We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B near SF” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zaballa House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Zaballa House to your Saves list
Zaballa House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   324 Main St., Half Moon Bay, CA 94019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Charming B&B near SF”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

A lovely stop a few miles from SF, perfect on your way back to the airport.
Old original 19th century house, rooms decorated with original antiques, quite comfortable and with private bathroom.
Yummy healthy home made breakfast, very warm welcoming from the front desk.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    17
    17
    16
    15
See reviews for
12
52
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Was denied a room I made reservations for after I drove there in 3 hour traffic from Stockton. The desk offered no explanation other than it was my fault and no help to find another hotel. Bad bad business practises IMHO.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Made reservation on Zaballa website and received confirmation email. Arrived about 2:30 pm and was rudely told we could not check in until 3 pm. Returned a bit after 3 and was told they did not have our reservation. I did have the confirmation and total amount so since they did have a vacancy, we got a room. We were told that breakfast starts at 6:30 am. When we went for breakfast at 7:45 am there was no one anywhere. The table was set but no one was preparing any coffee or food. We proceeded to load our belongings in the car (took two trips up and down the stairs) going in and out the front door and still no one emerged to see what was going on. Since we had an appointment, we had to leave and go buy breakfast somewhere else. I left a note and wrote to Zaballa on their email and have not heard from them. Our room was pleasant, had a fireplace and big 4 poster bed which squeaked so bad it woke us up every time one of us moved. There are no TV's, ceiling fans or showers- just tubs. If you need to cool off you have to open a window. Also, the bedside lamps in our Room 6, were tiny and not good if you want to read in bed. The WiFi signal in our room was too weak to use.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

30 miles far from San Francisco, peaceful and cute little village with a couple of good restaurants, beach is nice, the bed&breakfast is in the oldest house in Hald Moon Bay (they say).
Clean, peaceful, comfortable, breakfast at one large table, with other guests.
Nice experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

This place is awesome! Everything about it was good. Nothing negative. Really. Clean, spacious room. Large bathroom. No noise. Very comfortable bed. Breakfast was wonderful. Fresh fruits, delicious homemade breads, quiches, waffles, homemade granola! And Sheila, the owner, and her family were delightful hostess/staff. If we were ever back this way again, we would stay only at Zaballa House.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I've stayed at Zaballa house on and off, for many years, from the time when it was still surrounded by a garden. Not very much changed inside since then.

The original house has smaller "cozier" rooms. Each one is different and most of them (possibly all) seem to have a gas fireplace which can be used to warm the room. Most bathrooms seem to be original to the house, the bathtubs are free standing and some have jets. The free-standing tubs do not have shower curtains.

The newer rooms are on the second floor of an adjacent bulding, which was built over what used to be the garden. These rooms are much larger, more modern and a little more impersonal than the rooms in the old house. Most of these also seem to have fireplaces.

Zaballa house is on the Main Street in Half Moon Bay and occasionally (surprisingly rarely, actually) noise can be an issue.

The price includes a warm breakfast. Depending on the time of the year and the day of the week, the price can be a good value. Midweek, during the off season, you can usually find a room without a reservation for $99, as of now. Other times, the value is not so great. I would compare the prices here with the prices at Half Moon Bay Inn (see my other review).

Room Tip: If you can go for the rooms that do not face Main St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The price was good for the area. The room was large with a gas fire place. The bathroom was large with a big walk in shower. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. Breakfast the next morning was included and was very good. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Half Moon Bay hotels
2.2 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
4.0 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#8 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
4.0 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
0.1 mi away
Mill Rose Inn
Mill Rose Inn
#4 of 11 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zaballa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaballa House

Address: 324 Main St., Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Zaballa House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your Zaballa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaballa House Hotel Half Moon Bay
Zaballa Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaballa House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.