa sleeper and the only rooms that do have sofa sleepers are the Suites. Since you had checked in the staff was getting to know the new product that was installed a week before your stay with us. However, it is unacceptable that you had to go through a difficult experience to accommodate you and your loved ones.

Please note I have spoke to the staff in regards to your review and coached them on the new product we have in our rooms so we do not repeat what you had experienced with us. Also, thank you for your recommendation on the hook in the bathrooms as we are looking into them and will have something in place soon.

Again, I do apologize for the troubles you were faced with and rest assured that all your feedback is valued and is appreciated.

Thank you again for your review and hope to see you again.

Have a wonderful day,

Leighanna Staley
Sequoia Inn Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

The best thing the hotel has going for it is the location. It is near the Hanford Mall, restaurants, Wal-Mart and Target. It probably has the best location of all the Hanford motels.
The rooms were clean with microwave and mini fridge. The furniture have seen better days. Much of it was worn from use and age, but did the job. The bedspreads were worn and faded out with a few holes, they need to be replaced. The pillows are useless, The Sequoia Inn needs to invest in restocking all the pillows. They were flat with no life left in them, just another outdated item.
The staff was friendly, but I really didn't have much contact with them. If you needed anything they were very prompt. This is one area I can't fault.
The breakfast was ample enough. Standard pasteries, fruit, toast, coffee and juice. Clean eating area.
Overall this hotel is okay. It is clean, which is probably most important. Just a few things changed and it could really by a good hotel. If staying in Hanford there aren't alot of choices. This just might be your best bet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SequoiaInnManager, General Manager at Sequoia Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Sequoia Inn during your past visit to Hanford!

I do apologize for the poor quality room you had to experience during your stay with us and not being able to get a comfortable sleep with the pillows. However, since your past stay here, Sequoia Inn has hit the “Re-set button” and we have been through a refurbishment the last week of December 2011. So, when you stay with us again we will have flat screen TVS, new furniture, new linens, new Serta pillow top mattress, and new fluffy pillows in every room.

Again, thank you for your past stay with us here at Sequoia Inn and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again so you can experience our newly refurbished rooms.

Have a wonderful day,

Leighanna Staley
Sequoia Inn Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Place looked nice and clean. Staff was attentive to our needs. Our biggest comment was the bed mattresses were not up to par, Old or not of suffecient quality for the frequency of use they get. Breakfast good.

Room Tip: We needed walk in shower for handicap so had room on first floor. Interior coridors were nice, clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SequoiaInnManager, General Manager at Sequoia Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Sequoia Inn during your past visit to Hanford!

I do apologize for the poor quality of the bed you had to experience during your stay with us. However, since your past stay here, Sequoia Inn has hit the “Re-set button” and we have been through a refurbishment in December 2011. So, when you stay with us again we will have flat screen TVS, new furniture, new linens, and new Serta pillow top mattresses in all rooms to guarantee a more peaceful nights rest.

Again, thank you for your past stay with us here at Sequoia Inn and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again so you can experience our newly refurbished rooms.

Have a wonderful day,

Leighanna Staley
Sequoia Inn Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011 via mobile

The staff were very helpful and friendly and the lobby was very nice..we had a dog with us and there was no extra charge for her!room was nice and had a coffee maker,fridge and microwave.perfect!everything was clean well kept.only slight downside was the room we were in had a very faint pee odor but it didn't bother us too much.after all,it's a pet friendly hotel and they do take very good care of the premises.we had to check out at 4 am to catch our flight and the guy at the front desk was very prompt and polite.we had an excellent stay and the fact that the mall and restaurants are right across the street makes this hotel by far the best value for money we've ever stayed at.a gem in Hanford!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SequoiaInnManager, General Manager at Sequoia Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Sequoia Inn during your past visit to Hanford! We are delighted to know that you enjoy your stay with us. We thank you and your furry friend for making Sequoia Inn your place to stay in Hanford.

I do apologize for the odor you were faced with during your past stay, but since your stay we have deep cleaned the entire hotel and we continue to incorporate the highest standards for our guests.

Please note that since your last stay with us Sequoia Inn has hit the “Re-set button” and we have been through a refurbishment in December 2011. So, when you stay with us again we will have flat screen TVS, new furniture, new beds, new linens, and much more.

Again, thank you for choosing Sequoia Inn and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

Leighanna Staley
Sequoia Inn Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sequoia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Inn

Address: 1655 Mall Dr., Hanford, CA 93230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Hanford
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Rosa Rancheria proudly offers the NEWLY RENOVATED Sequoia Inn in Hanford, an attractive, affordable hotel. Our Sequoia Inn now has a charming interior decor, flat screen TVS, new beds, new linens, new furniture and much more. It includes special features such as the exercise room and outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, guest laundry, complimentary continental breakfast, and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sequoia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sequoia Hotel Hanford
Sequoia Hotel Hanford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.