We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating fast !! Dirty ! ! Foisty smelly !!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Bay Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Half Moon Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Half Moon Bay Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Half Moon Bay
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Needs updating fast !! Dirty ! ! Foisty smelly !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Sayed here for last part of our lovely hol to Califiona this was supposed tp be our be our last hotel before heading home .
What a shambles from start to finish only lasted 1 nigjht was booked in for 5 but one was enough ! After reading the reviews on this hotel we thought it sounded perfect On arrival greeted by an old man who was very helpful but not much else. My husband had mentioned it was a speaial birthday when booking this but no awknowlegement was made at all rooms were very untidy and foisty smell. breakfast next morning no tables to sit on old lady serving breakfast looked very untidy and scruffy put us off breakfast ¡ husband got no sleep night before due to some people arriving very late in the night early mornnig think that was the last straw for us needs updating fast !!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit. We guarantee your full satisfaction. I would appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience so that we can create a more enjoyable experience for you and all of our guests.

Please call me at your convenience, at 650-726-9000.


Thank you,
Keith Wesselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    134
    36
    9
    9
See reviews for
114
131
12
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stopped here for one night after visiting Napa on the way down the coast. We stayed here a couple of years ago and had an excellent experience so decided to stay again. We were not disappointed, the customer service was excellent, the room was lovely, the hot tub and pool not crowded and beautifully clean. The breakfast the following morning was in a lovely room and continually supplied with fresh items. I would highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights on the way fron SF to LA. First night was good in a King Garden view room. Second night was poor as we had to change rooms. We were right next to the reception area and it was very noisy. Then at 5am the guest above our room got up and started walking around, the noise came straight through the ceiling.
Also the young girl on reception at night should focus more on customer service than texting on her phone :(
Some milk in the fridge would be appreciated.
Has potential to be very good with a few changes and some good old fashioned service.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith W, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We want all of our guests to have an extraordinary service experience with every visit. I am sorry to learn we fell short of that mark during your recent stay, and your feedback is helpful in moving us toward our goal.

Warm Regards,
Keith Wesselmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We chose this hotel partly because of positive reviews here on Trip Advisor. You win some, you lose some...our experience was not as good as that of other reviewers.

First impressions were good with friendly and helpful check-in. As others have noted, the hotel is set back from the highway and has nicely landscaped grounds. The room itself was spacious and the beds were comfortable. There was a balcony with two chairs and a small table, overlooking gardens and a golf course.

This is an older hotel, which seems to be in the gradual process of being updated. The walls in the room were very thin. We could hear people talking in the room next door and the door from the corridor outside didn’t keep much noise out. There was a ceiling fan and a sliding door onto the balcony for air, there was no air conditioning. The bathroom had an opening window which helped the airflow a little.

There was a very small wet bar area, with no way of heating up food. The bathroom was OK but had very limited counter space for toiletries etc. A shelf or two would make all the difference. The shower worked fine. Housekeeping was a little inconsistent, one of the robes disappeared one day and wasn’t replaced. The towels were not always very clean, one had black stains which may have been mascara or even shoe polish...

The wifi didn’t really work properly, we had to keep logging back in continually. This didn’t happen anywhere else on our trip.

The staff were friendly enough when we arrived, but we had a problem with billing part-way through our stay and we did not feel that the staff handled the situation very well. We had to chase them a couple of times to get any resolution to the problem. It seemed that they just weren’t prepared to make much effort and it was finally resolved in a grudging manner. That kind of thing is a deal breaker for us.

The town itself has all the amenities you’d need and is about a 5 minute drive away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Located off Hwy 1 at the south end of Half Moon Bay. We were greeted by frienldy staff and the room and bathroom were spacious and clean. Balcony overlooked the golf course and it was very quiet and peaceful. Outside appearance of the lodge also very nice. Complimentary full breakfast was very good and. Nice breakfast room adjacent to the pool area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel gave my family and I a wonderful, quiet night and a fine breakfast the next morning. The hot tub and heated pool were appreciated on a chilly, foggy August day. The views from our balcony rooms were lovely. I personally had the best night's sleep in a long time in a comfortable bed in a very quiet hotel. I liven within driving distance and plan to return for another weekend getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have stayed at the lovely lodge before and enjoyed the second floor rooms with private balcony overlooking part of the adjacent golf course. Savored the extensive complimentary breakfast with self-prepared waffles (pumpkin mix during pumpkin time!!!). So it was only fitting to celebrate an important birthday there, with daughters and grandkids in three rooms. We all had a marvelous time toasting grandma at the outdoor fireplace and pool. Gunter Konold

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Half Moon Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Lodge

Address: 2400 South Cabrillo Highway, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Half Moon Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Half Moon Bay, where you can brave the waves of Mavericks, explore our community of arts filled with jazz clubs and galleries, and indulge in sustainable cuisine at premier local eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Half Moon Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Half Moon Bay Hotel Half Moon Bay
Best Western Half Moon Bay
Half Moon Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.