We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Little Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Bay Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Half Moon Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Half Moon Bay Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer & Save!
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Branford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely Little Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We arrived at the Lodge after a very long day of traveling and received a warm welcome at checkin. The hotel was so pretty in the cool, clear California evening, and we were pleasantly surprised when we reached our spacious, nicely-appointed room, with the big comfortable bed, cathedral ceiling and large deck overlooking the golf course. Our stay was marvelous. The entire staff was friendly and helpful and the property was so pretty and inviting. I think it was pretty full, but we never had the feeling that we were surrounded by people - It was very private and quiet. The Lodge is in a great location, near enough to beaches and town, but just a little off the main road so that you feel as though you're in your own peaceful get-away. I didn't give it an "excellent" for location because to me, an excellent location is on the beach. But you wouldn't be paying these affordable prices if it were, right? So in truth, it is just about perfect. Oh, and don't forget to eat at Joe's, the restaurant at the front of the property. It's a cool little spot - very deceiving from the outside. But inside the clientele is diverse, the service is great, and the food is terrific. I highly recommend Half Moon Bay Lodge to anyone looking for a lovely, tasteful, affordable place to stay. And I cannot wait to go back again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms, because we had to book an unexpected extra night while we were there. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    147
    40
    9
    10
See reviews for
122
147
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a pretty nice place. I just attended a conference at the Ritz Carlton Half Moon Bay and it wasn't practical for everyone to pay Ritz room rates. So I opted for the Lodge - and it was really okay. I got an online rate. And it was everything that I needed.

Bed, good view, quiet, nice facility, very friendly staff, a little diner restaurant in front of the property. There are a couple of great little finds in Half Moon Bay. Specifically, I found a New Leaf community market which is cross between a Whole Foods and an organic market. But that was good for getting one or two dinners set up (the room had a small fridge).

I could walk to the Ritz (2 kilometers - a about a mile plus). And down to the Ocean.

So all in all - great value and a very nice staff to help you out.

Room Tip: I elected to get a room without a fireplace. And it was fine. No elevator if you are trying to get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I can't say enough about this hotel. The entire staff seems to really care about their guests comfort and satisfaction with their stays. Jaime of the maintenance staff is a real gem. I've never experienced someone as dedicated and concerned about the property and the guests as him. He really wants you to come back again and again.
Newly renovated rooms are quite comfortable and spacious. The fitness center while small is in very good condition and offers a very good stationary bike and a couple of higher end treadmills, as well as dumbbells and a nice adjustable bench. The complimentary breakfast offers good choices presented nicely.
When I'm back in the area, I will look forward to staying here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Oklahoma, United States
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a beautiful view of the golf course and a walk out patio. The swimming pool area was outside, fireplace outside, hot tub. Very quaint! Breakfast was served indoors. Very good breakfast. Beds were comfortable. the only drawback was the room stayed warm during the day. No airconditioning. I did pack a fan which was necessary! I felt very safe, and really enjoyed my stay! It took 30 minutes from the san Francisco International Airport.

Room Tip: Bring a fan. Draw the curtains in the day. The sun heats the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Attractive rooms, clean, well-kept, located right on PCH (Hwy 1). Lovely outdoor pool and fireplace, relaxing well-manicured grounds. A solid recommendation, meets all expectations on several visits over the years.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very nice lodge, but I should have done my homework before booking. I would have liked an on-site restaurant and bar, for example. I'm sure this was covered on the website, but I apparently overlooked this. The room was nice. We overlooked the golf course. When we unpacked, we found that there were no hangers in the closet. Because what we brought didn't really need to be hung up, I didn't call the front desk. We ended up having a meal at Mullins at the golf course at the Ritz which was good. We also spent time at our friends restaurant which is a must for people wanting an inexpensive good meal. It's called Daddy-O's which is housed in a bright yellow caboose right in Half Moon Bay close to Hi 92 & Hi 1.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

After travelling 10 hours from the UK the lodge was just what we wanted! Only 30 minutes from the airport it was a great top be welcomed by friendly staff. Our room overlooking the golf course was very clean and the bed most comfortable. We had a meal next door (on recommendation of reception staff) which we really enjoyed, fell into our bed and slept really well! The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and plenty of it. Will certainly make it a stop next time we visit the USA.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Address: 2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.