We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls' R&R. A great retreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast
779 Main Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1924   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Half Moon Bay B&B and Inns
Bay Area
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Girls' R&R. A great retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

It was a quick trip to Half Moon Bay but one night said it all. We had wine & cheese at the inn, then a great local dinner and afterwards dropped into a VERY comfortable feather bed with the best linens ever! My girlfriend had a room to herself as did I and we loved every minute of it. Mine had a fireplace and whirlpool tub which were both a treat (especially with the Lavender Bath Salts!) Our breakfast was a yummy french toast which was served with fresh fruit, and chicken sausage along with a great breakfast cake. The fresh-ground coffee was the best I've ever had. Thanks for a much-needed retreat. PC from Sonoma

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    37
    10
    10
    4
See reviews for
14
153
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our third wedding anniversary at the Old Thyme Inn, and we had such a wonderful time. Rick and Kathy were great hosts. The breakfasts each morning were incredible - not only were they delicious, they were beautifully presented as well. There are so many nearby beaches to explore, it's in a quaint downtown, and San Francisco is just a short drive away if you want to explore the city as well. If you are looking to stay in the area I would highly recommend the Old Thyme Inn!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden room, which had it's own entrance and was larger, I believe, than the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

What a wonderful, relaxing getaway! A cloud of a bed with luxurious sheets, claw foot tub and fireplace. Old Thyme Inn was quiet, clean and private. Innkeepers Kathy and Rick are friendly, make a great breakfast, and can steer you to restaurants or day trips. Excellent location in downtown Half Moon Bay.

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms with the fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed two nights at this charming B&B right on main street but on far end of town. Rick was pleasant and gave wonderful suggestions at things to do, places to visit and great recommendations for dining out. Breakfast was great starting with fresh fruit with a bit of mint from his garden and muffins, then one day we had a mushroom,spinach, feta cheese omelet and next morning homemake blueberry pancakes. The garden area was quite relaxing. They also provide wine and cheese at 5 pm daily. We highly recommend it for a nice get away from the ever hectic pace of urban life.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at a B&B so we knew what to expect. Our Innkeepers, Rick & Kathy were excepttional at making us feel welcome and comfortable. From the moment we walked in the door; we were givien a house tour of the beautiful themed rooms, parlor, relaxing garden and lots of information on what to do in our spare time for fun and where to go for some real good food. We shopped in all the local, Main Street stores and had a massage right next door from the Inn. We weren't coming from far, just over the bridge...I needed a mini vacation as I've been sick and haven't been able to leave the house for a long time...and this was perfect for us. We were able to enjoy wine, cheese and olvies in the parlor, mingle with other guests, walk out and enjoy our wine in the garden and soak in the sun going down in the evening while we decided where we were going to have dinner. I loved listening to the birds bathe in the fountains in the garden as we had the room right off the garden walkway and were able to smell all the flowers and fresh herbs growing through the windows. In the evening, we soaked in the whirlpool tub for two in our Rosemary Room with Lavendar bath salts before going off to the beach which was less than a 1/2 a block away to watch the Super Moon on the weekiend of my birthday and 5/5. We had the most restful and refreshing night sleep in the feather bed and took advantage of the whirlpool bath once again (because we could) before going out to the parlor to have a great breakfast with the other guests. The coffee was yummy. I really didn't want to leave, one day is not long enough to enjoy all that The Old Thyme Inn has to offer, we weill definately be back and next time for a longer stay. James & Felicia Gonzales, Hayward, CA

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Old Thyme Inn for 1 night last June 2011 on the scenic route to Las Vegas.

From the outside it looks like a little house... And on the inside that’s exactly what it is. Although more extended obviously. Kathy and Rick (I think that is their names... its been a year so I apologise if I have it wrong!) are the most welcoming couple.

We arrived late afternoon to be greeted by wine and cheese which we had in their well-presented garden as it was a sunny, warm day.

We stayed in a double room on the ground floor. The rooms were very pleasant and included most amenities. The only drawback is that as it is a house, you can hear people's footsteps from the rooms above. But when we stayed, the guests above us were considerate of this.

The bathroom was a pleasant size with a bath and shower unit. Although wasn’t very modern. However, due to the nature of the place, a modern bathroom would have looked odd in my opinion.

There aren’t many restaurants around the vicinity so we ordered a taxi to take us to a fish restaurant further up the coast. It was only a 10 minute taxi ride away.

In the morning Kathy and Rick served us a lovely 3 course breakfast in the communal dining area round 1 table. This might not be to everyone's taste but it does give you an opportunity to meet people and hear their stories. Coming from London, England, most of the guests were American/Canadian on mini breaks.

If you're looking for a pit stop on route to another state or just want to visit a quiet part of California then certainly consider the "Old Thyme Inn"!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Garden room at the OTI because I wanted to celebrate my boyfriends birthday. We made reservations at Cetrella and they are right down the block so it was wonderful to come back after having such a decadant meal.

We saw both Kathy and Rick and they were pleasant and helpful. Let us know about a new restaurant that had just opened up. The Garden room has a jacuzzi tub in the room and for us, it was super romantic and lots of fun. The TV was a nice touch and they now have a DVD player so if you bring your own DVDs - you can have a fun movie night. Otherwise they have lots of VHS tapes you can borrow. We brought our own board games and basically stayed in and just chilled.

Breakfast was incredible. Whoever said the food was not enough -- I don't know how much they need to eat, but we were full enough to skip lunch. One meal was 3 slightly large dollar sized pancakes, sausage, orange juice, tea/hot chocolate, rosemary muffin (dusted with cinnamon and sugar...soooo good) and a small bowl of fruit. The other meal was a good size veggie quiche type dish with a side of bacon and homemade fruit yogurt and pumpkin bread.

Walking distance from the downtown area, we visited a bookstore and found some fun, super cheap reading materials! Browsed some shops and snacked on some saltwater taffy. We never had any issue with the internet connection either.

They even had a wine and cheese happy hour (that we never made it too, but thats because we were having so much fun doing stuff) that was just a nice touch. I loved the older, antique looking furniture and I loved that it felt like I was staying with my Aunt and Uncle. Highly recommend OTI!

Room Tip: Garden room is perfect for couples, but not right for families as the tub is inside the room and doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 779 Main Street, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019-1924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Half Moon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Half Moon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a romantic and peaceful getaway at our bed and breakfast in Half Moon Bay. Our Half Moon Bay, CA inn is elegant yet comfortable, accented by the owner’s original artwork. Enjoy a wondrous gourmet breakfast prepared every morning with fresh local ingredients and a complimentary wine and cheese reception every evening. Our inn is tucked away, only a short walk to shopping, galleries, and dining in downtown Half Moon Bay. Relax in a luxurious suite or our lovely gardens, and escape everyday life at the most romantic B&B in Half Moon Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thyme Inn b&b
Old Thyme Hotel Half Moon Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Thyme Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.