We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, nice big room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House at Half Moon Bay

Save Saved
You added Beach House at Half Moon Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 N. Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Seaside Escape Package
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice location, nice big room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Arrived just after midday ready to spend our last night in the States before our flight home the next day. Knew check in was from 4 pm but asked the lady on the front desk when the room might be ready just in case we could get in earlier : she was really helpful and said she'd look into it and to check back later in the afternoon. I managed to get the room at 3.05, which wasn't too bad : the room was standard, which we'd paid £200 for, facing the car park, but was nice as it was big and had a good kitchen area.
Pros: comfy bed, clean bathroom with 2 sinks, separate shower and bath, decent kitchen with fridge and microwave, plus coffee maker. Hot tub looked nice which we didn't use as it was raining, and hotel was based directly on the beach. Wine reception ok with 2 kinds of wine and cheese, plus breakfast nice with pastries, muffins, fruit, bagels, coffee and juice.
Cons : no air con! I take the point that the temp barely gets above the 50s but really! The night was really warm and this must be an ongoing issue for a lot of people during the Summer and onwards. All hotels 3 star and above should have the pre-requisite of air con as standard. The tv was rubbish! Fuzzy channels and in fact, hardly any channels : please upgrade! Although there is a gym, it's tiny and dangerous should you use the free weights, there would be insufficient space.
The room, its' cleanliness and decor, plus size influenced me in giving this a 4 star rating.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for writing this review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the kind words you had for the rooms, the property, and our continental breakfast.

Thank you for mentioning the your experience with the television. We apologize for that. As a matter of fact, we are happy to say that we are currently in the process of upgrading our television system to receive more channels. We are looking forward to it's completion.

You are correct that we do not have air conditioning. The average mean temperature in our lovely town is 58 degrees, so air conditioning was believed to not be a necessity. For the unseasonably warm days we experience in Half Moon Bay, a portable fan is provided for each guest room.

Thank you again for your review, and we certainly hope to see you again on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    128
    37
    22
    10
See reviews for
101
250
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Took my girlfriend there and was a great getaway for us. Having the ocean right out front was amazing. The room was very plush and cozy. Was nice to have the ocean view patio but I def recommend the upper levels vs the ground. We had a group next to us on their patio all day/night and there is no privacy to the patio on ground floor. Overall its an amazing place to stay. Very nice to have Sam's Chowder house next door too. If the weather is good Id recommend a patio seat, bottle of wine and some oysters.

Room Tip: Book ahead of time. This place seems to be full a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you so much for writing this kind review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the property and the lovely view from your ocean view room. We apologize that there were some guests who were disturbing you in the evening. We hope to see you again in the future, and if you ever come across this situation again, please don't hesitate to contact the Front Desk right away. We take noise complaints very seriously, and want everyone to have an enjoyable stay and a good night's rest. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have returned here 3 times, and each time is more memorable than the last. The rooms invite refresh for the soul. The fireplace, a fridge for the wine and cheese. We left the room only once to walk the path to the restaurant next door.
This Hotel is clean, provides silk terry lined robes, and a free log for the fire!
We never turned on the Tv nor radio. The Fog horn is great too.
You have to love the sea to be here. We do love The Beach House.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We certainly do appreciate your patronage. Thank you for the kind comments regarding the hotel property and amenities. We're glad you also find the fog horn to be enjoyable, too.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Half Moon Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We checked in on a Saturday afternoon for 1 night to stay in a partial view room. The room was very big and very cozy. The view was gorgeous even with only a partial view. The bed was very comfortable. We had dinner next door at Sam's Chowder House which was delicious. The only complaint I had was after dinner we wanted to go back to the room to watch the SF Giants game and the hotel did not have the TBS channel. Also, all of the channels that were offered were fuzzy. We ended up going back to the restaurant to watch the game, but it made for a very long evening being 3 months pregnant! Overall, I love this hotel. It's the second time I've stayed here.

Room Tip: We had a partial view room that had one side facing the parking lot and one side facing the ocean/po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and your room in the Partial Ocean View category. I'm very sorry that you had to go back to the restaurant in order to finish watching the baseball game. We are currently in the process of updating our television system to where we will have more channels available. and it should be done very soon.

Thank you for writing this review, and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Right on the water, a pastel east-coast style hotel. Staff good and helpful. Rooms extremely clean. I recommend getting the first floor ocean view with the patio. No restaurant, but many options nearby, even next door.

Room Tip: I liked 106 with its wrap-around windows (see photo) though we were there on a Sunday and the bar ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding the property and our staff. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and your guest room. Thank you for mentioning that there are great restaurants nearby. We are very lucky to have such wonderful restaurants in the area (and some of them are within walking distance). We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here two nights. It's billed as a three star hotel, and I would agree with this assessment, except the price is much higher than what you would pay in a typical thee star. You are paying for the location and the views.

First, the pros:

- Room was fairly spacious and clean
- Lovely Aveda amenities, which is definitely step up from a typical three star
- Beautiful views (we had a partial view of the ocean)
- Room was well laid out with a sitting room, fireplace and separate bed area (but no walls)
- Staff were efficient
- Grounds were well-maintained and pretty

Cons:

- As others have mentioned, there's a fog horn that goes off every 5-10 seconds, day and night. This isn't the hotel's fault, but you may want to keep this in mind, as some people find it difficult to block out. They do provide ear plugs in the room as a courtesy.

- We had a fan but the room got rather hot and stuffy at night. Due to the fog horn and road noise, we didn't open the window. No air conditioning but there is a fan provided.

- Mattress was a little lumpy -- not terrible, but not my best night's sleep either.

- While well laid-out, the room looks a bit dated and could use some minor renovations.

We had few interactions with staff - they were efficient and courteous but not overly friendly.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Beach House Hotel but I'm not convinced it was worth the price - nothing particularly stood out as amazing (except the views), and when you're paying four star prices, you expect a bit more for your money.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor, away from the highway -- partial or oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed the room and found the hotel rooms to be spacious and clean. We apologize if our staff did not come across as friendly. We strive to provide excellent customer service to all of our guests.

You are correct that there is a fog horn in Pillar Point Harbor which can be heard. We do provide sterile ear plugs in each of our rooms (thank you for making a note of that). The Fog Horn is a mandated safety measure for the boats in Pillar Point. There are many people who find the fog horn to be relaxing and enjoy the nautical feeling it brings in being in a marine environment.

Half Moon Bay's median temperature is about 58 degrees, therefore, we do not have air conditioning. There are a few uncharacteristic warmer days we experience. We do have a portable fan placed in each guest room for the unseasonably warm days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Loved the place,clean lovely rooms and grounds with a very efficient staff. We choose this place because it allowed us to be on the ocean for our last night in CA yet close to the SFO airport. (Took about 30 minutes to get to airport) I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful corner suite, and just a note there is a fog horn that goes off 24/7 that can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach-House_10, Front Office Manager at Beach House at Half Moon Bay, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and our staff. We are glad that you found the location to be convenient for your trip out of SFO International Airport. Thank you for your comments regarding the fog horn. We find it charming and it reminds us of the nautical environment where we live. We hope to see you on your next trip to Half Moon Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach House at Half Moon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House at Half Moon Bay

Address: 4100 N. Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach House at Half Moon Bay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reminiscent of a private Nantucket summer home, the Beach House Hotel Half Moon Bay offers spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and Pillar Point Harbor. Just 25 miles south of San Francisco, the hotel features 54 spacious loft suites providing the perfect romantic getaway or retreat for the entire family. Each guest receives complimentary high speed internet access, full continental breakfast and parking. Take advantage of the heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi overlooking the Pacific. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Beach House at Half Moon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House At Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Hotel Half Moon Bay
Beach Half Moon Bay
Beach House Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House at Half Moon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.