We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful way to unwind!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House at Half Moon Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beach House at Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 N. Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Seaside Escape Package
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A wonderful way to unwind!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Spent a whole week here the end of September and must say, it was an incredible opportunity to slow down. Located right on the water, the Beach House was a great respite for the two of us. Close to the BART terminal to ride into the city, plenty of state parks nearby, quaint drives around the area, Half Moon Bay is a slow part of the world, perfect for resetting your internal clocks. The hotel itself is in pristine condition: beautiful grounds, nice pool and hot tub and there is a fundamental breakfast with rolls, bagels and juices each morning. The is a lockable gate leading to the coastal walking/biking path near the poor--to the north, the harbor, to the south, miles of very good and marvelously scenic trail. We had a suite on the south side--read again: side (significant in good time). The room had a working fireplace with a new Duraflame log each day. There was a little kitchenette and we stocked up on Day One at the Safeway a few miles to the south with our favorite goodies. There was a pleasant balcony with a great view and the room overall was spacious and spotless. The south wall was entirely glass and the light in the morning was luscious if we wanted it or dimmed if we chose to close the shades. Sept was still quite pleasant, if not warm, and since there was no ceiling fan or A/C, we resorted to leaving the windows open at night for air circulation. Bad move. Given the side location, we were painfully aware the first night of just how close we were to the highway. And to the trash collection area. And to the parking lot. And to the pool. You get the idea. The breeze would have been amazing but the noise was overwhelming. Advice: Stay on the water side, not the sides of the property--it's worth the extra. Or, buy a cheap box fan that moves air around. There was only a small 6 inch fan with the room, hardly sufficient to meet our needs. And, a minor thing, while TV was hardly a major diversion, the reception was incredibly poor. There was nary a gram of protein in the breakfast selections--all big carb/fat bombs. Yogurts would have been a nice touch. Intriguing to me is that I wrote the management a cordial note, describing there few issues and received no response.
Would we stay here again? Absolutely! By any definition of luxury, this was it. We would stay third floor, water front, center of building and bring in our own breakfast stuff. The staff was cordial but not overdone, eager to advise us when we asked for guidance on activities, dining and area travel. You couldn't ask for a better location and the coastal trail was a wonderful diversion each day. Expensive, yes, but what a treat you'll have!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind detailed account of your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed, not only the hotel property, but the area of Half Moon Bay, as well. I am sorry you found the room to be too warm. Although we do have a fan in the room, if you need another, the Front Desk is always happy to assist. I also have some great news! Our television reception issue has been recently remedied! We are very happy with this development, and in turn, have more television channels to choose from. Thank you again, and we are happy that you would like to stay with us on your next trip to Half Moon Bay. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    137
    41
    25
    10
See reviews for
116
265
17
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We loved the Beach House. It was a perfect room, very spacious and very clean. Location was wonderful...eating at Sams and walking home was fantastic! Loved the view from our room!
Wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
How wonderful that you loved your time here with us! Thank you for the description you gave on the room you stayed in. We're happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the restaurant Sam's Chowder House, which is next door to us! Many of our guests enjoy doing just as you did. We are so happy you had a wonderful time with us. We hope you stay with us again on your next trip to Half Moon Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Love staying here.. the rooms are clean and roomy. The people are nice too. The location is great.. having dinner at Sam's and just walking back to your room is wonderful. I was introduced to this place by a friend years ago. It is nice to see that the place has not changed at all. In my opinion it is way better than spending a lot of money to stay at The Ritz down the street. The weather was perfect so we enjoyed having our full ocean view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are so glad that you had an enjoyable stay, and we appreciate your patronage. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and property. Our standards are very high in giving our guests a wonderful experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Family of four , we stayed after arriving in San Fran for our first night of a road trip down to LA. room was spacious and comfortable although the furnishings were not really to my taste. Amazing views and the fog horn was hardly noticeable . Despite poor weather the children loved the heated pool and hot tub and it was lovely to have the fire. Breakfast was basic but good . All in all a good stop either from or to the airport on a beautiful piece of costline

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are happy that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for mentioning that your children had fun in our heated pool and Jacuzzi and that you enjoyed the fireplace in your room. Many of our guests do just as you did... staying at the Beach House at the beginning or end of their trip with their flights from SFO. Thank you again, and we hope to see you on your next trip to Half Moon Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I found this amazing hotel by asking a friend. I wanted to go to a place to unwind from my hectic life as a mother, wife, and business owner and not have to drive too far. It only took me an hour from the east bay. I enjoyed walking, good food, reading, the exercise room, and a wonderful massage. The hotel staff and facilities far exceeded my expectactions. Thank you!
I am really looking forward to my next visit!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax and unwind. We appreciate your kind comments regarding your massage from our Beach House Spa Services and your interactions with the hotel staff. We certainly when you come back that it will be very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Arrived just after midday ready to spend our last night in the States before our flight home the next day. Knew check in was from 4 pm but asked the lady on the front desk when the room might be ready just in case we could get in earlier : she was really helpful and said she'd look into it and to check back later in the afternoon. I managed to get the room at 3.05, which wasn't too bad : the room was standard, which we'd paid £200 for, facing the car park, but was nice as it was big and had a good kitchen area.
Pros: comfy bed, clean bathroom with 2 sinks, separate shower and bath, decent kitchen with fridge and microwave, plus coffee maker. Hot tub looked nice which we didn't use as it was raining, and hotel was based directly on the beach. Wine reception ok with 2 kinds of wine and cheese, plus breakfast nice with pastries, muffins, fruit, bagels, coffee and juice.
Cons : no air con! I take the point that the temp barely gets above the 50s but really! The night was really warm and this must be an ongoing issue for a lot of people during the Summer and onwards. All hotels 3 star and above should have the pre-requisite of air con as standard. The tv was rubbish! Fuzzy channels and in fact, hardly any channels : please upgrade! Although there is a gym, it's tiny and dangerous should you use the free weights, there would be insufficient space.
The room, its' cleanliness and decor, plus size influenced me in giving this a 4 star rating.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for writing this review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the kind words you had for the rooms, the property, and our continental breakfast.

Thank you for mentioning the your experience with the television. We apologize for that. As a matter of fact, we are happy to say that we are currently in the process of upgrading our television system to receive more channels. We are looking forward to it's completion.

You are correct that we do not have air conditioning. The average mean temperature in our lovely town is 58 degrees, so air conditioning was believed to not be a necessity. For the unseasonably warm days we experience in Half Moon Bay, a portable fan is provided for each guest room.

Thank you again for your review, and we certainly hope to see you again on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Took my girlfriend there and was a great getaway for us. Having the ocean right out front was amazing. The room was very plush and cozy. Was nice to have the ocean view patio but I def recommend the upper levels vs the ground. We had a group next to us on their patio all day/night and there is no privacy to the patio on ground floor. Overall its an amazing place to stay. Very nice to have Sam's Chowder house next door too. If the weather is good Id recommend a patio seat, bottle of wine and some oysters.

Room Tip: Book ahead of time. This place seems to be full a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you so much for writing this kind review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the property and the lovely view from your ocean view room. We apologize that there were some guests who were disturbing you in the evening. We hope to see you again in the future, and if you ever come across this situation again, please don't hesitate to contact the Front Desk right away. We take noise complaints very seriously, and want everyone to have an enjoyable stay and a good night's rest. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House at Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Half Moon Bay

Address: 4100 N. Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House at Half Moon Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a private Nantucket summer home, the Beach House Hotel Half Moon Bay offers spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and Pillar Point Harbor. Just 25 miles south of San Francisco, the hotel features 54 spacious loft suites providing the perfect romantic getaway or retreat for the entire family. Each guest receives complimentary high speed internet access, full continental breakfast and parking. Take advantage of the heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi overlooking the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach House at Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Half Moon Bay
Beach House Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House at Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.