We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Half Moon Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Half Moon Bay Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer & Save!
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quaint find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

As we looked for the Lodge from the road, we found a small sign that had us turn into a pretty setting as we drove up to the entrance. We were greeted immediately and check in was a breeze. We were given restaurant suggestions, directions to shopping areas, and a continental breakfast the next morning. There are only 2 stories, but no elevators. We were surprised, but it added to the quaint feeling of the place. Pretty views from room and beautiful landscaping for a nice walk.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms that face the golf course and beautifully maintained landscaping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    156
    43
    10
    11
See reviews for
130
154
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here after 25 hours of travel from Australia as a stopover on the way to Monterey. Room was large and very clean and allowed an excellent night's rest and refreshment. Location was close to restaurants and shops (short drive) and the breakfast that was included in our room rate was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Last stayed here in the mid90's. It was gorgeous then.
Sadly the rooms and property have not had much updating.
Breakfast was included with our room and was nicely presented
and quite nice.
Check in was a breeze and freshly baked cookies upon arrival.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I booked the Half Moon Bay lodge for just one night, as a stopover on a drive from SFO to Monterey.
I booked a King room suite w/fireplace. What a cute, large sized room. The wood burning fireplace was so romantic and was a nice touch. They provide a little burlap bag that only requires a match to set fire..so easy.
The room was very large, with a seating area and separate bedroom and very large patio that overlooked the golf course.
Easy to find from Hwy1. Nice selection of free breakfast offered, and lots of convenient parking
Would absolutely plan on staying here again, next time, for longer...so we can enjoy the amenities!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freeatlastem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We recently had a cousins weekend in Half Moon Bay I have never stayed in town but this hotel was highly recommended on trip advisor so I booked a room for the four of us...the rooms were very spacious and clean...we did not however take advantage of the breakfast provided because we were never ready before ten when breakfast is over all in all if we ever decide to come back this will be where we stay ..also here is a restaurant right up the street named Cameron's pub the clam chowder is outstanding !!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I find myself in Half Moon Bay once a year. For the past several years I have stayed, with my family, at the Half Moon Bay Lodge. It's nice and comfortable. The property is pretty and they offer breakfast. This year I will not be staying there. They now require a 2 night stay if your stay includes a Saturday. I only need Saturday night. So they have lost my business...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for your loyalty over the last several years. Please note that while there some occasions when it becomes necessary to require a two night minimum stay, this is not always the case.
Please contact me directly at 650-712-5310, so that I may look into the date you're inquiring about and see if there is something we can do to accommodate you.
Sincerely,
Keith Wesselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have stayed at HMBL a couple of times. The most recent was Jan. 1-3 with my husband, 43 and son, 21. The 2 queen bed room was large enough for the 3 of us. Our balcony view was overlooking a small lake and the golf course.

Pros:
hot breakfast (scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, cereals, yogurt, toast, juices, etc...)
heated pool (in winter this is extremely nice)
free internet
room was a nice large size for 3 adults
lounge had warm fresh cookies, computer with printer
location (near S.F. area, off highway, golf course)
staff has always been welcoming to us


Cons:
bed was too firm (especially for my husband, who has a pinched nerve in his lower back)
internet was sometimes slow (not a big deal just wait)
shower head would not adjust (I'm short)

Hope this information helps you in determining whether you will be staying or not. If you do decided to stay, pop into Cameron's Pub for some drinks (food is edible enough but nothing to write home about with the exception of the apple pie, which is amazing).

Room Tip: Hope you enjoy staying here as much as my family does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Half Moon Bay
5.4 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
5.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
12.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Half Moon Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Address: 2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.