We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great easy getaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House at Half Moon Bay

Save Saved
You added Beach House at Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 N. Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Seaside Escape Package
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Oakland, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great easy getaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Living in the bay area, this makes for a really easy and relaxing getaway without having to drive very far.

The room had a great view of the ocean and harbor. When in the room, we didn't hear anything else. Everybody was incredibly friendly, and we had a very relaxing couples massage. I have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
How nice that you live in the bay area and still make the time to come out to our property in Half Moon Bay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and the beautiful ocean view. We are also happy to hear that you were able to partake in a couples massage during your stay. We certainly hope that you can come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    136
    41
    24
    10
See reviews for
114
262
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gaia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

After my recent (4th) stay here in 2 years, I recognize that this place really suits my needs. Besides all of the amenities at the hotel itself and the terrific staff, the location is just perfect. You can walk to a picturesque, working harbor and look at the boats, watch the children play on the beach, watch the surfers, eat the freshest possible seafood, walk for miles along the water, rent a bike.........all without ever getting into your car! I can say that the breakfast is much better now than it was at my first stay in 2011. If you want a hot morning meal, try the cafe at the airport just to the north a couple of miles, it's really good too.

Room Tip: If you pick the room without any ocean view you may find it disappointing- I'd advise you to spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your patronage! We really appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and property. Thank you for mentioning the amenities of the hotel and how a traveler can stay with us and have different activities to do without driving their car. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our view from the penthouse suite was breath taking! From the moment we arrived, we were given excellent customer service. Our room was perfect, from our robes to our pillows! We enjoyed the evening reception and the morning breakfast. Our stay was perfect! Thank you for such a warm welcome and a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding our staff and property. We are glad you had such an enjoyable stay and that you were able to delight in the beautiful view of the ocean, the comfort of your guest room, and the hotel amenities. We certainly hope to see you again on your next trip to Half Moon Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the beach house for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday. The hotel was wonderful and we would certainly stay here again. The perks include:

- ocean front view from most rooms.
- fireplace with duraflame log provided each day along with easy to light matches. Great ambiance in the room.
- quick easy to access continental breakfast to start the day.
- friendly staff
- comfortable beds
- Large rooms with a kitchen area stocked with wine glasses, plates, cups silverware, 2 burner stove, toaster, etc. You could make small meals if you wanted I suppose. We took a bottle of wine back to the hotel and it was great to have the things we needed already provided.
- massage services on site. We had a couples massage.
- Location is fabulous. Sam's Chowder House is next door or you can walk about 10 minutes along the water to the harbor area where there are 5+ restaurants/bars. We visited Half Moon Bay Brewing Company just past the harbor and had a great lunch (claim chowder there is better than at Sam's Chowder House). Wonderful to be able to walk and not worry about driving.

We are already planning to head back to HMB later this year and we will be booking at Beach House again. Don't hesitate to stay here....you won't be sorry.

(PS - the rooms on the North end of the that are partial ocean view do look at towards Sam's Chowder House so I would imagine the view of the back of the restaurant isn't ideal. Just FYI.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are very happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable time with us. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and giving fellow Tripadvisor subscribers suggestions of activities and dining while in Half Moon Bay. We are glad that you were able to partake in a couples massage. Thank you again, and we look forward to having you stay with us on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our second visit to the Beach House, and we stayed in a suite in order to have room for our family of four. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, and the room itself was excellent. While there is no door separating the bedroom from the sitting area, the size of the suite allowed us to read or watch TV in bed while the kids slept. Having a large bathroom and a kitchen area in the room also made the stay more convenient, especially when travelling with very small children. The beds are very comfortable, and lying in bed in front of a crackling fireplace while listening to the surf and the foghorn makes for a quintessential coastside experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are so glad that you came to stay with us a second time! Thank you for such a wonderful description of the rooms (and your stay!). We are very happy that you found both the room and the beds to be comfortable. Thank you for mentioning that you had a comfortable arrangement with your family because we are a family friendly property. We are happy that you enjoyed the fireplace in your room as well. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. We work very hard to make each guests stay an enjoyable experience. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Half Moon Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the penthouse on the third floor. The view of the beach and the sound of the ocean waves are just wonderful. The unit has a large bathroom with a bathtub and a separate shower area, small kitchen counter with some cups/dishes/spoons/forks etc to cook simple stuff, plenty of closet space, a living room area with sofa, a private deck to enjoy the view, and a huge king size bed. The bed is very cozy and comfortable.

The room has good combination of color and lighting. The breakfast is nice and adequate. It's a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We are very happy that you had a relaxing stay with us. The lovely description of your experience is greatly appreciated! We are glad that you were able to enjoy the view and sounds of the ocean. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here solo after extending a business trip. The room was excellent, and included an amazingly comfortable bed, a sitting area, desk and fireplace. Right on the beach and along a walking path that takes you by the local surfers. Peaceful solitude. Going back again with my husband at some point. Take time to check out the local Main Street and restaurants, or drive to San Francisco or Sausalito which are fairly close.

Room Tip: If you can get it, get a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
How nice that you were able to extend your stay after being in the area on a business trip. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your account of your stay and giving future travelers a picture of what our guest rooms provide and what it is like taking a walk on the coastal path (which we have direct access from our property). We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House at Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Half Moon Bay

Address: 4100 N. Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House at Half Moon Bay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a private Nantucket summer home, the Beach House Hotel Half Moon Bay offers spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and Pillar Point Harbor. Just 25 miles south of San Francisco, the hotel features 54 spacious loft suites providing the perfect romantic getaway or retreat for the entire family. Each guest receives complimentary high speed internet access, full continental breakfast and parking. Take advantage of the heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi overlooking the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Beach House at Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Half Moon Bay
Beach House Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House at Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.