We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real hidden treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Bay Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Half Moon Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Half Moon Bay Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A real hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Found last minute, booked for the following night, we had no real idea what we had actually let ourselves in for. About 2 miles south of downtown Half Moon Bay this hotel is well worth the visit. The room was large, clean and well equiped. The hot-tub was a blessing and the pool clean and quiet. Breakfast was plentiful and served in a nice atmosphere. Free wi-fi was a nice touch too. Our only regret that was that we only had one night here. There are plenty of good restaurants in Half Moon Bay. I will recommend both this hotel and the locality to other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    130
    36
    9
    9
See reviews for
111
128
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

I looked at a number of the competing hotels/ B&B's and this place was inexpensive and had good reviews. I'm glad we chose the Best Western. When we checked in we realized that we had left our credit card at the restaurant where we had just dined. The clerk at the front desk asked if we wanted her to call the restaurant for us to see if the card was there. Wow what service!
From the reviews I was confused as to whether you got breakfast or not but we had a very nice breakfast with waffles and hard-boiled eggs, bagels, yogurt, muffins, cereals, etc.
The room was quiet and the bed comfortable. The room was clean. Highway 1 is not busy at night, but the hotel is set back from the highway too, so I would think most rooms would be quiet.
This hotel is a little older but the room was recently painted and the bedspread was contemporary. The tile in the bathroom looked dated but clean.
The only thing is that it's not right on the ocean and not particularly romantic.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We loved this hotel. I stayed here with my 20 years old son. We flew into San Francisco in the evening and we stayed here before starting down the coast in the morning. I had wondered before if we should try and make it further down the coast, but am so glad we stayed in Half Moon Bay that night. GREAT beds, clean, comfortable, courteous staff, pretty bathroom with mosaic tiles. Sliding glass doors with patio...flowers outside, very private. The breakfast was the best we had on the trip. Joe's restaurant is located on the grounds and is excellent! We got pizza there and wow, good stuff. Just can't say enough good about this place...I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed with out two children during Spring Break. The grounds are beautiful, lots of colorful flowers. Our room was on the second floor which was very quiet and comfortable. It overlooked the golf course which was a nice view. You can sit on the balcony and watch the golfers. There is a nice heated pool and jacuzzi, there are propane heaters and a fireplace by the pool so you can stay warm while watching the kids swim. Good continental breakfast with great belgian waffles. We would definately stay here again when visiting Half Moon Bay. There are several beaches within a short drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

My daughter and I stayed here during a sightseeing trip of the California Coast. We absolutely loved the quaintness of the this hotel. The room was very comfortable, cozy ,and met all our needs. The free wireless internet is great. The staff was wonderful. The most enjoyable part of the stay, however, was the complimentary breakfast; and we loved eating by the outdoor fireplace poolside!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Springs, CA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

We stayed at the BWHMB Lodge with a group of friends after the Elephant Seal tour at Ano Nuevo. Very nice accomodations! The service was prompt and friendly, and the rooms were super clean and roomy. Great shower, wet bar. Our room overlooked the fourth tee on a nearby golf course. The property is on Hwy 1, but sits far enough back that we heard no traffic noise. Nice continental breakfast, and they have an enticing golf package on the courses at the nearby Ritz Carlton for a very reasonable price. When we booked, I was tempted to stay at the Ritz, but our group preferred these more reasonably priced accomodations, and I'm glad! We will definitely return to HMB to play golf, and will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

The Best Western Halm Moon Bay Lodge is a great value. My husband and I love Half Moon Bay. We have stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Half Moon Bay and wish we could afford to stay there with every trip we take, but our budget won't allow. The Half Moon Bay Lodge is a good compromise. It is affordable and clean -- and allows us to stay in one of our favorite towns in California without serious compromise to our budget. The Lodge is getting a little weary, but it is clean and obviously well tended and a good value for the dollar.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Address: 2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.