We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best alternative when attending a wedding at The Ritz Carlton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Bay Lodge

Save Saved
You added Half Moon Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Half Moon Bay Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best alternative when attending a wedding at The Ritz Carlton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great place to stay when you're attending a wedding at the Ritz Carlton around the corner. It was a lovely property with clean and large sized rooms. The rooms were typical Best Western styled rooms although kept clean. The stay includes self-service breakfast everyone morning, including make-your-own waffles! Overall, great price for the location and amenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    119
    33
    9
    9
See reviews for
104
116
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Soulsbyville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Extremely impressed with the beauty of the property, especially being pet friendly. They were eager to please us in any way. Brought extra fans to the room; even had a small Christmas tree in the room. The breakfast was very good, and the rooms were very clean. We will always stay
here whenever we are in Half Moon Bay. The customer service was incredible! We can't imagine anyone being dissappointed.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper, maybe choose a room on the oppositie side of main lobby. Delivery trucks mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

After searching for an affordable place for a family of four to stay for a week in Half Moon Bay, we were delighted with what we got at the HMB Best Western for the price. The grounds are so beautifully landscaped that it's easy to forget that you are staying at a motel on Highway 1. The property is set back from the highway and we never had any issues with traffic noise whatsoever. Our room had a nice patio with table and chairs that opened into a garden area with plenty of room for roaming around. Our room was impeccably clean, and a nice size with two comfortable queen sized beds, a sitting area, plenty of drawer and closet space, and a mini-fridge. While the breakfast buffet had limited options, it was perfect for our two teenage boys who delighted in making their own fresh waffles. The employees in the breakfast area kept it spotlessly clean and well-stocked. The public beach in front of the Ritz Carlton is an easy walk from the motel, and a beautiful place to spend the morning with a cup of coffee. BW HMB was one of the most affordable lodging options in the area, and it far exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: I was initially worried about having a ground floor room down the hall from a vending machine and ic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Overall, great place for the price which includes a good sized room with patio / balcony, heated outdoor pool and spa, and a hot breakfast with a lot of options though quality was average. Beds were comfortable. Property is very clean and beautiful. Impressed with nice potted plants everywhere. Close to downtown Half Moon Bay.
I know not the fault of the property, but suggest that there be a reminder for young children not to run on the 2nd floor during the early AM. I am a pretty early riser, but would empathize with others who are light sleepers being woken by stomping feet at 7am.
Would certainly stay at this property in the future and recommend to others, especially for families.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

stayed three nights over the pumpkin festival.service was great, pool and spa were lovely, breakfast was good plenty to choose from.best place we stayed on our 3 week trip to the US, highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel a few times now. Their prices are VERY competitive for the area and it includes breakfast, pool, hot tub, and we even had a fireplace in our room this last trip. You're within minutes to golf, restaurants, and the beach. Highly recommended for families.

Room Tip: If you can overlook the golf course, it's a nice touch - no road noise and just peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding over the weekend and I was very pleased. First of all, it was beautiful, and had the Northern California charm that I was looking for. We had a good-sized room with two queen beds and a balcony with two chairs and plenty of room. It faced out on a golf course/wooded area and was very relaxing. I also liked: the fact that the breakfast buffet had HOT items (eggs and sausage patties), the hot tub and heated pool, and the location relative to HMB activities. I would totally recommend it!
PS This is the only hotel I have ever stayed in that had a live plant in the room! What a nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the golf course. There are NO elevators, so if you can't lug a su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Address: 2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.