We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frozen” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Irwin Street Inn

Save Saved
You added Irwin Street Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Irwin Street Inn
522 N. Irwin St., Hanford, CA 93230   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hanford B&B and Inns
California, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Frozen”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I would never suggest you or anyone you care about staying at the Irwin Street Inn. The tables in the dining room were dirty. The rooms were dirty. They did not heat in the rooms and they were 50 degrees at night. The showers did not have hot water. The maid did not work the days we stayed at Inn and so we did not have our rooms cleaned the first two nights.

Room Tip: I would not suggest choosing a room at this Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    4
    4
    9
See reviews for
4
10
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sanger, Ca
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

My Husband and I stayed at the Irwin Street Inn for our honeymoon back in Jan. 1998. We loved it! Last year for our anniversary we decided to go back and enjoy a night there. We were so disappointed. It took awhile to get someone to help us when we first got there. They just seemed like they didn't know who was in charge or how to run thing (not at all like the 1st time we went). The 1st room they gave was a bed on the ground. I was not having that. No way am I going to pay for a room and sleep on the ground, so I asked to change rooms. It took forever for them to get another room ready for us. Then when we finally moved rooms we realized the next room was worse. There was an "old" bed that squeaked when you sat or moved on it. My Husband and I were so tired by then that we just kept that room. It really ruined the evening.The place just seemed old & musty, not quaint and antique looking like it used to. We won't be going back there anytime soon. This place could be so cute and romantic if it were taken care of and had good service like it used to. It's to bad.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

In this age of chain box stores and motels, which all look alike and are devoid of personality, the Irwin Street Inn is an anachronism. While attending a funeral I stayed there and loved it. The staff were attentive, professional and welcoming. Breakfast is unbeatable. The Irwin Street Inn has an excellent chef who cooks breakfasts to order, and it is included with the hotel fee. In the evening the Irwin Street Inn has live music. They feature a musician who plays saxophone and has an excellent singing voice. He is personable, and the music is mellow. It is wonderful to sit in their outdoor beautiful patio surrounded by twinkling lights on a balmy evening and enjoy the music while having a glass of wine, coffee or cocktail. It is a great place for a date evening for locals to relax. I heartily recommend the Irwin Street Inn. It is a destination. Amelia Koenig, Watsonville, CA

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburg ca
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

I scheduled an appointment to view this for a wedding venue. We anticipated a friendly warm atmosphere that would provide us the intimate wedding we hoped for. I scheduled the appointment on my lunch hour with the party coordinator, Stacy. When I arrived, the room was packed full of people, an out of town party that arrived late due to uncontrolable circumstances. Stacy was busy, so the owner Frank showed me around, while she entertained the party. The outside courtyard was small but practical, the reception area was, again, small but practical. It was what we were looking for, so I then scheduled an appointment yet again with Stacy to discuss pricing, and choose a food selection. When I initially spoke with this woman she assure me she could get the price of my wedding right where I wanted it to be, for the size of my party. I then called on the day of the appointment to let them know I was going to be about 15 minutes late, when the cook advised me that they had booked a wedding on that day and did not have time anyway to take care of us, so we had to re-schedule for the following weekend. I was not happy but understood things happen. The next weekent I arrived early to the appointment to find, Stacy was not there, she had an emergancy and was running late. We decided then that ok, we will leave for a bit and they could call once she had arrived. 1 1/2 hours later, I called the company and was told she had " a prior appointment that unfortunately was more important," and yet again she would rechedule me. Wow, really? This is service? I asked for her to email me pricing, and the different food options and my fiance and I would have to wait until it was convienient for us to make another appointment, afterall we do work too. Monday came along and after she did not call me, and I called her she advised me that there was no way she could get the price to what we origionally discussed. She did not apologize for her behavior and unprofessionalism. It has been now 7 days and I still have no phone call and no email with pricing. My wedding is set for 4 months away. Needless to say, I will not be using them for my service and I do not recomend them. They are extreemly unprofessional and unprepared to run a sucessful party business.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa clara, california
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Myself and my colleagues were in town for one night on business. The rooms were big in this house-converted inn. There were a few setbacks. They were:

1. My first room did not allow a key in the door.
2. My second room already had a guest staying there.
3. My third room was okay albeit handicapped but not a problem for use.
4. When using the sink, I turned on the water and there was a smell of sulfur.

The entry problems into the room were taken care of but did not make me very trusting of the management but the water problem and subsequent smell was not okay. It made the possibility of getting a drink of water awful and brushing my teeth was not very appetizing.

We were allowed to have a late breakfast the next morning as our meeting went from 5 a.m. to 10 a.m. We ordered simple breakfasts - two omelettes and two bacon and egg breakfasts. We had to wait 45 minutes for our food with no other patrons in the "restaurant" area of the lobby. The toast was toasted but had been sitting a long time and was hard and cold and not buttered. The bacon was way overcooked and both of us with these bacon and egg breakfasts ordered over easy eggs and got scrambled. The potatoes were just okay.

My suggestion is to stay here as it is nice, close to the downtown square which is nice but don't eat here. We ate at the Firehouse restaurant which was great.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

First time visit to Hanford and wanted the small town experience - including local hotel. This inn has much promise but needs an influx of cash and experienced innkeepers to set it straight. Good things included daily breakfast in a lovely dining room. Wireless internet access and very friendly staff. Someone - take care of this place and it could become a destination.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

After reading several reviews I booked an over night stay at the Irwin St Innn Bed and Breakfast. When we checked in the young man who helped us didn't seem to know what he was doing. We were finally given a room and told to park around back that we would be right in front of the door of to our room. When we parked the first thing I saw was a homeless guy going through the trash. I made a comment to the man that was helping with our bags. He said not to worry that security would run them off. Then we walked into our room. OH MY GOD! The wallpaper was peeling off the walls, the bedspread and sham looked like they had never been washed and the sheets and blanket were paper thin. The bathroom had a tile floor, old fashioned sink, the bathtub had claw feet and they had run a shower rod around the tub and hooked a shower curtain threw it and showerhead that is not even describeable. The toliet was in what could be described as a closet with the water tank above the toilet and a chain with a handle to pull when you flushed. This bathroom was raised so it looked like a stage with curtains on both sides. Oh and did I mention that the heater did not work. I did not sleep most of the night between the train whistle going off all night and not feeling safe.
Breakfast was fair not good but fair. Why didn't we leave I really don't know but be warnned if you decide to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irwin Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin Street Inn

Address: 522 N. Irwin St., Hanford, CA 93230
Location: United States > California > Hanford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Hanford!!! Under new ownership!!!!! This landmark is the Best Bed and Breakfast in Town! Catering and venue for any special occasion!!! Bar and entertainment on site!!!!! Come join us for a memorable experience in Hanford! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Irwin Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin Street Hotel Hanford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irwin Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.