We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bay Area Coastal Visit - The Pittman's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   779 Main Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% OFF 2nd weekday night
Ranked #2 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Bay Area Coastal Visit - The Pittman's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

What an absolutely wonderful place to stay, relax and and enjoy the majestic pacific coastline. Rick and Kathy were terrific hosts and provided invaluable tips of historic places and restaurants to visit. If you're ever in the mood for a getaway back in time when life was simple, please consider Old Thyme Inn. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try out the "Mint" room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    37
    10
    9
    4
See reviews for
14
151
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

What a cozy place.
In 8 weeks of travel it was the best claw bathtub setting ever!
The chamomile room warm yellow walls, a butterfly window and a sky light over the tub created a place of peace all the way to the shell that scoops the bath salts.
The grapefruit at breakfast baked 2 perfection simply divine.
Only thing to be aware of is when it rains the ants make their way into the room.
Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abilene
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I called from the airport for a reservation and Kathy was vary helpful and accomodating. When I arrived she showed me around like she was showing a house guest her home. She helped me with my heavy luggage up the stairs. The room was so sweet and comfortable and the breakfast was divine. I will come back again.

Room Tip: For a single person or young couple on a budget the Chamomile room is great. Claw foot tub can be v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Five family members gathered for my son's wedding in Half Moon Bay. We opted for this B & B because of the inviting website, homey decor. We were MORE than happy with our choice. Rick is an excellent host, Kathy's paintings added to the warmth of the home. Food is delicious and plentiful. Staff kept everything going. Rick provides many suggestions and has a command of local information. For our extended family, this is a relaxing and intimate time together to celebrate a super couple's marriage.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Garden Room for an overnight and were charmed! The room was cozy and comfortable - the Grand Marnier french toast breakfast delivered to our room was fabulous and the bed was wonderfully comfy with very nice linens. It was a delightful stay and we will be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We ended up at the Old Thyme Inn after being unable to find any lodging in San Francisco, and we are so glad!! The Inn couldn't be more charming and the innkeepers, Rich and Kathy were wonderful. We stayed in the Rosemary Room, which was small but so comfortable and lovely. The bathroom had a two person jacuzzi tub, although only a hand held shower, so that took some skill to not spray everything in the bathroom! They had wine out each evening and helped us with dinner reservations at Pasta Moon, which was fabulous. The breakfast was out of this world and kept us fed and happy well into the day. When we come back to the area, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We loved every minute of our stay at the Old Thyme. Our room with a separate but private bath was cozy, beautiful, with a wonderful comforter on the bed, and a little cheaper than the other rooms with a bath. Helpful hosts, and the breakfasts couldn't have been better. It would be our top pick if returning to Half Moon Bay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 779 Main Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a romantic and peaceful getaway at our bed and breakfast in Half Moon Bay. Our Half Moon Bay, CA inn is elegant yet comfortable, accented by the owner’s original artwork. Enjoy a wondrous gourmet breakfast prepared every morning with fresh local ingredients and a complimentary wine and cheese reception every evening. Our inn is tucked away, only a short walk to shopping, galleries, and dining in downtown Half Moon Bay. Relax in a luxurious suite or our lovely gardens, and escape everyday life at the most romantic B&B in Half Moon Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thyme Hotel Half Moon Bay
Old Thyme Inn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.