We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Bay Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Half Moon Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Half Moon Bay Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the half moon bay on our last vacation and found it to be great place. We were driving down the coast from San Francisco and booked it unseen. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was large and had a fireplace for our use. What a surprise, they left a bag of wood for us to use. Stay on the second floor as the rooms have vaulted ceilings and seem larger, they are large even without this. The breakfast was good and got us started for our next day. Room was reasonably priced. Look forward to returning to this area and hotel.

Room Tip: Save money and stay here a lot less than the overrated Ritz Carlton
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    130
    36
    9
    9
See reviews for
111
128
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was a very nice lodge to stay at. The location was great, as was the staff and rooms. The breakfast had a very nice selection and a large seating area inside and out. We were in the Half Moon Area for a wedding and this lodge had excellent service to accommodate our family. We forgot an item for our camera and they helped us find an electronics store that was able to help us out. The staff went out of their way to provide us help.

Room Tip: 1st floor had a balcony with seating, very secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland City, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay...only wish we could have stayed more than one night. I was very surprised how large and nicely decorated the room was. The whole hotel is beautiful. The staff was so friendly and helpful, esp. when I requested a fan to help my husband sleep and they found one. Breakfast was great also. Very enjoyable stay and lovely town.

Room Tip: Our room was on the golf course side and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocono Lake, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

There are lots of very different options at Half Moon Bay. The Best Western nicely strikes the average. The Ritz - is the Ritz - but really isn't as oceanfront as you might be used to. The Pacific is too cold to swim in - even in the summer so a heated pool like the Best Western is a welcome for those that need to spash and sunbath. The buffet breakfast was more than adequate including hot food items - though there were nice breakfast restaurants nearby - it was hard to justify going to them during our week stay. The Best Western is outside of downtown - but doesn't have the noise (or nightlife) of the downtown B&Bs/ Inns. Older firends that opted to stay downtown didn't have very restful nights. There is really nothing quite like the Best Western in the immediate Half Moon area. While I was there the hotel was sold out for several nights

Room Tip: You could roam further north up the coast if you want real oceanfront and less expensive lodging - b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a older hotel and you will realize this one or the other way. The Hotel is close to Highway 1 but as long as you have a room with "garden view" you will forget about the traffic noise very quickly. It's silent really silent outside. Breakfest, the pool area and the service are on the pro side for this hotel on the "con" I put the room service in our case we had the leftovers of the previous guest still in the refrigerator... One word of advice it's a old hotel so walls are very thin so if you can, get a room on the first floor ...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Sayed here for last part of our lovely hol to Califiona this was supposed tp be our be our last hotel before heading home .
What a shambles from start to finish only lasted 1 nigjht was booked in for 5 but one was enough ! After reading the reviews on this hotel we thought it sounded perfect On arrival greeted by an old man who was very helpful but not much else. My husband had mentioned it was a speaial birthday when booking this but no awknowlegement was made at all rooms were very untidy and foisty smell. breakfast next morning no tables to sit on old lady serving breakfast looked very untidy and scruffy put us off breakfast ¡ husband got no sleep night before due to some people arriving very late in the night early mornnig think that was the last straw for us needs updating fast !!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit. We guarantee your full satisfaction. I would appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience so that we can create a more enjoyable experience for you and all of our guests.

Please call me at your convenience, at 650-726-9000.


Thank you,
Keith Wesselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stopped here for one night after visiting Napa on the way down the coast. We stayed here a couple of years ago and had an excellent experience so decided to stay again. We were not disappointed, the customer service was excellent, the room was lovely, the hot tub and pool not crowded and beautifully clean. The breakfast the following morning was in a lovely room and continually supplied with fresh items. I would highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Address: 2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.