We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and inviting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   779 Main Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% OFF 2nd weekday night
Ranked #2 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
abilene
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Warm and inviting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I called from the airport for a reservation and Kathy was vary helpful and accomodating. When I arrived she showed me around like she was showing a house guest her home. She helped me with my heavy luggage up the stairs. The room was so sweet and comfortable and the breakfast was divine. I will come back again.

Room Tip: For a single person or young couple on a budget the Chamomile room is great. Claw foot tub can be v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    37
    10
    9
    4
See reviews for
14
152
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Five family members gathered for my son's wedding in Half Moon Bay. We opted for this B & B because of the inviting website, homey decor. We were MORE than happy with our choice. Rick is an excellent host, Kathy's paintings added to the warmth of the home. Food is delicious and plentiful. Staff kept everything going. Rick provides many suggestions and has a command of local information. For our extended family, this is a relaxing and intimate time together to celebrate a super couple's marriage.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Garden Room for an overnight and were charmed! The room was cozy and comfortable - the Grand Marnier french toast breakfast delivered to our room was fabulous and the bed was wonderfully comfy with very nice linens. It was a delightful stay and we will be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We ended up at the Old Thyme Inn after being unable to find any lodging in San Francisco, and we are so glad!! The Inn couldn't be more charming and the innkeepers, Rich and Kathy were wonderful. We stayed in the Rosemary Room, which was small but so comfortable and lovely. The bathroom had a two person jacuzzi tub, although only a hand held shower, so that took some skill to not spray everything in the bathroom! They had wine out each evening and helped us with dinner reservations at Pasta Moon, which was fabulous. The breakfast was out of this world and kept us fed and happy well into the day. When we come back to the area, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We loved every minute of our stay at the Old Thyme. Our room with a separate but private bath was cozy, beautiful, with a wonderful comforter on the bed, and a little cheaper than the other rooms with a bath. Helpful hosts, and the breakfasts couldn't have been better. It would be our top pick if returning to Half Moon Bay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We wanted to spend a bit of time in the Half Moon Bay area and after rustic lodges on Big Sur, a couple nights in a B & B sounded nice. We loved this Inn. Rich and Kathy are perfect hosts. We chose one of the less expensive rooms, trying to save a few. The Camomile Room. We loved our room but it was a bit small. I would suggest spending the extra and getting one of the larger rooms. We were tripping over our things. The claw foot tub was so relaxing after several days spent driving. Just a hand shower and no curtain, so not great for bathing. More for relaxing. The amenities were so nice. EO Products. Bath salts that were the best ever. Shampoo and Conditioner, Soap, Lotion...big bottles though...none to take home unless you wanted to buy them. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud and the linens were amazing. I want them for my bed at home. They are Pine Cone Hill per their label and expensive per the website. But, oh my are they heavenly. Other than the small size, the only thing negative to say was that the carpet was VERY dirty and stained. I made sure I put my slippers on. It really needs to be cleaned. Nice wine and cheese reception around 5 pm. Rich put it out on the buffet in the drawing room for you to take as you please. Breakfast is divine. One morning fresh fruit, juice and coffee, followed by an omelet with apple sausage. The next morning, the main course was a Dutch Baby pancake with apples. Each morning, there was also a bread in a basket. One morning it was a delightful rosemary and cornmeal cake. What I enjoyed most were the portions. Some B & B's think they have to load you up and you leave the table with no energy for the day. Rich and Kathy give you adequate portions, but not too much. Thank You! They were very helpful with brochures of the area for attractions and restaurants. One last thing to mention is the delightful garden. You might find Kathy out there with her easel painting. It is a quiet space to relax, unwind, journel, reflect about your day, your trip, your life.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lathrop, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

If this is your 1st B&B, then this is a very nice place to start. The home is quaint and the location for shopping is good. Having been to many B&B's and Inn's, possibly we've become spoiled by the more upscale details we’re accustomed to. Spartan candy and nut dishes that were specifically pointed out seemed too minor to make such mention of. Nice thought nonetheless.

The Mint room was friendly and comfortable. Noticeable were the lack of modern amenities like an iPod dock and reliable internet access. The old TV with built-in VCR was cute in a time-warp way as was the downstairs dial phone for guests.

Breakfast was yogurt (mine was too warm to enjoy-but that’s just me) a link of sausage and a French toast shell (cradle?) with apples and cinnamon inside. Coffee and spice cake were also set out. The handmade drink mugs are a very nice touch. I would have bought one if they had been available for sale.

Along with the other couple we sat with at breakfast, we felt slightly admonished as we were apologized to for ‘someone’ having turned off lights the previous evening. The apology felt more accusatory. I’m sure that’s not the case but just the delivery.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 779 Main Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a romantic and peaceful getaway at our bed and breakfast in Half Moon Bay. Our Half Moon Bay, CA inn is elegant yet comfortable, accented by the owner’s original artwork. Enjoy a wondrous gourmet breakfast prepared every morning with fresh local ingredients and a complimentary wine and cheese reception every evening. Our inn is tucked away, only a short walk to shopping, galleries, and dining in downtown Half Moon Bay. Relax in a luxurious suite or our lovely gardens, and escape everyday life at the most romantic B&B in Half Moon Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thyme Hotel Half Moon Bay
Old Thyme Inn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.