We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half Moon Bay Lodge San Francisco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Bay Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Half Moon Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Half Moon Bay Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Half Moon Bay Lodge San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was such a good find and a lovely place to stay with a very home like feel. The cleanliness of the rooms was superb and the view over to the golf course was so relaxing after our stay in New York. The hot tub was excellent and the breakfast was very filling and well presented with superb coffee and waffles. Ideal location for exploring San Francisco if you have a car.
Only down side is that the bathrooms have not been refurbed, but the rooms have - but perfectly clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    130
    36
    9
    9
See reviews for
111
128
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Owings Mills MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised how nice this hotel was. The beds were so comfortable, the room was large and very clean, the grounds very nice. All the wonderful reviews were on mark. Loved the fireplace to sit by in the evening, heated pool, and sauna. The staff was very nice too. We went to the Ritz adjacent to our hotel and walked the coastal trail and sat on their porch and was in awe of the amazing beauty of the golf course and view of the coast.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A wonderful, modern hotel which I highly recommend! Our room was on the second floor, directly on the golf course. The grounds are beautifully manicured. The room was clean, large and had a comfortable king-size bed. The bathroom was also large with a Jacuzzi whirlpool tub and nice shower. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was delicious too; huge variety of foods-- scrambled eggs, sausages, cereal, waffles, yogurt parfait, toast, bagels,coffees and juices. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for second floor room, less traffic right outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego,ca
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed one night @ the Lodge and had an awesome time. Our room was on the golf course and had a patio complete with a bistro set. It had a ceiling fan, mini fridge and a microwave(on request) but complimentary. The staff were very nice and the heated outdoor pool was refreshing. And there is a nice jacuzzi as well. For the price and quality of this property it's no wonder why we couldn't stay another night....they were sold out. Looking forward to going back! Their complimentary breakfast was good as well

Room Tip: Every room I'm sure is nice. Half Moon Bay is a very nice and classy beach town
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our friends were getting married at the Ritz and since that's out of our price range, we stayed at the Half Moon Bay Lodge, which is very conveniently located down the road from the Ritz right next to the coastal walk and golf courses. The most striking thing about this hotel is the landscaping and gardens. Even in the misty fog, the various colors of the flowers were bright. We had a room on the first floor with a sliding door that connected straight to a small garden walk outside where the pool and hot tub were located. It even has a whale bench! The downside was that there was less privacy because people often walked back and forth so you have to make sure the curtains were closed while changing-- unless you're an exhibitionist, in which case the first-floor location is ideal.

The main lobby has a very modern design and it gave us the impression that our room would be more modern as well. It wasn't. Clearly, the room is renovated from a older design. The walls are textured and the tile in the bathroom is a retro mediterranean. Still, everything was clean and working. Plus someone on their staff really likes folding fan bow-ties out of towels and toilet paper. Very nice!

There were some tiny things that bugged us during our stay. The mini-fridge was distractingly loud. The room was too spacious for the furniture. It felt like it needed an extra couch or something. Also, if you leave the window above the tub/shower open, you can hear people outside talking-- a bit strange when using the bathroom.

The staff was friendly; the location was awesome; and the continental breakfast includes scrambled eggs, sausages, cereal, waffles, yogurt parfait, toast, bagels, and good coffee. I recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All Over
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here one night for business recently and appreciated the personal service. Warm cookies in the reception area, the staff making us aware that the restaurant nearby delivers. Wonderful to have a porch and to be able to leave the windows open for fresh air.

Nice change from staying at the Ritz up the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a wonderful room on the second floor. It was spacious, airy and had a balcony overlooking the garden and the golf course beyond. Plenty of wonderful places to sit and talk, by the pool in the garden (with a working fireplace), and of course the balcony.
An excellent breakfast was provided in a room with a working fireplace.
The staff was very helpful, the place scrupulously clean. Just a little hard to find the entrance from the Cabrillo highway

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Address: 2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.