We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Comfortable, Cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   779 Main Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% OFF 2nd weekday night
Ranked #3 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Tucson AZ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Charming, Comfortable, Cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We wanted to spend a bit of time in the Half Moon Bay area and after rustic lodges on Big Sur, a couple nights in a B & B sounded nice. We loved this Inn. Rich and Kathy are perfect hosts. We chose one of the less expensive rooms, trying to save a few. The Camomile Room. We loved our room but it was a bit small. I would suggest spending the extra and getting one of the larger rooms. We were tripping over our things. The claw foot tub was so relaxing after several days spent driving. Just a hand shower and no curtain, so not great for bathing. More for relaxing. The amenities were so nice. EO Products. Bath salts that were the best ever. Shampoo and Conditioner, Soap, Lotion...big bottles though...none to take home unless you wanted to buy them. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud and the linens were amazing. I want them for my bed at home. They are Pine Cone Hill per their label and expensive per the website. But, oh my are they heavenly. Other than the small size, the only thing negative to say was that the carpet was VERY dirty and stained. I made sure I put my slippers on. It really needs to be cleaned. Nice wine and cheese reception around 5 pm. Rich put it out on the buffet in the drawing room for you to take as you please. Breakfast is divine. One morning fresh fruit, juice and coffee, followed by an omelet with apple sausage. The next morning, the main course was a Dutch Baby pancake with apples. Each morning, there was also a bread in a basket. One morning it was a delightful rosemary and cornmeal cake. What I enjoyed most were the portions. Some B & B's think they have to load you up and you leave the table with no energy for the day. Rich and Kathy give you adequate portions, but not too much. Thank You! They were very helpful with brochures of the area for attractions and restaurants. One last thing to mention is the delightful garden. You might find Kathy out there with her easel painting. It is a quiet space to relax, unwind, journel, reflect about your day, your trip, your life.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    36
    10
    9
    4
See reviews for
14
149
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lathrop, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

If this is your 1st B&B, then this is a very nice place to start. The home is quaint and the location for shopping is good. Having been to many B&B's and Inn's, possibly we've become spoiled by the more upscale details we’re accustomed to. Spartan candy and nut dishes that were specifically pointed out seemed too minor to make such mention of. Nice thought nonetheless.

The Mint room was friendly and comfortable. Noticeable were the lack of modern amenities like an iPod dock and reliable internet access. The old TV with built-in VCR was cute in a time-warp way as was the downstairs dial phone for guests.

Breakfast was yogurt (mine was too warm to enjoy-but that’s just me) a link of sausage and a French toast shell (cradle?) with apples and cinnamon inside. Coffee and spice cake were also set out. The handmade drink mugs are a very nice touch. I would have bought one if they had been available for sale.

Along with the other couple we sat with at breakfast, we felt slightly admonished as we were apologized to for ‘someone’ having turned off lights the previous evening. The apology felt more accusatory. I’m sure that’s not the case but just the delivery.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Together with my boyfriend, I have spent 3 nights at the inn. The place was very quite and the room was very cozy. We have enjoyed the bath salt that was in our room very much.
The Inn is close to many attractions in the area. Breakfast was also very good.
We very much liked the time spent at the Inn.

Room Tip: Chamomile room was very cozy and we liked it. It is a bit small - not enough closed space for our st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

This was a last minute trip and the inn had last minute deals. We had to switch rooms which was fine with us and they move all your bags for you so you can be out and enjoy the day. That was nice and couldn't complain since this was last minute reservation. Both rooms were comfortable: bed felt like home, loved the claw tub shower (thyme rm had tub only w/ shower head fyi), tv was small (its a bnb-either get outside or plan to do something else, like read for a change). Only gripe was too much trinkets so lots of dust; literally allergic to dust so was a bit worried.

The location is at end of Main St. So it was quiet except mornings due to passing delivery trucks; both rooms faced street.

Walking to the restaurants and shops were 5 minutes away.
Beaches 5-10 minutes away.

The gourmet breakfast was different everyday and delicious. Prior to arrival they'll ask if you're allergic or don't eat so include what you don't like (or it will be a waste of food for them). The dining is at one big, round table so plan to be a little social. Note that they schedule you for a specific time-we came down a little early just for coffee and it was like we threw the owner off schedule (can't we get some coffee while we wait?!?), but the coffee was divine!

The owners are very knowledgable of the area, so go explore!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a trip to San Francisco that began with a night at the Old Thyme Inn. We wanted somewhere close to the airport where we could relax after a long flight from the east coast. It was a beautiful half hour drive down the coast from SFO and Rick greeted us warmly when we arrived late (about 7:30 pm) because our flight was delayed. He gave us great advice on restaurants within walking distance and we had a GREAT dinner at "It's Italia" about 7 minutes away on foot. The downtown area of Half Moon Bay is charming and certainly safe late at night. We ate breakfast late an checked out the lovely garden at the Inn in the morning before breakfast. Because we ate late, we had a private breakfast in the dining room. Breakfast was good: fresh fruit followed by blueberry pancakes with apple-chicken(?) sausage. The coffee was great. After we finished, Rick sat down and gave us some good advice about what to see in Monterey. Rick has a great voice, I could have listened to him talk for hours. We never met Kathy, but saw some of her artwork at the Inn. We left shortly after breakfast to head south to Monterey. Overall, it was a great stay that was too short. I wish we had planned two nights there to start our trip to the Cali Coast. We would definitely recommend it and would definitely stay there again. Next time, it will be two nights.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Oregano Room." It's in the back of the house on the second floor ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Rick and Kathy of the Old Thyme Inn are wonderful and have thought of everything to make your stay unforgettable. OTI is a cute little place to slip away from the hustle of the city. The rooms are quiet, clean, comfortable and darling and the property is well kept and relaxing. I loved the wine and cheese hour upon our arrival and the breakfast was to die for! We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms with the jacuzzi tub and fireplace . . . it's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

It was a quick trip to Half Moon Bay but one night said it all. We had wine & cheese at the inn, then a great local dinner and afterwards dropped into a VERY comfortable feather bed with the best linens ever! My girlfriend had a room to herself as did I and we loved every minute of it. Mine had a fireplace and whirlpool tub which were both a treat (especially with the Lavender Bath Salts!) Our breakfast was a yummy french toast which was served with fresh fruit, and chicken sausage along with a great breakfast cake. The fresh-ground coffee was the best I've ever had. Thanks for a much-needed retreat. PC from Sonoma

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 779 Main Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a romantic and peaceful getaway at our bed and breakfast in Half Moon Bay. Our Half Moon Bay, CA inn is elegant yet comfortable, accented by the owner’s original artwork. Enjoy a wondrous gourmet breakfast prepared every morning with fresh local ingredients and a complimentary wine and cheese reception every evening. Our inn is tucked away, only a short walk to shopping, galleries, and dining in downtown Half Moon Bay. Relax in a luxurious suite or our lovely gardens, and escape everyday life at the most romantic B&B in Half Moon Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thyme Hotel Half Moon Bay
Old Thyme Inn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.