We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for our meeting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coastside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coastside Inn to your Saves list
Coastside Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   230 S Cabrillo Hwy, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Half Moon Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great value for our meeting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for a business meeting at a nearby location. Staff were very accomodating and friendly, and the continental breajfast was just right. Lots of very good restaurants close by and beach is a short walk away.

Room Tip: All rooms face California rte 1 though no noticeable traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    57
    30
    6
    7
See reviews for
35
56
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redhill
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night before flying home to UK. Although it was one of the few places I could get a room for one night only at reasonable rate we were very satisfied. More up market Motel than most and this was reflected in the quality of the room room. Large varied choice of breakfast. Just be aware in the town there are only Italian and Mexican restaurants which was disappointing. Wish we had drove down to the bay to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went for a couples retreat and needed something economical for the area. Stay was nice. I got no complaints from the other couples. The young man at the desk was very nice. Enjoyed the basic continental breakfast with waffles too. One problem I had after I went to sleep, was that I woke up early in the morning and then couldn't go back to sleep. This was due to the cars going by on the nearby highway. The quiet of the early morning made the noise of the cars stand out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

my wife and i stayed one night before departing out of SFO. the room was very comfortable and very clean. the staff was helpful with information of the half moon bay area. the property was located right on the 1 close to downtown HMB and to the beaches. When traveling the PCH we plan on making arrangements to be in HMB about the time we need a place to stay so we can enjoy more of the area using the Coastside Inn as a homebase. The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and were glad that we chose their facility.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a good place to stay for one night while traveling the California coast. Half Moon Bay is a nice community and we wish we had had more time to spend there. The beaches are wonderful. The hotel was clean with only minor maintenance issues (the bathroom as typical with older hotels). The bed was comfortable and the room was a decent size. Breakfast was fine - nothing great. It's right on the highway, but we just kept the fan on all night (which I usually do) to block out the traffic noise. The hotel & windows don't face the coast so there's no view, but you don't pay for it anyway. It was a good value and I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: I'm glad we requested an upstairs room. There was enough outside noise, I think someone upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

There really isn't a bad thing to say about the Coastside Inn. It's an average Califonia coast motel. The room was clean and spacious. Small fridge and microwave. Good morning breakfast - especially for families. Lots of choices! The hotel sits on the main highway within walking distance to the the historic HBM downtown. We walked it in about 10 minutes. The front desk manager was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend it for a night or two. Rates were very reasonable for the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We read the reviews about no microwave and fridge but our room had both. Everything was great and it was nice that breakfast included healthy choices. The staff was excellent and went out of their way to help us print something and faxed it for us. I would go back there in a heartbeat. The only drawback was the internet was very slow.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coastside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastside Inn

Address: 230 S Cabrillo Hwy, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Half Moon Bay)
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is AAA Diamond certified as well as Green Certified through the California Green Lodging Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Coastside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastside Hotel Half Moon Bay
Holiday Inn Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.