We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to settle for a few nights rest.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Half Moon Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Half Moon Bay Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer & Save!
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yucaipa, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good place to settle for a few nights rest.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have stayed at HMBL a couple of times. The most recent was Jan. 1-3 with my husband, 43 and son, 21. The 2 queen bed room was large enough for the 3 of us. Our balcony view was overlooking a small lake and the golf course.

Pros:
hot breakfast (scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, cereals, yogurt, toast, juices, etc...)
heated pool (in winter this is extremely nice)
free internet
room was a nice large size for 3 adults
lounge had warm fresh cookies, computer with printer
location (near S.F. area, off highway, golf course)
staff has always been welcoming to us


Cons:
bed was too firm (especially for my husband, who has a pinched nerve in his lower back)
internet was sometimes slow (not a big deal just wait)
shower head would not adjust (I'm short)

Hope this information helps you in determining whether you will be staying or not. If you do decided to stay, pop into Cameron's Pub for some drinks (food is edible enough but nothing to write home about with the exception of the apple pie, which is amazing).

Room Tip: Hope you enjoy staying here as much as my family does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    145
    40
    9
    9
See reviews for
118
143
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We took a chance and checked into the Half Moon Bay Lodge without doing any research. What a pleasant surprise ! The reception staff were courteous; the room was clean, spacious, comfortable and quiet, and the complimentary breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

On our way to Monterey on Christmas day, this was a nice place to crash after 13hrs on the road; nice, quiet location. Room was bigger than average hotel room. Mostly a good experience, but we had to re-make the bed before sleeping - don't think the staff know which way to turn the bottom sheet on a king. Nice touch with the lighted Christmas tree in the room! Breakfast was better than expected - waffles! Plus cereal, danish, etc. Overall, a good bargain.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We like to get active in the AMs and kick back in the PMs prior to going out for dinner. The room had a balcony overlooking a golf course. They provide an excellent breakfast that has a good variety of food and juices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled upon the Half Moon Bay Lodge by accident. And are we happy we did. We called from San Francisco and Terry the desk agent was so kind and friendly on the phone we were sold. We had are dog with us as well and pets are welcome! I base a lot of my reviews on service and I was not disappointed!!!

The room we had was very nice, wonderful fire place, comfortable bed and sliding door to the back yard. All things were top notch.

Also Terry recommended Pasta Moon for dinner and it was amazing. One thing we wanted to have some drinks with dinner so we took a cab. Just call in advance the cabs can take a little while.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great place to stay when you're attending a wedding at the Ritz Carlton around the corner. It was a lovely property with clean and large sized rooms. The rooms were typical Best Western styled rooms although kept clean. The stay includes self-service breakfast everyone morning, including make-your-own waffles! Overall, great price for the location and amenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Address: 2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.