We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastside Inn

Save Saved
You added Coastside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coastside Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   230 S Cabrillo Hwy, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Half Moon Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Vallejo, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went down for the 2013 Mavericks! We were greeted by very friendly staff. The room was very clean. The bed was awesome, comfortable and huge. Rooms had all amenities: microwave, refridgerater, hair dryer, good heat, free internet access, great shower with variable showerhead. Good free breakfast! Beach 5 minutes away by car. Downtown 2 minutes away by car. Restaurants within walking distance (close). We'll be back.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room Avoid noisy upstairs neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    50
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
48
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

this hotel is the best one on the coast it has a great price and great location
it has free internet
they also give breakfast with your stay
every room has a frig and microwave
the staff was great
it is my fav place on the coast

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Ended up at this hotel last year as a last minute change of plans. This year, I shopped around first before booking. After looking at all the locations, prices, and amenities. This one has, by far, the best value for your money. The breakfast was still great, the location was perfect, and it is one of the least expensive hotels in the area. A year later and the staff was still very courteous so I had to up the overall rating to 5/5.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was looking for an efficient, clean place to stay for a quick overnight business trip to Half Moon Bay. I got most of what I was looking for.
Somehow the computer showed two reservations under my name, only one with a credit card number. This took at least 15 minutes and a call to the supervisor to straighten out. Really?
The room was as expected for medium low end motel, but here's the bizzare part. Even though all the rooms directly face Hwy 1, and the morning sun, there are no solid drapes. Most Hotels have the dual, semi-transparent drapes and blackout (solid) drapery. This only had the semi-transparent drapes. Even for an old guy, it's kind of creepy to undress under these circumstances. I'm sure in the daylight, you cannot see in, but at night if I can see the car headlights, it sure feels like they can see me as well.
Other than that, it was fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were on a road trip and needed to spend the night at Half Moon bay. We weren't particular but just wanted a decent, clean place to stay. Coastside Inn fit the bill very well. The place was pretty much empty on an October Sunday night, so even though we specifically asked for an upstairs room based on other tripadvisor reviews, it wasn't particularly necessary.
The room was quite noisy given its proximity to the road, but not to the point where it affected our sleep.

Out of all the places we stayed at on this trip, Coastside Inn was probably the cleanest and most pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for a business meeting at a nearby location. Staff were very accomodating and friendly, and the continental breajfast was just right. Lots of very good restaurants close by and beach is a short walk away.

Room Tip: All rooms face California rte 1 though no noticeable traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night before flying home to UK. Although it was one of the few places I could get a room for one night only at reasonable rate we were very satisfied. More up market Motel than most and this was reflected in the quality of the room room. Large varied choice of breakfast. Just be aware in the town there are only Italian and Mexican restaurants which was disappointing. Wish we had drove down to the bay to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coastside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastside Inn

Address: 230 S Cabrillo Hwy, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Half Moon Bay)
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastside Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is AAA Diamond certified as well as Green Certified through the California Green Lodging Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Coastside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastside Hotel Half Moon Bay
Holiday Inn Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.