We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viewsome, comfortable, practical and casual.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House at Half Moon Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beach House at Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 N. Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Seaside Escape Package
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Santa Clara, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Viewsome, comfortable, practical and casual.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Spent thanksgiving weekend with our 7 month old daughter. Friendly front desk checked us in even though we arrived a few hours before the normal checkin time. Baby's crib was set in the room. The junior suite room with full ocean view was fantastic. Loved:
- a tiny practical kitchenette with basic silverware/glasses etc
- ipod connectivty/DVD player
- incredible views and access to beach walk
- evening cheese & wine
- don't forget swimwear for a superview hottub soak

A great casual alternative to the Ritz.

Room Tip: on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for spending your Thanksgiving holiday with us. We're glad you enjoyed the property and amenities. Thank you for your comment regarding the service you received from our Front Desk staff. We try to go above and beyond for our guests and their requests. We're happy that you were able to check-in early and had the crib set up in your room. We hope you decide to stay with us again on your next trip to Half Moon Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    137
    41
    25
    10
See reviews for
116
265
18
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Danville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We needed a quick overnight getaway not too far from home and The Beach Hotel was perfect for us! We were very impressed with the rooms amenities, we could have stayed there a week. The views were gorgeous, the staff was very helpful with early check in/late check out . It also felt very private,we couldn't hear any other hotel noise. We didn't take advangate of the continental breakfast but we will have to do that NEXT TIME :) It was a great way to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Thank you.

Room Tip: We loved our location on the far north end of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
First, may we say...... Happy Anniversary to you both! We are so glad to hear that you chose our property to be the place where you celebrated your 30th anniversary. Thank you for that. We greatly appreciate your kind words regarding your stay and the helpfulness of our staff. We hope to see you before your 31st anniversary! Thank you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We love staying at Beach House. The location is perfect, and close to points of interest. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious and the views are great. Right next to the excellent Sam's Chowder House and the bike/walking trail along the ocean.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are great because of the nice patio. The hotel is on a bluff, so even the patios...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are glad to find that you enjoy staying with us. Thank you for your recommendations to fellow readers. Having Sam's Chowder House next door to us is such a treat for our guests. It also sounds like you had an opportunity to enjoy some walking and hiking in the area. We hope that you will be able to come back and stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I enjoy short weekend trips as we live in the east Bay Area and look forward to close destinations in our own backyard. We were recommended to the half moon bay by friends and loved it. The rooms are spacious and clean. We spent the afternoon visiting the shops in old down town. Very cute shops and restaurants. I even stopped and had Bloody Mary at a small bar advertising it as there specialty. It was delicious. For dinner we walked from the Inn to sam's chowder house which is right next door. Make reservations because they have great food and are busy. I ordered the clam chowder oysters on the half shell and steamed lobster all delicious. New England style and excellent. We felt like we were a million miles away from home and it didn't cost us an arm and a leg. We will be back. A definate new destination spot for both of us

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are very glad that not only did your friends recommend us, but that you enjoyed your stay with us as well. We are happy that you enjoyed our property and the city of Half Moon Bay. You gave some really great suggestions for fellow readers on some great spots to check out... Thank you for that. Sam's Chowder House is a wonderful seafood restaurant next door to us, and we also recommend reservations for them as well. We look forward to your next little weekend getaway. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Having stayed here a number of times, on the coast in this area, this is the only place to stay. Direct access to the beach, surfer's beach next door, high quality breakfast daily, wines and snickey-snacks, mmmmm it is a fine value for money and a very relaxing place to stay. There's always a hot jacuzzi, a pool to take a dip, a fire going and great proximity without all the fussiness of the nearby Ritz. The bathroom amenities are Aveda, there is a fridge & hot plate and full water views from your pillow.

Room Tip: Higher floors you are up with the breezes and can watch the surfers better, on ground you can walk o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your patronage! We are so happy to hear from our repeat guests. We are glad you enjoy all of our amenities (and it also sounds like you usually stay on Friday and/or Saturday evenings, when we have our wine reception in the lobby). We greatly appreciate your detailed review and with such kind words. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We found the beach house by accident about 6 years ago and we are so glad we did. The views are spectacular, the rooms are spacious and the staff is very friendly. Its a great location you can walk to nearby restaurants or take a nice walk/run on the path along the beach. You can spend your day in San Francisco or Santa Cruz and have an easy drive back to the Beach House. Added bonus they have Aveda products!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are very glad that you happened upon us! Thank you for the review and the kind comments regarding our property and our staff. You are correct that our property is in a great location, not only for restaurants and the beautiful water front, but also because it is a great in-between point for guests who want to travel up to San Francisco or down to Santa Cruz. We are happy you enjoy the complimentary Aveda products we provide in our guest rooms. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

All suite 54 room hotel with spectacular view. Watched the sunset from our balcony over the Pacific.Located just North of town of Half Moon Bay. Large and spacious rooms. Fireplace. See the ocean lying in bed. Easy access from the Bay area.
Continental breakfast is included.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We appreciate very much the kind review you wrote. We're happy that you were able to experience the wonderful amenities in the hotel. About 75% of our rooms have a water view, and it sounds as if you booked one of our Ocean View Junior Suites. How wonderful that you were in the room to experience the sunset. Half Moon Bay sunsets this time of year are absolutely breath taking. Thank you again, and we hope to see you on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House at Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Half Moon Bay

Address: 4100 N. Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House at Half Moon Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a private Nantucket summer home, the Beach House Hotel Half Moon Bay offers spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and Pillar Point Harbor. Just 25 miles south of San Francisco, the hotel features 54 spacious loft suites providing the perfect romantic getaway or retreat for the entire family. Each guest receives complimentary high speed internet access, full continental breakfast and parking. Take advantage of the heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi overlooking the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach House at Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Half Moon Bay
Beach House Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House at Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;